We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing, relaxing hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Monte Mulini

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Monte Mulini
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Rovinj
Certificate of Excellence
Brigg, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Amazing, relaxing hotel”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

I was really impressed with this hotel. It just has everything and is in a brilliant location. Rovinj is a great place as well. There seems to be lots going on and is full of restaurants and cafe bars to enjoy on an evening.

I stayed in 2 weeks and it was one of the best hotels I have stayed in. You can see all the great about this hotel in the reviews below. I will not go over how great it is as you can read it there.

However there are three things that let this hotel down. Wifi, front desk service and the spa.

Primarily Wifi. I think this was fixed on my last day in the hotel, however it is dreadful. You did not just connect to the wifi you had to wait until login screen popped up, the problem was that the pop up screen did not always appear so you had to turn your device off and on to get connected. Even when you had managed to connect it logged you out after 5 mins. We deliberately chose a hotel with Wifi as we needed to be able to conduct skype conversations and pick up urgent emails. When you get cut off mid conversation or suddenly realise an important email has not been sent because the wifi had logged you off again it is very annoying.

I understand Wifi is not hugely important to most people however this brings me on to the one area that I think this hotel needs to improve on. Front desk service. I found the front desk staff really unhelpful. All the other staff in the hotel seem to be great and wanted to help, but the staff on the front desk seemed to think they were there to just look pretty. Three times I complained about the Wifi, three times they said they would get back to me and never did. The shower in our room was very slow draining towards the end of our hotel, so I reported it. Nothing was done about it. The safe in our room had been left "open" but locked by the previous occupants, so I asked reception if someone could come and reset it so I could use it. Nothing was done about this either. None of the above items I went back to the reception with as I wanted to relax and enjoy my holiday without getting stressed, but if the manager reads this review, try swapping you restaurant and bar staff and cleaners with your front of house staff. There was such a marked difference in attitude it seemed unbelievable.

The Spa is not up to much either, you have access via an underground tunnel to the next door hotel's spa which is much better however the pool (spa) that is in the hotel is awful, the small tiles are falling off and it just does not look very nice or clean. This is a real shame as it really lets the image of the hotel down.

I would return to this hotel, it is a hidden gem, not perfect, but not far off.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LovorkaAndrosic, Manager at Hotel Monte Mulini, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you both for all your great positive and also negative comments as they represent a vital instrument in our daily effort to enhance our level of service and customer care.We regret that you did not meet with your Internet requirements as well as that atention of reception staff or wellness. On the other hand, we are delighted that you appreciated brilliant location and our Rovinj. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to welcoming you back in order to show you our improvements

Best regards,

Lovorka Androšić, EAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

666 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    572
    75
    12
    3
    4
See reviews for
143
390
16
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lytham St Annes, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Our recent stay at The Monte Mulini was truly magical in every way! We had read the reviews on Trip Advisor and can honestly say that the hotel does provide 5 star quality in every respect.

The location of the hotel is superb being close to a National Park and within walking distance of Rovinj. The addition of the new beach and beach bar have certainly enhanced the facilities provided by the hotel!

The bedrooms and public areas are decorated to the highest quality and the bathroom was probably the nicest I have ever used. The breakfasts were excellent and the service provided by the staff was second to none, each and every member that we met were so polite and helpful.

We certainly intend to return.

Room Tip: We had a ground floor room with sea view which was very nice but I understand that the views from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LovorkaAndrosic, Manager at Hotel Monte Mulini, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Dear Guest,

We are truly honored by your fabolous comment. The hotel Monte Mulini represents the most prestigious address in Rovinj , where our distinguished Guests enjoy the exclusivity and style.
We're delighted that you enjoyed our new Mulini Beach. We're so proud to have it.

Thank you one more time



Sincerely,

Executive Assistant Manager
Lovorka Androšić
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This was our second stay at the Monte Mulini and there are truly only very few hotels in the world where we have come away with this feeling of wishing to return again. The Monte Mulini embodies hotel perfection - outstanding facilities, impeccable service, unique and beautiful setting coupled with genuinely warm, friendly and accommodating staff who go well beyond what is required of them. Words will simply fail to give justice to our experience - it's a traveller's dream come true. We love this hotel and our next visit is already marked in our calendar - as no doubt many more in the years to come...

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank minlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LovorkaAndrosic, Manager at Hotel Monte Mulini, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you so much, you left me speachless and really don't know what to write at this point.
We are trying really hard to be on maximum level although there is always room for improvement. Comment like yours gives us the best possible motivation.

We really hope to have soon the pleasure of welcoming you back. Thank you once again.

Sincerely,
Executive Assistant Manager
Lovorka Androšić
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Just perfection. Amazing hotel in beautiful location with stunning views and top class staff, The hotel, hotel grounds and rooms are imaculate and it has an amazing breakfast selection to start the day. The addition of Mulini Beach is an incredible asset that adds class to the surrounding area of Lone Bay. The hotel spa and spa of the Lone hotel next door have to be seen to be believed - wonderful. This was our second visit and are already planning to return next year, it's not cheap but then quality shouldn't be. Well done Monte Mulini.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms, all face the bay and all have the same facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FromKent9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LovorkaAndrosic, Manager at Hotel Monte Mulini, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for your rewarding comments and for highlighting our stuff, location and especially our new Mulini beach to which we are so proud off. It’s really amasing to see how nicely modern new bech incorporate in nature surroundings like Lone bay and protected forest park.

Looking forward to welcome you for the third time in our oasis of peace

Sincerely,
Executive Assistant Manager
Lovorka Androšić
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Widnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

My husband and I have just returned from holiday in Croatia.The Monte Mulini hotel is absolutely beautiful and is in a stunning location.The staff are exceptional they are all polite,friendly and helpful.Our room was lovely and had amazing sea view.The breakfast buffet we could not fault.Just a twenty minute stroll along the promenade was Rovinj with lots of bars and restaurants
Ivan our lovely waiter said on our last day he would see us next year and we cannot wait to return.Thank you Monte Mulini for all our lovely memories

Room Tip: We had a room on the second floor which had a lovely sea view but all the rooms have sea views so yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank June G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LovorkaAndrosic, Manager at Hotel Monte Mulini, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your complimentary and rewarding comments; we will share them with all the Staff and in particular with our waiter Ivan. He is a true professional and he is genuinely committed to make every guest experience at our Mediteraneo restaurant a delight both for the atention and the fine atmosphere.

We hope to have soon the pleasure of welcoming you back for new, precious moments

Best wishes.
Executive Assistant Manager
Lovorka Androšić
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Just returned from an amazing week here ...a really fabulous hotel in a superb position sandwiched between a beautiful bay and tranquil parkland. .. the ideal location for a week's couple's getaway. We don't usually stay in somewhere so big preferring boutique hotels, but with plenty of space and different areas to relax in, it never felt crowded or too busy.
Depsite the crack of dawn start from LGW, we were sipping cocktails and enjoying a light snack by the pool by 13:00hrs! Incredible views from our Exec Room, ideally situated opposite the spa, same level as the terrace bar and one floor from breakfast - spacious, contemporary with superbly comfortable beds and a bathroom to get lost in.
The service in every are was fabulous - the staff attentive, friendly and charming and although only eating in the hotel once apart from daily breakfast, the food was of excellent quality.
Rovinj is a stunning harbour town just a 15 min stroll along the attractive promenade, with several exellent restaurants and bars to choose from. Day trips by car into the countryside are a must, with fabulous hilltop towns to rival Italy and France, a chance to sample even more of the excellent wines and local produce. We also don't normally make a return visit anywhere but after a stay here, we definitely will next year. Thanks Monte Mulini - we arrived back in the UK very chilled ideed!

Room Tip: Exec Rooms on 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Promptbunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LovorkaAndrosic, Manager at Hotel Monte Mulini, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear Guests,

We are truly honored by your fabolous comment and looking forward to hear more from you. The hotel Monte Mulini represents the most prestigious address in Rovinj , where our distinguished guests enjoy the exclusivity and style and what is more important to relax...

We hope to have soon the pleasure of welcoming you back for new, precious moments

Sincerely,
Executive Assistant Manager
Lovorka Androšić
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Our first trip to Croatia and to Rovinj - wowed! This is a stunning hotel - with immaculate and incredible rooms. Our room had amazing views and a bathroom to die for. Everything is perfect at Monte Mulini. We walked into town (picture postcard charming) for dinner each night and breakfast at Mulini was the tops we've ever seen in a hotel buffet. The displays are elegant with an astounding array of choices. Even the little jam dishes are something to ooh and aah over. Coffee is served in individual french presses !! Great waterfront and pool areas - do bring water shoes for easier swimming. Warm, friendly staff. I wished we lived closer and could visit often.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Webster37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LovorkaAndrosic, Manager at Hotel Monte Mulini, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you for choosing our Monte Mulini for your first visit to Croatia and for your appreciation not only of the beauty of hotel, but for the true recognition of ours product.

We are especially pleased that we were able to accommodate you to a room with such a rewarding view, isn't just looking to our bay so relaxing?

We hope to have soon the pleasure of welcoming you back

Kind Regards,
Executive Assistant Manager
Lovorka Androšić
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rovinj hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Lone
Hotel Lone
#3 of 23 in Rovinj
1,229 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Adriatic
Hotel Adriatic
#2 of 23 in Rovinj
203 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#6 of 23 in Rovinj
874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Island Hotel Istra
Island Hotel Istra
#5 of 23 in Rovinj
869 reviews
0.5 mi away
Island Hotel Katarina
Island Hotel Katarina
#10 of 23 in Rovinj
193 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Arupinum
Hotel Arupinum
#9 of 23 in Rovinj
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monte Mulini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monte Mulini

Property: Hotel Monte Mulini
Address: A. Smareglia 3, Rovinj 52210, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Istria > Rovinj
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Rovinj
#1 Family Hotel in Rovinj
#1 Luxury Hotel in Rovinj
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rovinj
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Monte Mulini 5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a serene view of the quiet cove from your own balcony, only 10 minutes away from Rovinj`s Old Town or put your feet up in the lush garden around the pool before exploring the refined cooking in the Wine Vault restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotelopia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Monte Mulini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monte Mulini Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing