We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic holiday”
Review of Hotel Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Park
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in Rovinj
Kent
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“A fantastic holiday”
Reviewed 26 June 2009

We stayed here for a week in May. The hotel is in the best location possible, right on the sea front (separated by a pedestrian footpath) with lovely views of Rovinj town. Check in was swift and we were delighted with our room, despite only being 2 of us, we ended up with a 2 bedroom suite with sofabeds and a seating area meaning we could have shared with 4 friends! The hotel grounds are nice, with both indoor & outdoor pools. No matter what time of day, there were always plenty of sunbeds. There are steps leading down from the hotel to the marina/seafront where there are plenty of restaurants. The food in the hotel was very good (we were half board) and there was always plenty of choice of meat/fish/pizza/pasta and salad (and some lovely ice cream!). Some nights were busier than others and one night it was quite difficult to get a table but the staff do quickly look after you & clean away any plates/glasses. There is a bar just outside the restaurant but we found this to always be quite busy with older people both before & after dinner. As such we spent most of our time in town but then again, that’s what we prefer to do. Rovinj itself is lovely and I would definitely look to stay here again. It has a very quaint and traditional feel to it with lots of lovely restaurants and bars both in the marina and tucked away in the cobbled streets. As it was my birthday we ate out one night on what had been most people’s recommendation – Dream Restaurant. The food was homemade and freshly cooked and absolutely delicious – well worth the slightly higher prices than other places. There’s also a market which takes most days where you can buy all sorts of fresh produce/honey/truffle oils etc. There’s many excursions on offer, we did an organised Venice day trip which I would recommend with 4-5hrs there. We also fancied Lake Bled but unfortunately there wasn’t enough time. Instead we hopped on a boat trip round Rovinj/neighbouring islands & took the local bus to both Porec and Pula (well worth a trip) which was both cheap and easy. I can’t recommend both Rovinj and the Hotel Park enough – they both make for an unforgettable holiday!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank intrepidtraveller39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

770 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    276
    339
    116
    33
    6
See reviews for
141
437
23
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sussex
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2009

Just returned from a week at this hotel with my daughter. Weather was very hot and the room was clean and comfortable. Paid for a sea view and we were right at the front over the pool the view was wonderful of the marina and old town we thought it was going to be such a lovely break. Unfortunately the last four days were totally ruined by "Eurosport Festival 2009" hundreds of mainly German competitors descended on the hotel and behaved appallingly noisy drunken singing and each night a massive concert was held in the town centre with very loud music going on till 2am this carried across the water it seemed straight into our room. The hotel cannot be blamed for this but they could have shown more concern for their other guests who were not involved with this festival and knew nothing about it before arriving. The staff were not interested although I hasten to add the female staff were a lot more accommodating. I complained to the restaurant manager about men coming into the restaurant in bare feet despite a dress code which included shoes shown outside the dining room he couldn't have cared less just shrugged his shoulders. The hotel rules were also ignored at the pool with dive bombing and ball games, so this meant the pool was unavailable to all the other guests.
General cleanliness inside the hotel was good but the pool and surrounding area need a complete clean the grouting around the pool tiles is stained and filthy. The food was very disappointing particularly breakfast nothing geared to English tastes only fried eggs which you had to queue up for. At dinner the trays were not kept replenished and in fact it was worse when the hotel was quiet than when the hoardes arrived!
Finally when are these European hotels going to upgrade their TV's to at least a couple or so English speaking channels we had endless German channels and only Eurosport and BBC World service in our language.
There is very little to do once you have walked around the small town and a lot of the excursions have been cut due to the recession.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dalehound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2009

This was our second visit to this hotel. We returned because we enjoyed it so much last time. This hotel is in an ideal location. Just a short walk one way to the lovely town - or a short walk in the other direction takes you around the bay and through the woodland areas. The hotel overlooks the Marina. Hotel is spotlessly clean, staff are excellent. The buffet restaurant is adequate enough. My only slight moan is that there isn't a quiet area or bar/lounge area to sit in without something going on. The main lounge is quite large with uncomfortable seats. Ok if you like to be constantly entertained, but not if you just want a quiet drink and chat to friends. But most people, like us, venture out anyway - so it is not a major problem. When we return to Rovinj - we will stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank woodward2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2009

Stunning location with an incredible view. The staff were all friendly and helpful, they went out of their way to make my stay enjoyable. My room was at the back (as single rooms always seem to be), small but adequate. The food is buffet style but there is plenty of variety and good quality.

I would certainly go again.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pmfWestYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
monks eleigh Suffolk
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2009

Just back from 10 sunfilled days in Croatia around Easter. Hotel Park is a terrace decked facing yacht basin hotel with a picture perfect aspect across from town harbour. The view from the dining /breakfast room is postcard quality and the buffet breakfast was substancial in range and Quality. We only had b&b.Room 423 and 422 with similar to restaurant view, a seaview room with balcony worth the extra. A largeish hotel
part of a chain (Maistra.com) it had all the sports /extras Well centre, kid club,large indoor,and outdoor ,separate kids pool,parkland,hairdressers,shop that come with a convention geared environment.Music entertainment at night was limited to trio in bar.
Although top name American jazz acts had been earlier in the month. The best entertainment in Rovinj if you like cinema is the opera house 16thc/ come cinema opposite the marketplace where you can watch latest English spoken croatian subtitled films for £2.50 a .ticket,
We eat for ten pound a head at habourside restuarants on fish, grill meat rounding off with a 80p Italian icecream and 10 minute stroll back to the hotel.Having hired a car, driving was very easy and a couple of days out to the Istrian hill towns inland and Lim Fjiord.nearby( A fast catarmaran goes to Venice for a full day trip 520kunas)
added variety to bike hire and boat trips. English is widely spoken, Croatians are punctual,all have an english football team they support and wellcoming. Its a low tip society, they want and respect the custom.
The hotel had the standard twinbeds pushed together to double effect was very clean and as we faced the habourside suprisingly quiet no honda 50s whizing up and down. Why well the yachts outside had security to watch them at night.and discourage traffic
Flew 75% full on cheap ryanair ontime flight to Pula from Stansted than 45 min easy drive to Hotel approach from rear through parkland, not seafront good parking.
Best car hire Auto- Europe agent(local firm City hire) ten days £180 Golf 4door, full insurance and full tank return policy. empty roads little traffic.You could easily enter Slovenia and Itay remember to ask hirer no charge needs to be agreed..
Hotel booked through Expedia £50 a room a night approx( could have got 10% cashback extra online) gives also no cost 24hr cancellation option, Desiel same cost as home,generally Croatia was the same price as UK with 22%vat included. However Hotel Park did service charge 15% bar drinks which didnt go down well with the evening lounge crowd. Fill the mini bar with good beer from across the road mni-market 80p a litre and sit on your balcony and enjoy the sunset.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank suff0lk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire, UK
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2008

We stayed for 3 nights at the Park requesting a room with a sea view following previous reviews. We booked through hotels.com. On arriving the first thing we noticed was the reaction of the reception staff one of which avoided eye contact and walked off to get someone else not a good first impression.

Our room was on the third floor was a decent size and well furnished. The bathroom was also of a good standard and housekeeping service was good. Be warned although requesting a sea view and being on the 3rd floor did not give us view over of Rovinj which was obscured by large tree at the front of the hotel.

The hotel has been refurbished in contemporary style however we were not convinced it worked. The seating area adjacent o the bar was more akin to an airport lounge with rows of seats and not very comfortable. Although the hotel has undergone internal refurbishment the outside areas shows age with uneven block paving with grass growing and there were steps with broken tiles. It’s a pity that these have not been improved.

We stayed B&B and were glad we did not stay half board. The dining room was a nice area but unfortunately the quality of the breakfast was only average at best. This consisted of the usual mix of cereals, continental and hot food. The egg station only appeared to provide fried. The waiting service also appeared slow.

The hotel is geared for package holidays including Saga, and here is where our real gripe starts. Saga appear to be operating an all inclusive basis. We were just surprised at the behaviour of some of these guests. In the evening the bar area was full of these guests clearly with the intention of drinking. Getting served was near enough impossible as we stood and waited nearly 15 minutes attempting to get buy a drink. Whilst standing there we were pushed and elbowed by the all inclusive guests getting their next round in. The bar staff were doing their best but faced with lengthy list of doubles of this that and the other they had a difficult task. As paying guests we had hoped for better service bur never really got it.

The hotel has an inside swimming pool. Pool tools are available for a refundable deposit, however finding staff to provide the service was another thing. Whether it was approaching the end of the season but it seemed staff were indifferent. We noticed on one occasion they were busy playing table tennis that was obviously for guests. On another there was a member of staff resting on the sofa.

Rovinj is a lovely town with its cobbled streets with numerous art shops some of which are just bizarre. The walk from the hotel to Rovinj takes about 10 minutes there are numerous bars along the sea front where you can sit and watch the sun go down over a drink. For places to eat we would recommend Veli Joze where good food (fish and steaks) are served in a great atmosphere.

We were disappointed with The Park which is essentially geared up as a package hotel this does not mean its bad but battling with pensioners at the bar is not what we call fun. We are unlikely to use again.

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
5 Thank Giantcards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundas, ON Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2008

We have just returned from a vacation in Croatia and can report that the Hotel Park in Rovinj gets full marks from us. We reserved a double room with sea view and were more than pleased with the suite which we got. The view from the large balcony was absolutely fantastic and the spacious suite more than took care of our needs. We were there for 2 nights and, for convenience sake, had dinner in the dining room. While most other visitors had opted for the full board, which was buffet style, we ate a la carte. The seafood platter for two was excellent and the very friendly waiter, who also was fluent in English, German and Italian, showed great skill in deboning the fish and serving it with great style. The service in the hotel was efficient and friendly, this is a hotel I would certainly recommend to anybody.

  • Liked — The view and the balcony
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ChristaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rovinj hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#6 of 23 in Rovinj
974 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Monte Mulini
Hotel Monte Mulini
#1 of 23 in Rovinj
766 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Lone
Hotel Lone
#4 of 23 in Rovinj
1,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Island Hotel Katarina
Island Hotel Katarina
#8 of 23 in Rovinj
239 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Adriatic
Hotel Adriatic
#2 of 23 in Rovinj
257 reviews
1.3 mi away
Island Hotel Istra
Island Hotel Istra
#5 of 23 in Rovinj
991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Park

Property: Hotel Park
Address: I. M. Ronjgova 11, Rovinj 52210, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Istria > Rovinj
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Rovinj
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Rovinj
#11 Romantic Hotel in Rovinj
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Park 3*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering a lively atmosphere and relaxing privacy with a great view of the Old town, Hotel Park sits right above the seaside promenade, between the Marina on one side and the centennial forest park on the other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hotel Rovinj
Hotel Park Rovinj

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing