We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An undiscovered gem”
Review of Hotel Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Park
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Rovinj
Somerset
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“An undiscovered gem”
Reviewed 18 August 2009

My husband and I recently spent a wonderfully relaxing week at the Park Hotel in Rovinj, it having been personally recommended to us. Although the hotel looked a little austere on arrival, inside it was modern, comfortable, and spotlessly clean. The staff were more than accommodating. The pool was disappointing, it was absolutely freezing but the sea was warm and crystal clear. If you are into long stretches of sandy beach then this is not the place for you but there are some lovely rocky outcrops on which to sit and dip you toes in the sea! The view from our marina facing room was wonderful and the sun settled in the evening over our balcony. The food was plentiful, hot and varied with something to suit every taste. Although the hotel was graded 3 star it was most definitely in the best position for the short walk to the town. With the 4 star and 5 star hotels further away and shrouded in trees. We experienced some dramatic thunder and lightening storms at night, we were told this was very unusual although during the day it was was hot and sunny. My only complaint, being an obsessed gym bunny, was that the facilities were pretty poor although I believe it is possible to use the gym at the sister hotel (just a short walk away) and having taken a sneaky look it was clean, bright and comprehensively kitted out! Rovinj is a beautiful town, and steeped in history. The scenery in the area is stunning. Hire some bikes and cycle around the parkland and visit the UNESCO protected countryside. We will definitely be going back next year for two weeks to discover more of this beautiful undiscovered gem.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SomersetGymbunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

770 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    276
    339
    116
    33
    6
See reviews for
141
437
23
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Midlands
Level Contributor
115 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2009

We have just returned from Hotel Park in Rovinj and enjoyed one of our best holidays: 1. Weather was glorious; 34 degrees most days with only ½ day rain and a spectacular thunderstorm one night. 2. Wonderful Croatians who were very friendly and helpful. 3. Location was fantastic - eating our meals whilst overlooking the stunning view of the harbour, islands and town of Rovinj was a dream. 4. Rovinj and the Hotel were very clean. 5. Hotel Park is a 10 minute walk to first shop on edge of Rovinj. 6. Trip to Venice was expensive but well worth while. - To keep costs down we didn't need to take the water taxi to St Mark’s Square; one of the guide’s did walk there with a group in the same time. - We did negotiate a Gondola cheaper than the on-boat price of 25 Euros per person. - We thought the water taxi back was well worth the 25 Euros. 7. Good choice of food that meant each member of the family had something they liked. 8. Hired a car from Venturer; very professional and helpful service.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mothergoosethemoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester
Level Contributor
71 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2009

The view from the balcony at the front of the hotel was superb, right across the marina to the old town. Not all rooms at the front have the same view - some side face and others have the view obscured by trees - so be careful if it's a deciding factor.With the view comes the music of the band that plays until 1.00p.m. every night - but they were usually good and this wasn't a problem (but may be to some).
The hotel rooms are comfortable, very clean and have the main facilities in place - However, they offer no more than the three star rating - with a refit this could be a very good hotel (but would obviously cost more).
Breakfast is ample but with a little more effort food could be very good - we found it slightly lacking in flavour.
The staff are very friendly, courteous and helpful.
The hotel is about 1/2 a mile from the town centre and the old town - which is a carbon copy of a northern Italian town and really interesting and pretty, especially off the main tourist drag.
We would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, England
Level Contributor
108 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2009

The Hotel Park would be nothing to write home about if it was not for its stunning location. The rooms are fairly average 3 star fare with fairly basic facilities (centrally controlled air conditioning, balcony, TV and mini bar). The furnishings are a little tired and the bed linen in the room I had was quite threadbare. The twin rooms are quite small (see photo) but they clean and serviceable.

The facilities in the hotel are what you would expect from a four star establishment with Sauna, massage, 2 outdoor pools plus an indoor pool (not open in summer) a number of bars and restaurants, nightly evening entertainment a fitness club and a hairdresser.

What really sets this hotel apart is its superb location above the yacht marina with great views of Rovinj old town and Katarina Island. The hotel is about 15 minutes walk along the promenade from the old town. The pleasant walk is flat and is littered with bars and restaurants.

Less than half the rooms in the hotel have a full a full sea view with some others having a restricted sea view (see picture). It is worth getting one of these rooms as the rooms without sea view overlook an unlovely car park and the flat roof at the back of the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Worslesr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2009

FIRST IMPRESSIONS …
Once you arrive from the airport after the 2.5 hour flight to Croatia you pull up outside the Hotel Park & from the front of the hotel it looks very big & quite sophisticated. There are about 5 steps up to the reception, which is quite difficult when you have to carry your own luggage. Once you are at the entrance of the hotel you are faced with a large open space. There is a nice marble floor, large reception to the right & large seating area & bar to the front. It is a very warm welcoming area.

THE RECEPTION
The reception area is very big & has a couple of people working behind the desk. They speak good English & are happy to help with any questions or queries you may have. At the reception you can book excursions or ask about the surrounding areas. You can also change your money at the reception & book wake up alarm calls. Once you have collected your swipe card to your room you can use the one of the 2 lifts as the hotel has 4 floors. THE BEDROOMS
Altogether there are 138 double rooms, 29 single rooms & 35 suites. All the double rooms are actually made up of two twin beds that are pushed together but you can easily take them apart. All the rooms are quite big with a nice neutral colour scheme. The rooms have air conditioning, satellite TV, direct dial telephone, balcony, mini bar & a view of the sea or the park. The supplement fro the sea view is £5 per night & is worth it as the sea view rooms are very bright & have lovely views of the sea & the large harbour where a lot of boats that are moored.
All bathrooms have a bath with a shower over the top, hairdryer & complimentary toiletries.
All rooms are on a swipe system you have to use your card to get into the room & slot it in an electric point to get all the lights on & TV to work.
I stayed in a twin room & found it to be really comfortable the beds where nice & firm & didn't feel like a million people had slept in them.



THE RESTAURANT
All guests stay at the Park hotel on a half board basis, which is nice because the food is very good. The breakfast is buffet style with a mixture of hot & cold meat, eggs, bread, fresh croissants & Danishes. There is also a plentiful selection of fruit juices & tea & coffee.
The evening meal is also buffet style. You have a selection of a variety of different meals including rice dishes, pizza, salads & vegetable dishes. You can find food for any diet.
Breakfast is usually served between 07:30am - 10:00am & the evening meal is served from 06:30 - 09:00. ENTERTAINMENT
There is a kids club for children who are aged 5-12. They also have entertainment throughout the day & evening in the peak summer months. I visited this hotel in October so there was no entertainment on but you didn't really miss it as the bar in the evening was very pleasant & very good value for money the drink prices where no different to here in the UK maybe a little bit cheaper about 80p for a soft drink £2 for a glass of wine & £2.50 for a beer but obviously all the money is in the Croatian Kuna which on average is about 10 Kuna to the pound so everything is like 200kuna or 250kuna. Very easy to understand translate.
The bar area is very large & serves drinks up until 00:00. You can buy wines, spirits, soft drinks & cocktails from the bar.
All the chairs are very comfy the area is more like a lounge area. To the left of the bar there is a large open balcony area, which seats around 50 people it over looks the front of the hotel & large outdoor swimming pool.

THE FACILITIES
They have 2 swimming pools an indoor fresh water pool, which is closed from 1st June to 15th September, & 2 outdoor freshwater pools, which are open in the summer months, mainly when the indoor ones are closed. The hotel has a small fitness centre, shooting alley, table tennis table & a boccia court which can be used free of charge. The hotel also has a sauna, massage & beauty parlour & hairdressers, which can all be used but a charge will be made, I am unaware of the charge of these things, as I didn't have time to enjoy these facilities L

THE DÉCOR
The hotel has a nice modern feel to it with bright walls & furnishings. All of the rooms & public areas go well together all the carpets are nice neutral colours & the furniture & walls are a nice peachy colour, with darker coloured furniture.

THE SURROUNDING AREAS
The hotel Park is situated above the ACI marina overlooking the island of St Catherine & the old part of Rovinj.
Aprox 250m from the shingle beach, 800m from the town centre & 500m from the local sport facilities.


OVERALL COMMENTS
I very much enjoyed my stay at the Park hotel it was a nice size hotel not too big & not too small. All the staff where very nice & accommodating. The food was good & the hotel was in a very nice location with excellent views.
The hotel Park is an excellent hotel & you can expect to stay there for about £75pp a night in the peak time & about £35pp in the low season but that does include half board accommodation. If you where to stay at a hotel this good in the UK it would probably cost a lot more. If you where to go to this holiday on a package tour it would probably work out a bit cheaper.

  • Stayed September 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MidlandsTrolleydolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2009

Location, Location, Location is mainly what this well run 3 star hotel has going for it. However, to fully take advantage of this you need to stay in a room with a sea view preferably overlooking the pool and the old town. Rooms are not very large but they are comfortable and well equiped. Staff are friendly and efficient and always ready to help. For a family holiday the hotel is let down slightly by the limitations of the pool and by a limited range of daytime activities and evening entertainment. The breakfast and dinner buffet is fine with a good selection of food available. However, it is bascially the same selection everyday with very little variation. There is also a very limited choice for vegitarians. Any disadvantges are made up for by the convenient location and the stunning views from the terraces. We had considered other hotels in Rovinj but would return to the Hotel Park taking everything into consideration.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FamilyYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2009

Stayed here for five nights. Excellent experience, cannot fault the hotel in any way. Rovinj is the most beautiful little town, fantastic food, we didn't want to leave. Rent a bike - its a great way to explore the area.

  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank priceprom123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rovinj hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#6 of 23 in Rovinj
922 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Monte Mulini
Hotel Monte Mulini
#1 of 23 in Rovinj
721 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Lone
Hotel Lone
#3 of 23 in Rovinj
1,309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Island Hotel Istra
Island Hotel Istra
#5 of 23 in Rovinj
922 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Adriatic
Hotel Adriatic
#2 of 23 in Rovinj
231 reviews
0.4 mi away
Island Hotel Katarina
Island Hotel Katarina
#10 of 23 in Rovinj
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Park

Property: Hotel Park
Address: I. M. Ronjgova 11, Rovinj 52210, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Istria > Rovinj
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Rovinj
#7 Family Hotel in Rovinj
#11 Romantic Hotel in Rovinj
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Park 3*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering a lively atmosphere and relaxing privacy with a great view of the Old town, Hotel Park sits right above the seaside promenade, between the Marina on one side and the centennial forest park on the other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hotel Rovinj
Hotel Park Rovinj

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing