We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing Holiday in Beautiful Surroundings”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Island Hotel Istra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Island Hotel Istra
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Rovinj
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Relaxing Holiday in Beautiful Surroundings”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2010

Booked early with Thomson and got a really good price for 2 weeks half board. Had read on Trip Advisor about the wait for the boat to the island but felt the rep should have told us about it. Room was always very clean - towels and sheets changed regularly only gripe would have been that the air con didn't work very efficiently (although it was mid 30s outside.) Yes, the food is a buffet and yes, it can be busy but we chose to eat in the smaller room which was much quieter. The quality of the food was excellent we looked forward to every meal. Our deal included free soft drinks, water, wine and beer at the evening meal which really adds to the value. The boat to Rovinj always ran on time and it was a pleasant town to wander through both at day and at night. We booked a day trip to Venice through Thomson and whilst it was a long, busy, hot day we thoroughly enjoyed it. The organisation and tour manager were excellent (despite his aged rock-star appearance!) We also hired bikes and cycled down the coast. We enjoyed the fact it was on an island as it was something a bit different but if you don't want to be restricted to getting boats to go out for meals then this isn't for you.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cullenskink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

874 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    463
    292
    82
    19
    18
See reviews for
262
459
14
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coleraine, Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2010

Just back from two wonderful weeks. The setting is superb, beautiful island, fabulous climate (a few storms but they added to the fun) and a lovely hotel.

The food was reasonable, it could be a little better, the fruit was often second class and desserts tended to be stodgy. Usually we could put together a good meal however, even the fussy teenagers!. As mentioned elsewhere, many of the German/Russian guests seem to have difficulty understanding aspects of common courtesy and don't improve the experience. Breakfasts were nice though.

Sadly all of the Med is now dying and the underwater life is disappointing everywhere. The sea itself however is as clean as anywhere else in the Med. The pools and shore were pleasant but it was often hard to get a space by the pool. We're not big pool people anyway so that wasn't much of an issue. The hotel was clean. The shops could be a little better given that you had to take a ferry to get into town with a 1-2 hour turnaround. We couldn't get 2 AA batteries for my daughter's camera. The islands were beautifull and we really enjoyed our evening walks.

Rovinj and the area were really beautifull and we loved visiting the town.

It has been mentioned elsewhere that the staff were unfriendly. We didn't find them actually rude but they really could do with some attitude training. You felt as if they had better things to do than deal with you but when they did it was done efficiently. There were some exceptions and some staff members were wonderful.

Overall though the holiday was great and we were very sad leaving. I would happily recommend this hotel to a friend.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rincewind05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2010

Service: Staff were actually ok.. most were helpful although there seemed to be a lack of them during the day. For example, one day my partner and I wanted to get away from the children running around all over the place so went in the indoor pool which is for adults only and there are yet MORE children diving in, screaming and shouting. Whilst I dont dislike children, when Thomson advise in their brochure that the hotel is ideal for couples I didnt imagine having to compete for a place to swim in the pool with a child!!!
Room was fine... it was really clean and of average size. Very modren and the view from the room was stunning. The maids clean the room everyday so that was a bonus.
Pools were a joke. Went down to the pool several times around 830 to find all of the sun beds taken. Again, think hotel could do more to police this as it isnt fair on other guests. When there werent any loungers available, you could go and find a bed on the beach or around the island, so as long as you like the sea this is fine..otherwise its quite a walk back to the pool!
Food was really nice - not sure why people are complaining. Lots of choice although restaurant was always really hectic with people pushing and shoving.... think this is due to the guests the hotel attracts and not so much the hotel itself though!
Entertainment was pretty rubbish. Something you'd expect in a 2* hotel in Benidorm...again all aimed for children. Silly dances and games .. which is fine but when you're being charged and arm and a leg for drink you expect decent entertainment.
Rovinj itself is pretty tacky - loads of shops selling junk - fake football kits, fake hello kitty bags... the usual rubbish you find in resorts. The food in rovinj is also horrible. if you like grease then you'll be ok but we werent impressed at all. if you eat anything there - stick to pizza and avoid meat as it seems to be cheap fatty meat with loads of grissle.
Wouldnt go back to rovinj as thought it has sold out and the people (tourists not locals) are all rude arrogant.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scouser_gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2010

My husband, three children and I have just returned from a week's holiday at Hotel Istra. I would like to be able to wax lyrical about this hotel, however, I'm afraid that despite its idyllic setting and beautifully-maintained outdoor areas, the hotel itself left me cold and with no desire to return. Our two bedrooms while clean and comfortable were nothing special and not what we would have rated as being four star - we had to call the staff to make up the sofa bed for our youngest child and get them to replace bulbs in our bedside reading lights on the first night - not a great first impression. We were staying on a B&B basis only, which turned out to be a wise choice for us as we found the whole buffet breakfast experience to be extremely unrelaxing; it felf as if we had descended into the seventh circle of hell on our first morning with hundreds of people scurrying around with plates piled full of everything from scrambled eggs to brussel sprouts and chips! It was hugely reminiscent of being back in my old school canteen with about five hundred extra people running around. Having been alerted to the sun-lounger grabfest by other Trip Advisor posters, we got up early each morning to nab some beds, however, our kids preferred to sit directly outside the indoor pool (which incidentally is great, very clean and extremely well maintained) and since it was blisteringly hot, we were quite relieved that they were spending time out of the sun's scorching rays. My main gripe concerns the cost of snacks, drinks etc - the hotel really does have a captive market and takes, in our view, full advantage of that. Maybe the half-board guests feel that they get better value for money, but we found just buying a sandwich (not made on the premises incidentally - we saw them being unloaded from the ferry, tsk, tsk!) for a family of five to be very expensive. Furthermore, we had just come from a week's stay in Lake Bled, which was comparatively much better value. And even the activities seemed to cost an arm and an leg - nothing seemed to be free. Admittedly, with a daily temperature of 35 degrees, we had neither the energy nor the inclination to do very much apart from going out on the pedalinos. That said, there wasn't a great buzz around the place and everything seemed to shut down around 11.00 pm. On the plus side, I can state that there was practically no noise at night, which given the number of guests in residence was amazing. You really can get a good, quiet night's sleep. We used the ferry service each night in order to eat out in Rovinj - some really good restaurants are Santa Croce (excellent), Veli Joze (lovely staff and quirky decor) and Dream (good Italian food). Avoid Giannino's like the plague - pathetic air conditioning, mediocre food and filthy loos) and can state categorically that the town is beautiful if full of tourists, but hey, that's exactly what we were, so we shouldn't complain! All in all, I just can't enthuse about the hotel - it just wasn't for us (although our youngest who is 9 loved it) and we felt that the place was very impersonal - we had practically no interaction with the hotel staff nor did we feel particularly welcome as guests. I suspect that this has more to do with the fact that we were there in high season and the hotel was very busy, however, I'm not so sure. To be honest, I was quite relieved to leave the island on our last day as traipsing over and back on the ferry was starting to pall plus I found the island to be quite claustrophobic after a few days. Three or four nights would have been perfectly adequate for us. I feel it's a bit of a shame as I really would love to be able to rave about Hotel Istra and encourage other people to visit it. If you are a total sun-worshipper and have plenty of cash to spend on extras, then you'll probably love this place otherwise I'd give it a miss. The day trippers are also a bit of a nuisance and the hotel should really try and control this - there were people going back on the ferry who had used the sunloungers beside us all day who were definitely not hotel guests. No hotel rep seems to be around during the day to prevent this - all a bit laissez faire. I just feel that this hotel lacks soul and ambience and is a bit brash - maybe it was us, but we just weren't feeling the love! Overall, a fairly pleasant if pricey experience and we have no burning desire to return.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank supercritical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2010

If you are looking for someplace to take your kids, go here. There is a lot to do at all ages.

We had a great time. My only complaint was the food wasn't the very good. The cafeteria is just that, a cafeteria. Had lunch at the pizza place a lot and it's only okay. Definetely you want to take a ferry off the island and eat dinner elsewhere!

Have to say the staff was so friendly and spoke so many languages so well including spanish! In particular the head of the cafeteria had to be one of the nicest people we've met on a trip and it was always a pleasure to see him in the morning despite the food.

They charge for strange things like beach towels and wifi yet many other things were free. You can have internet in your room but they had no cables to connect.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeattleMegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2010

I have just returned from the Hotel Istra and I have to say it was absolutely fantastic. The staff were ALL very friendly. We spoke no Croatian but learnt the words for please and thank you. I found that all the staff spoke English and were very pleasant. The variety of food on offer was good each night and I particularly enjoyed the fish which was available. We enjoyed the beer, wine and water but didn't try the fizzy drinks as I don't ever drink that sort of thing. The pools were clean and there were always sunbeds available. My partner and I had a very quiet and romantic holiday there but we also really liked seeing and hearing the children enjoying themselves. I also had a couple of treatments in the Spa and the surroundings and service there were wonderful! The ferry to Rovinj ran on time and Roving itself is a beautiful town with pretty little side streets and a magnificent church at the top of the hill. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who wanted to have a relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YoungOne48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2010

Okay so this hotel isn't all bad however, the small flaws with it amount to something bigger than it should be. The staff are rude not so much vocally but they will barge pass you in the restaurant and expect you to move when really you are the guest. Some of them make no attempt of trying to understand you [English] which makes everything long seeing as not many English people speak Croatian. The rooms are deceptive on photos- they really are small. As a 3 person room the 3rd person is on a sofa bed which they pulled out and blocked the balcony doors. Nothing major no but you'd think once again being a paying customer they would have the sense to put the bed the other way. Another thing about being the 3rd person is they will come in make 3 beds up and leave only 2 towels- is it really that hard to get it right?

The food in the buffet is average. The quality is good but you are very limited at that. Chips are on everyday! [okay for kids- lots of salt] Sprouts are on the menu for breakfast! The drinks are real Coca Cola it is a cheap version which tastes like paint stripper.

Okay so yes it is on an island and the boat ride is about 20-25 minutes to mainland. I will say however, the boats are always on time. only problem we found- which to be fair wasn't the hotels fault but when were went on trips we'd get dropped off after 8:30pm which is the last boat available to get back in time for evening meal as they close at 9:30pm so do watch out for that. The hotel does leave you a meal in your room consisting of a cheese/ham platter but nonetheless possibly not what you want after a long day.

The trips are definitely worth going on- in particular Lake Bled and Venice. once again watch the times coming back- the food in Rovinj is cheap to eat out but obviously if you've paid for half board you would rather have what you've already paid for.

Be careful when on the beach as the hotel only has limited spaces and the rest you have to pay for. 30,00 Kuna per day per sun bed.
The Air con for the room is set only 2 degrees below the room temperature at the time which in all honestly is pointless having it on.

Oh and there are LOTS of noisy kids! The hotel does provide a lot of entertainment for kids- bouncy castle, ball pools, climbing frame indoors and out and a kids club.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rovinj hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Monte Mulini
Hotel Monte Mulini
#1 of 23 in Rovinj
5.0 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#6 of 23 in Rovinj
4.0 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Adriatic
Hotel Adriatic
#2 of 23 in Rovinj
5.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Lone
Hotel Lone
#3 of 23 in Rovinj
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,234 reviews
1.3 mi away
Island Hotel Katarina
Island Hotel Katarina
#10 of 23 in Rovinj
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Arupinum
Hotel Arupinum
#9 of 23 in Rovinj
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Hotel Istra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Hotel Istra

Property: Island Hotel Istra
Address: Crveni Otok 1 - St. Andrea, Rovinj 52210, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Istria > Rovinj
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Rovinj
#5 Luxury Hotel in Rovinj
#6 Family Hotel in Rovinj
#8 Romantic Hotel in Rovinj
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Island Hotel Istra 4*
Number of rooms: 326
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Istra is an island of its own, a traffic free oasis of sea and sun, wonderful beaches and secluded spots, a ten minute boat ride from Rovinj. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Island Hotel Istra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Istra Hotel Rovinj
Hotel Istra Rovinj

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing