We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“finding true piece”
Review of Island Hotel Istra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Island Hotel Istra
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Rovinj
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 March 2010

hotel is sited in small island connected by shoal with another small island.. great for enjoying in beautiful surroundings, meals and peace.. ideal for swimming, riding bike and walk. also, ideal accommodation for children with no concerns that something will happen.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cvrle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,043)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

736 - 742 of 1,043 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2010

we previously stayed at the hotel parc in rovinj and had a lovely holliday in 2008 so last year we decided to go back to rovinj and try the istra. This hotel is fantastic the rooms are lovely ours had a sea view. The food is amazing there is a huge choice from mussells, fish, pork, beef, past, salads, pizza everything! The island itself is stunning. we swam in the sea most days and didnt use the pools much. The only small downside was the indoor pool was not very clean and the top outside pool had a few chipped tiles. However as we were mostly in the sea this did not detract from our holliday and we will definitely stay here again. The staff were lovely and the maistra cocktails are a must!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marmots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2010

The hotel is in a fantastic location and you can have a lovely relaxing and chilled out holiday.
We went for just a week and even in the peak of the season it did not appear to be too busy.
We spent the days on the adjoining Maskin Island. The main island where the hotel is located is fine, but around the pool it is very busy and just like any other hotel in Europe. We figured that to make the most of the holiday it was better to explore both of the islands. The only critical comment of the area around the hotel was the selfish attitude of guests - we had a poolside room and it was amazing that from 06:00 onwards the number of people out there reserving poolside loungers with their towels. The best thing was on the single day that it rained first thing in the morning, there were a lot of wet towels!
Maskin Island was very quiet with lots of places to sunbath and relax, much of the island is naturist but the areas facing the hotel are fine if you want to keep your clothes on!
The islands would be great if they were just for the hotel residents, but unfortunately they are open to the public and from 11:00 or so boatloads of day trippers arrive - but I guess that the hotel needs to make money from the trippers.
The food is fine in the hotel, it is a buffet and self service and there is pleanty of choice. Our only complaint would be that drinks are very expensive. You need to take a trip by the hotel boat to Rovinj to go shopping for drinks!
A great holiday and we certainly would go back.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank clivecSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2009

I'll keep it simple: Excellent hotel, rooms perfectly adequate and clean, if a little on the small side, good facilities, unique location, good food from the buffet considering the large number of guests. Rovinj is small wonder, beautiful clean winding streets to just amble away the hours in, friendly people, gorgeous sunsets, ample shops and numerous places to eat & drink. There is an excellent wine bar called Piazza Grande in the middle of old town, with a good restaurant directly opposite.
September is ideal if you don't want to fight the crowds, the weather was fantastic and the sea still warm and crystal clear.
We did several trips, all were good, Rijeka and Opatija are worth checking out if you want a bit more hussle & bussle.
Istria really has everything you could ever want for a memorable holiday- you will not be dissapointed with Croatia.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Itaintalfhotmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2009

Although the hotel from the exterior may not be the most welcoming, the rest makes up for it. From landing until in our rooms it was 90 mins. The view when wating for the boat to take us to Hotel Istria was breath-taking. The boat is fairly large and comfortable, it also runs a very good service to and from the mainland. First impression of the hotel 'it is not the best looking', but it is nice and clean.
The rooms are adequate and quiet, and regularly cleaned. The hotel staff were very friendly especially the restaurant manager who could not do enough for us.
The pools were very clean (indoor and out). The views from the rooms were breath taking, we faced the pool area and you could never get tired of looking out from the balcony. The only problem we found, was the food at lunch time was quite limited, mostly on offer was the same sandwiches in 4 locations. The pizza restaurant however, was very nice.
I would recommend this to anyone as it is very special, just listing to the waves and being surronded by sea views at all angles.
Rovinj is just the nicest place ever.
We will be going back to celebrate our 10th Anniversary.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jackibillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2009

I am not sure how they justify the price and the star rating. The hotel is ugly, the rooms are very basic, the reception staff are rude and the food is average. That said the islands is very pretty but I can't give the hotel staff credit for that. It is in desperate need of a full makeover!

Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
5  Thank mikeyp06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2009

The Istra Hotel and the resort of Rovinj made for an excellent September holiday for me and my husband. We arrived on a beautiful day and enjoyed the novelty of getting to the hotel by ferry. On first sight the hotel itself didn't look anything special but we soon realised that it is in fact a fantastic place to have a relaxing holiday, beautiful by day and by night. The booking-in process was very quick but we were disappointed when we realised that the 'sea view' was only accessible if we stood up and peered over an extended roof. However, as soon as we asked for a change of room the reception staff immediately obliged and we got a beautiful view over the pools and the other small island. Similarly, a problem with the air conditioning was fixed as soon as we asked. There were always plenty of sunbeds available and the poolside staff were happy to help us with the sunshades etc. There did seem to be a bit of a problem with wasps around the pool bars etc (apparently they're only there end of August into September) but they weren't aggressive just annoying.
There was an excellent choice of food , both for breakfast and dinner, and the 'free' wine, beer and soft drinks were a fantastic extra!!!
Drinks, particularly bottled water, and food at the hotel were quite expensive but the 'Konzum' supermarkets in Rovinj were easy to find and much cheaper, and there's an incredible choice of restaurants for lunches etc.
Rovinj itself is a beautiful, quaint, cobbled town. Lots of tourist shops, plenty of history and art, a gorgeous harbour, and a beautiful wooded headland which is ideal for walking. We got local buses to Pula and Porec, both beautiful resorts, but we were more than happy with Rovinj. One word of warning! - Our rep suggested that 'Bale' was a nice place to visit???. Although its got a nice church (10 kuna to get in!) its basically a one horse town and, because we went on a Saturday when buses are infrequent to say the least, we were stuck there for two hours with almost no-one being able to understand when we asked where, how, and when we could get the next bus out. Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our first visit to Croatia and would definitely visit the 'Istra' again,

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mamar82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rovinj hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#6 of 23 in Rovinj
1,022 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Monte Mulini
Hotel Monte Mulini
#1 of 23 in Rovinj
833 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Lone
Hotel Lone
#4 of 23 in Rovinj
1,467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Adriatic
Hotel Adriatic
#2 of 23 in Rovinj
284 reviews
1.3 mi away
Island Hotel Katarina
Island Hotel Katarina
#8 of 23 in Rovinj
254 reviews
2.9 mi away
Family Hotel Amarin
Family Hotel Amarin
#3 of 23 in Rovinj
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Hotel Istra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Hotel Istra

Address: Crveni Otok 1 - St. Andrea, Rovinj 52210, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Istria > Rovinj
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Rovinj
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Rovinj
#6 Family Hotel in Rovinj
#8 Romantic Hotel in Rovinj
Price Range: £79 - £345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Island Hotel Istra 4*
Number of rooms: 326
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Istra is an island of its own, a traffic free oasis of sea and sun, wonderful beaches and secluded spots, a ten minute boat ride from Rovinj. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Island Hotel Istra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Istra Hotel Rovinj
Hotel Istra Rovinj

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing