We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best holiday we have had”
Review of Island Hotel Istra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Island Hotel Istra
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Rovinj
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The best holiday we have had”
Reviewed 3 October 2009

I'll keep it simple: Excellent hotel, rooms perfectly adequate and clean, if a little on the small side, good facilities, unique location, good food from the buffet considering the large number of guests. Rovinj is small wonder, beautiful clean winding streets to just amble away the hours in, friendly people, gorgeous sunsets, ample shops and numerous places to eat & drink. There is an excellent wine bar called Piazza Grande in the middle of old town, with a good restaurant directly opposite.
September is ideal if you don't want to fight the crowds, the weather was fantastic and the sea still warm and crystal clear.
We did several trips, all were good, Rijeka and Opatija are worth checking out if you want a bit more hussle & bussle.
Istria really has everything you could ever want for a memorable holiday- you will not be dissapointed with Croatia.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Itaintalfhotmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

895 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    472
    299
    86
    19
    19
See reviews for
266
467
15
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2009

Although the hotel from the exterior may not be the most welcoming, the rest makes up for it. From landing until in our rooms it was 90 mins. The view when wating for the boat to take us to Hotel Istria was breath-taking. The boat is fairly large and comfortable, it also runs a very good service to and from the mainland. First impression of the hotel 'it is not the best looking', but it is nice and clean.
The rooms are adequate and quiet, and regularly cleaned. The hotel staff were very friendly especially the restaurant manager who could not do enough for us.
The pools were very clean (indoor and out). The views from the rooms were breath taking, we faced the pool area and you could never get tired of looking out from the balcony. The only problem we found, was the food at lunch time was quite limited, mostly on offer was the same sandwiches in 4 locations. The pizza restaurant however, was very nice.
I would recommend this to anyone as it is very special, just listing to the waves and being surronded by sea views at all angles.
Rovinj is just the nicest place ever.
We will be going back to celebrate our 10th Anniversary.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jackibillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2009

I am not sure how they justify the price and the star rating. The hotel is ugly, the rooms are very basic, the reception staff are rude and the food is average. That said the islands is very pretty but I can't give the hotel staff credit for that. It is in desperate need of a full makeover!

Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank mikeyp06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frozen North
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2009

The Istra Hotel and the resort of Rovinj made for an excellent September holiday for me and my husband. We arrived on a beautiful day and enjoyed the novelty of getting to the hotel by ferry. On first sight the hotel itself didn't look anything special but we soon realised that it is in fact a fantastic place to have a relaxing holiday, beautiful by day and by night. The booking-in process was very quick but we were disappointed when we realised that the 'sea view' was only accessible if we stood up and peered over an extended roof. However, as soon as we asked for a change of room the reception staff immediately obliged and we got a beautiful view over the pools and the other small island. Similarly, a problem with the air conditioning was fixed as soon as we asked. There were always plenty of sunbeds available and the poolside staff were happy to help us with the sunshades etc. There did seem to be a bit of a problem with wasps around the pool bars etc (apparently they're only there end of August into September) but they weren't aggressive just annoying.
There was an excellent choice of food , both for breakfast and dinner, and the 'free' wine, beer and soft drinks were a fantastic extra!!!
Drinks, particularly bottled water, and food at the hotel were quite expensive but the 'Konzum' supermarkets in Rovinj were easy to find and much cheaper, and there's an incredible choice of restaurants for lunches etc.
Rovinj itself is a beautiful, quaint, cobbled town. Lots of tourist shops, plenty of history and art, a gorgeous harbour, and a beautiful wooded headland which is ideal for walking. We got local buses to Pula and Porec, both beautiful resorts, but we were more than happy with Rovinj. One word of warning! - Our rep suggested that 'Bale' was a nice place to visit???. Although its got a nice church (10 kuna to get in!) its basically a one horse town and, because we went on a Saturday when buses are infrequent to say the least, we were stuck there for two hours with almost no-one being able to understand when we asked where, how, and when we could get the next bus out. Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our first visit to Croatia and would definitely visit the 'Istra' again,

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mamar82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2009

Just returned from a weeks stay.Booked via Thomson Holidays .Flight very quick 1 hr 50mins-Pula Airport fine small and easy to pass through bagge etc.Transfer from airport took 40mins then straight on ferry boat to Private Island.Very impressed with quickness of transfer.
Ferry boat is brilliant..what a start to the holiday.10 mins ride to island taking in the views of the main land.The first views impression of Rovinj are stunning..crystal clear sea and beautiful venetian style buildings with loads of fishing boats bobbing in the harbour.

Arrived and checked in once again quick to hotel.Very modern clean rooms.All seem to have sea view.Hairdryer was a bit naff so take your own if you need to blow dry your hair quick .
Hotel itself very modern and clean.Lots of different bars.Best bar is Captains Club which is at the front of the hotel.Make sure you sit at one of the tables in the rocks just before the sun sets, absolute fantastic sunsets from this point.
Nice Pizza restaurant within hotel grounds -cheap little place for lunch pizzas are big so one between two works and they are about £5.00 each so cheap lunch.

The beer prices are not too bad at the hotel if you go for the local brew.I found this to be very good and at only £2.50 a litre a lot cheaper then a pint a lager at pubs/hotels in the UK .

You do actually get free local red /white wine and beer with dinner .This is at the buffet restaurant and all are on tap where you help yourself.The food variety in the buffet restaurant was great always three choices of fresh fish and three of meat dishes.Very impressed with fish selection.
Breakfast good- bacon eggs sausages cereals hot criossants fresh bread rolls continental cheeses and hams-varied selection.

Plenty of places to sit and sunbathe on little stoney beaches and by the three pools.Sea is great for snorkaling.

Rovinj itself great for exploring the little cobbled streets.Pleanty of decent cafes and bars here.A coffee works out to be just under £1.00.Ice creams are yummy and loads of different flavours about 80p a scoop.
Nice little cafe is Zanzibar right near to where the ferry drops you off near to the Adriatic Hotel.Very comfortable seats and great views of harbour.

First time to Croatia and have fallen in love with its beauty.So unspoilt and just heavenly!!!

Will go back to hotel again..top class

Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank AJCluedo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
79 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2009

Very convenient hotel for families with young kids. There is a children's club which is run by lovely fun-loving girls. Rooms are very clean and many are interconnecting. Beaches are lovely. Breakfast is buffet-style and can get busy although we were there in a peak time. Dinner is buffet again so we opted out and our children had dinner. Again can get quite informal and busy but food was good. There are regular boats taking guests to Rovinj which is gorgeous. All in all a perfect hotel for families but I would stay elsewhere if I was travelling alone with husband.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadia2671
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2009

Good flight with Thomsons and very smooth transfer to Rovinj. Absolutely stunning town as first viewed when we waited for the ferry to take us to the island. Check in very good and the rooms spacious. We had 2 rooms connected by internal door so the children had their own bathroom. The views from the room were lovely, overlooking the small island across the causeway and the pools. Overnight was extremely peaceful-no noisy late night revellers at this hotel, together with well behaved children. It is this kind of thing that puts this hotel into a much higher catergory. Breakfast was plentiful-loads of choice to suit all and never overly crowded. Dinner was also varied with free soft drinks, wine and beer to help yourself to. The hotel is very modern with every facility you could wish for,should you want to use. We took 2 trips during our stay, one to Slovenia (lake bled),and one to Venice. Both places are stunning although we caught Venice in a heatwave (37 degrees). Be prepared for long days though. Easy trip into Rovinj via the hourly ferry- the town is lovely both day and night, with a huge choice of places to eat and drink. A walk through the old town up to the church will reward you with lovely views. Dont forget your camera. Back to the Istra, the downside is the towels at dawn brigade which you feel obliged to join, to be in with any chance at all of a bed by the pool, even though the pool was never crowded--except on one occasion when it appeared to be overrun by day trippers arriving on tour boats. Perhaps the owners should put a stop to this. Also lunchtime snacks are not very varied and are very expensive compared to prices in Rovinj,as are drinks. This is plainly due to the "captive market". The main pool is in need of a revamp as tiles are coming away under water and the side drainage grids keep breaking . All in all though the hotel, facilities, location and attention to detail is brilliant. This was our first visit to a half board hotel and I think our friends could not have picked better.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank x-natbat-ox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rovinj hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Monte Mulini
Hotel Monte Mulini
#2 of 23 in Rovinj
5.0 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#6 of 23 in Rovinj
4.0 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Adriatic
Hotel Adriatic
#1 of 23 in Rovinj
5.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Lone
Hotel Lone
#3 of 23 in Rovinj
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,269 reviews
1.3 mi away
Island Hotel Katarina
Island Hotel Katarina
#10 of 23 in Rovinj
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Arupinum
Hotel Arupinum
#8 of 23 in Rovinj
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Hotel Istra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Hotel Istra

Property: Island Hotel Istra
Address: Crveni Otok 1 - St. Andrea, Rovinj 52210, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Istria > Rovinj
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Rovinj
#4 Luxury Hotel in Rovinj
#6 Family Hotel in Rovinj
#8 Romantic Hotel in Rovinj
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Island Hotel Istra 4*
Number of rooms: 326
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Istra is an island of its own, a traffic free oasis of sea and sun, wonderful beaches and secluded spots, a ten minute boat ride from Rovinj. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Island Hotel Istra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Istra Hotel Rovinj
Hotel Istra Rovinj

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing