We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holiday”
Review of Hotel Monte Mulini

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Monte Mulini
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Rovinj
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great holiday”
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Good bits:- style, space, clean, great location, amazing breakfast, very good staff.
Bad bits:- music noise from hotel next door, tiny portions and overpriced Wine Vault restaurant. Chicken burger on room service menu far worse than MacDonalds.
Poolside bed grabbing was so bad we saw one couple keep 4 beds for themselves, one set in sun and one in shade.
Needs a 'child free zone' in at least one pool.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank OxfordDiners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lovorka A, Manager at Hotel Monte Mulini, responded to this review, 15 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Your satisfaction and a good service is very important for us so we will discusse all your comments within our teams in order to improve ourselves better. We hope you'll keep all your positive memories alive until your next visit and stay.

Sincerely,

Assistant GM
Lovorka Androšić
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

766 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    652
    89
    17
    2
    6
See reviews for
160
459
17
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
home
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 September 2013

The first impression on seeing the hotel was good and everything improved from there. Reception staff were efficient and helpful and the room, although on the ground floor was away from the end of the hotel nearest the Hotel Lone stage which was a bonus. Fixtures and fittings were excellent and the room was kept scrupulously clean. Breakfast was excellent (with the exception of the sausages!) and the service impeccable. Pool seating was not an issue and not too busy and we never felt the need to use the facilities in the 'Lone'. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would not hesitate recommending it to others

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlotteHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lovorka A, Manager at Hotel Monte Mulini, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for recognizing our commitment to have ecellent and dedicated service. We continuously monitor your suggestions in order too meet your expectations in terms of ambience, location and the best food quality. However we noticed that you haven't been compeletely satisfied with breakfast.

We hope you keep all your positive memories alive until your next visit . Thank you for your time and support.

Sincerely,

Assistant GM
Lovorka Androšić
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cockermouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We stayed in Monte Mulini for ten nights on the 10th August 2013! This trip was for our first wedding anniversary! The staff were friendly and catered for all of our needs! The breakfasts were amazing lots of choice and very tasty! We used the free bikes one day which was a great little extra and we went on the boat across to the other island! Marcus at the pool bar was fab he kept us well supplied with drinks during the day! Overall a fantastic stay in a wonderful hotel in a beautiful part of Croatia!

Room Tip: Room 204 was a fab room it overlooked the pool and it was close to the lobby bar and reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lovorka A, Manager at Hotel Monte Mulini, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Dear Guest,

It’s so great to hear that you chose our hotel and town of Rovinj for your first wedding anniversary. Thank you pointing out the possibility of exploring the area and protected “Zlatni rt” park forest by our bikes. For the next 2014 season we are planning to arrange the beach in front of the hotel zone in addition to the poolside and open nice bar there as well. We are also very grateful that you appreciated the good service provided by our waiter Marko.

Hope to see you soon

Once again, thank you,

Sincerely,
Assistant GM
Lovorka Androšić
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We stayed here for a week in mid-August. The hotel is excellent, big, clean rooms, fabulous bathrooms and balcony with amazing views. Our room was upgraded on arrival and we received complementary chocolates and champagne. The service we received from everyone at the hotel was excellent. We had no issue with sunbeds as suggested by some other reviewers, there are plenty, and lots of umbrellas available too but as some other reviewers have mentioned there were more children here than I expected for such a hotel. The breakfast buffet is fantastic, with hot food made to order and a huge selection of cold food. We ate in the Mediterranean Restaurant for dinner one night and were disappointed that two of the dishes we were going to order were not available but the food we did have was excellent. We also tried the 7 course taster menu at the Wine Vault which is a must!

Rovinj itself is lovely. Lots of good places to eat, just ask at reception they had many they could recommend. One particular place which is on your left as you walk into the town (I can't remember its name), it is an outside grill on the harbour. Excellent seafood, reasonably priced, with excellent views at sunset. It is always busy so be prepared to wait abit, it is worth it!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria2812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lovorka A, Manager at Hotel Monte Mulini, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Dear Guests,

It’s very nice to hear that you chose our Monte Mulini and town of Rovinj for your Honeymoon Stay. Rovinj is indeed perfect Honeymoon location - romantic and quiet. We are especially pleased that you enjoyed the attention to details of our stuff and the food in restaurant Mediteraneo and of our great team in Wine Vault restaurant. Their discreet presence and meaningful touches aim to create memorable experiences.

Wish you all the best in your future life

Sincerely,
Assistant GM
Lovorka Androšić
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We booked our honeymoon here and would firstly like to say how polite and friendly the staff were. The rating I have given has nothing to do with the wonderful service we received from the staff.
We stayed in Room 109 which was a bit noisey as the hotel Lone seem to have entertainment every night which made sitting on our balcony trying to watch a romantic sunset almost impossible!
We paid quite a lot extra for half board in the mediterranean restaurant but I would not recommend this: a) if you are a veggie and b) if you like a varied menu. We were advised that the chef would make us anything we liked but I found the food either too salty or bland. I think if I stayed again I would be happier to take a 10 minute walk into Rovinj and sample some of the local dishes.
We were on our honeymoon and Kuoni had advised the hotel but there was some sort of breakdown in communication and there were no flowers, chocolates or wine waiting in our room. Also, we had upgraded our room to the executive and did'nt receive the free glass of orange juice on arrival. These are just minor annoyances but I wouldnt expect it in a 5 star hotel.
On the plus side the hotel is lovely, the rooms are big, the views are great and the staff are really helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Ask to be in a room away from the hotel Lone
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank wholenut13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lovorka A, Manager at Hotel Monte Mulini, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for emphasizing the politeness and friendlieness of our staff , but also pointing out size of the rooms, panoramic sea views of the picturesque Lone bay surrounded by protected “Zlatni rt” park forest. The town of Rovinj is the right destination for all of you seeking a sentimental atmosphere of the times that have forever gone by. Unfortunately our Mediterraneo restaurant didn't excite you much but I am sure we can do it to change your mind during your next visit and stay. We regret that you encountered some inconsistency in the room amenities and we will try our best to make sure that your experience remains an isolated case and hopefully have a chance to make it happened in the future during your next visit.

Once again, thank you,
Sincerely,

Assistant GM
Lovorka Androšić
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Didn't really know what to expect since we booked this trip last minute and Croatia is a new destination for us, but we loved our time in Rovinj. Had a wonderful stay at Monte Mulini - truly outstanding service. Don't miss dinner at the Wine Vault and trips out to Motovun and Groznjan.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HopingThisHelps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lovorka A, Manager at Hotel Monte Mulini, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great comment about our service, Wine Vault restaurant and your dedication to come back. We trust that you enjoyed many attractions of Rovinj and our Istrian peninsula and that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future as you promised

Kind Regards,
Assistant GM
Lovorka Androšić
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We stayed here for the first 4 nights of our honeymoon in Croatia and it was a perfect way to start. The hotel was everything you would expect of a 5 star hotel. The staff were very professional, the spa and the use of the adjacent, attached Lone hotel facilities were exceptional. The pool and swim-up bar were fantastic. Our room was clean, spacious and well appointed and the views were beautiful and a wonderful backdrop to the start and end of each day.
The breakfast was superb and extensive the only exception being the lack of decent 'English breakfast' tea bags which were available in other hotels we stayed in on our trip.
The only notable criticism would be the habit of other guests to 'reserve' loungers around the pool. Each morning we would watch from our balcony (with some disgust) guests placing towels and clothing randomly on loungers, walking back to their rooms and then seeing them at breakfast some time later. The hotel should consider a no reservation policy before a set time (midday?) to prevent this occurrence of guests claiming loungers which they do not then actually use for some time after.

Room Tip: I would avoid a room towards the Lone hotel end as this seems to have live bands most nights which c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leanna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lovorka A, Manager at Hotel Monte Mulini, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear Guests,

It’s very nice to hear that you chose our Monte Mulini and town of Rovinj for your Honeymoon Stay. We are especially pleased that you enjoyed the attention to details of our stuff and the pool and swim-up bar and of our great housekeeping team. Their discreet presence and meaningful touches aim to create memorable experiences. It’s great that you mentioned English breakfast as we are going to introduce it for the next season as well as Tea time during afternoon. We’re as well that you pointed out our pool area and sunbeds reservations as we try as much as possible to have a good service there. I will share your comment with the staff.

Wish you all the best in your future life

Sincerely,
Assistant GM
Lovorka Androšić
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rovinj hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Lone
Hotel Lone
#4 of 23 in Rovinj
1,371 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#6 of 23 in Rovinj
974 reviews
1.1 mi away
Island Hotel Istra
Island Hotel Istra
#5 of 23 in Rovinj
991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Adriatic
Hotel Adriatic
#2 of 23 in Rovinj
257 reviews
0.5 mi away
Island Hotel Katarina
Island Hotel Katarina
#8 of 23 in Rovinj
239 reviews
2.1 mi away
Family Hotel Amarin
Family Hotel Amarin
#3 of 23 in Rovinj
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monte Mulini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monte Mulini

Property: Hotel Monte Mulini
Address: A. Smareglia 3, Rovinj 52210, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Istria > Rovinj
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Rovinj
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Rovinj
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rovinj
#1 Luxury Hotel in Rovinj
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Monte Mulini 5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a serene view of the quiet cove from your own balcony, only 10 minutes away from Rovinj`s Old Town or put your feet up in the lush garden around the pool before exploring the refined cooking in the Wine Vault restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Monte Mulini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monte Mulini Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing