We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Monte Mulini

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Monte Mulini
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Rovinj
Certificate of Excellence
Herts
Level Contributor
68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Tempted by the lovely pictures and excellent reviews, we spent 10 days at the hotel. We were not disappointed! The hotel is a lovely combination of style and comfort and exceptionally clean. We booked an executive double to take advantage of the sea views (the view from the ground floor rooms is restricted by the lush vegetation and trees). Our room was on the 2nd floor, which is very well placed to reach all the amenities and the spa. Enormous, comfortable bed and a huge bathroom with corner bath and a separate wet room. The air conditioning in our room and throughout the hotel was spot on. Breakfast was served from 6.30 which was really useful for early flights or trips, but we were also made aware that the hotel offered "picnic" breakfasts if you left earlier! We booked two trips via Concierge - both very good. Lovely promenade walk to Rovinj which has an amazing array of restaurants to choose from, reasonable prices. Loved the beach area, the pool and the gardens. Took advantage of a great spa treatment. You can also use the pool facilities for the Lone next door which is accessed via the spa. All staff very professional and polite. Special thanks to Iva, Irena and Marina for exceptional service. Would we return - definitely!

Room Tip: It is really worth paying extra for an Executive Room to take advantage of the wonderful view. Secon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MJEEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LovorkaAndrosic, Manager at Hotel Monte Mulini, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for emphasizing the great view of our Executive accommodations, each with large comfortable bed and a huge bathroom with corner bath and a separate wet room like you noticed. We are also very grateful that you appreciated the recommendations of our Concierge team and their constant research for the most authentic boat & road trips and restaurants. They continuously monitor that their suggestions meet with our guests’ expectations in terms of ambience, location and just the best food quality

We hope you keep all your positive memories alive until your next visit and stya.

Sincerely yours,
Lovorka Androšić
EAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    574
    76
    12
    3
    4
See reviews for
143
392
16
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

We have just spent a week at this hotel. It is stylish and modern with a great spa. Unfortunately one of the treatments I wanted involved waiting for a particular machine to be repaired which did not happen in the week I was there! The hotel is set on the beautiful clear waters of the Adriatic sea but beware the beach is pebbled so pack your swimming shoes. There is a bizarre system of booking certain sunbeds (the most comfortable) at the beach and we discovered this about 3 days in to the holiday. They also charge the public for use of some sunbeds so if you want to sit at the beach go early to claim your beds. However there are plenty of beds around the pools and surrounding areas. The hotel is located about 15 mins walk from Rovinj town centre. It is a very pleasant walk along a promenade with a few shops and restaurants along the way. Rovinj is a lovely old town with lots of bars, restaurants (very reasonably priced), and also a 6th century church which we managed to struggle up the hill to see. The hotel has two restaurants, the Wine Vault and the Mediterraneo. The food was exquisite, my only slight complaint was that in the Mediterraneo I had ordered Lobster and chips one evening. I was brought a Lobster with Crisps! Then I explained what I wanted and was given OVEN CHIPS. I then had another go of explaining what I wanted and was given OVEN CHIPS again!!! Not what one would expect from the chef of a five star hotel. However the staff were very apologetic (I declined their offer to bring me my chips for a 4th time)!! The hotel is adjoining the Lone Hotel and you can use their facilities, eg. indoor and outdoor pools, We had a great time and I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 886Marie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LovorkaAndrosic, Manager at Hotel Monte Mulini, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your impressions regarding great time experienced at our hotel although that you encountered some inconsistency in our wellness and restaurant. Please allow us to assure you that sunlounge service at the pool is reserved for the Mulini hotel guests only on the first arrive basis and the beach sunlounge service is on disposal for Lone & Monte Mulini guests (VIP area). For public there is very limited number of sunlounges available only during morning hours as we're aware of importance to provide primary service to our distinguished guests.

We are already working with our chefs and waiters to make sure that your experience remains an isolated case and that our staff always represents the Monte Mulini values at the maximum level.

We trust however that you enjoyed the many attractions of Rovinj and that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future to show you the result of our constant improvements.

Kind regards to all of you,
Lovorka Androšić
EAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clapham, London
Level Contributor
85 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Clearly this hotel gets very good and consistent reviews ... which is why we decided to push the boat out a little and have the last four days of our 2.5 week Croatian holiday here ... and a great decision it was too! We had plans to use Rovinj as a base to explore islands and Istrian hill towns ... but we simply couldn't drag ourselves away from the hotel, it's grounds, and the fantastic new Mulini Beach area they've just created ... really well designed and a great stylish beach bar with a variety of loungers and bean bags to chill on (in the heat!) ... the imported pebble beach is really attractive and the water in the beautiful tree fringed bay is wonderful to swim in. It's hard to fault the place. The ten - fifteen minute walk into Rovinj town is just right and the choice of great eating places in the old town is such that you'd really need to eat at the hotel at all ... unless you really are intent on spoiling yourselves. If you want a cheaper option for a lunch than the Mulini Beach Bar offers ... walk the short distance to the Hotel Lone (it's sister hotel) ... here a shady lunch near the sea is better value. Having said that the sandwiches at Mulini Beach are very nice indeed ... and the house white wine (a Croatian Sauvignon from the Pilato estate is excellent!). We make it a point never to go back to somewhere, even if we've really enjoyed in ... however in Monte Mulini's case I think we may make an exception.

Room Tip: We had a Premier room on the ground floor (number 019) ... this is probably the lowest grade of room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Smoothguide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LovorkaAndrosic, Manager at Hotel Monte Mulini, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you for choosing our Monte Mulini for your visit to Croatia and for your appreciation not only of the beauty of our new Mulini Beach, but for the true recognition of the customer service which was our priority to create there. We are especially pleased that you were able to enjoy our food & wine offer. Did you know that our Wine vault restaurant has more than 550 domestic & foreign wine etiquete at its cellar.

We hope to have soon the pleasure of welcoming you back for new moments

Sincerely,
Lovorka Androšić
Executive manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

We arrived at 9.30 pm. by ferry from Venice and was collected by taxi all arranged by the concierge of Hotel Monte Mulini. We were welcomed by very friendly and helpful staff and escorted to a very comfortable and large room with a lovely veranda and views of pool, gardens and bay. We enjoyed dinner in their Restaurant Mediterraneo on the same evening and although we arrived late they made us feel very welcome with great service and food. They also served breakfast on the patio of Restaurant Mediterraneo with a great view and a wonderful continental & warm selection The new beach with outdoor bar is just a stroll away with a wonderful deck to relax on and the Old Town Square is a comfortable walk away and great way to experience the old town of Rovinj. The hotel's concierge also arranged tours and transfers for us to visit the Istria region to do Olive, Wine as well as Truffle tasting which was superb with lots of food and wine and a great guide. We also visited the Brijuni National Park by ferry as well as the Pula Amphitheatre which was truly a sight to see. On our last night we enjoyed a five course with wine matching dinner in the Hotel's Wine Vault restaurant and can only rave about one of the best chef's in Croatia. Thank you Hotel Monte Mulini for making our stay in Rovinj absolutely awesome!

Room Tip: All rooms have views of bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lafinia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LovorkaAndrosic, Manager at Hotel Monte Mulini, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Guest,

We are truly honored by your comments and by your recognition.

We are very grateful that you appreciated the work of our Concierge service. Our Alisa & Iva are true professionals and genuinely committed to create for every guest a memorable experience and delight.

As you mentioned there are really many possibilities for trips and sightseeing for instance to the little towns on both coasts (as we're in peninsula) mainly with Roman heritage or going to beautiful inland always compared with the Toscany with the great possibilities of olive oil, wine and truffle tastings.

It is great to learn that one of the best experiences was at our fine dining restaurant Wine Vault.

We hope to have soon the pleasure of welcoming you back for new, precious moments


Best wishes,
Lovorka Androšić, EAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

My husband and I stayed here after weeks of persuading him that we would not be disturbed by other guests as in previous hotels!From the outset the hotel was faultless. The staff are genuinely friendly and really want you to be happy there. Rooms are spacious and soundproofed, lovely comfy bed.
The whole place is immaculately clean with obvious attention to detail.
Pool area is beautiful.With the recent addition of the Mulini Beach,there are plenty of sun beds available all day, we stayed in July and had no problems although some people did get up early to reserve them!

The pool bar is lovely with excellent friendly staff,food is good if a little pricey.
Our meal at the Mediterraneo restaurant was fantastic,but probably was too expensive to eat here every day.Breakfast was the best we have enjoyed anywhere.

The facilities at the hotel include free bikes for guest use which we found really useful for making the most of the beautiful surrounding areas and for getting into town, although this was a lovely easy stroll along the promenade.
We can't wait to return again next time our batteries need recharging!!

Room Tip: All rooms face the sea but rooms on floor 2 and 3 have uninterrupted views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolnSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LovorkaAndrosic, Manager at Hotel Monte Mulini, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Guests,

We are truly honored by your fabolous comment.

Situated in a beautiful and quiet location, but close to the town as well, Monte Mulini is the perfect starting point for sightseeing, a wine trail tour or endless enjoyment in the sun and sea and outdoor activities.

Thank you for your appreciation not only the breakfast choice, but for the service in general as well.

We hope your future travel plans to the Istrian peninsula will include a return stay at Monte Mulini hotel.

Kind Regards,

Lovorka Androšić,EAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

We visited Monte Mullini for our honeymoon and from walking in the front doors we were very impressed. There is a magnificent view across the bay from all areas of the hotel and the staff couldn't do enough for you. The bathroom was permanently topped up with an array of Molton Brown products and we had a lovely large balcony. All areas, particularly the spa and outdoor pool spaces, were pristine and I can't name a single fault. We were quite sad to leave this gorgeous town and hotel and we vowed to return one day.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Luke I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LovorkaAndrosic, Manager at Hotel Monte Mulini, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Guests,

We can't thank you more for your fabulous comment.
We hope you keep all your positive memories alive until your next visit and stay.

Sincerely yours,

Mulini team
Lovorka Androšić, EAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel was just on point with everything. From the rooms to the restaurants everything was just simple and peaceful. The newly built bar at the beach was beautiful, the bean bag chairs were a nice touch. The best part of this trip though had to be our final night at the hotel restaurant. Having Alen as our server was wonderful. He was funny and kind all while very professional. I wish we had known about him prior to the last night. He made for a great end to a great stay.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LovorkaAndrosic, Manager at Hotel Monte Mulini, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for highlighting our rooms, restaurants and new beach bar at Mulini Beach club and for pinting out dedication of our waiter Alen with his expertise.

We can't wait until your next visit
Once again, thank you,

Lovorka Androšić, EAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rovinj hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Lone
Hotel Lone
#3 of 23 in Rovinj
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,234 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Adriatic
Hotel Adriatic
#2 of 23 in Rovinj
5.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#6 of 23 in Rovinj
4.0 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Island Hotel Istra
Island Hotel Istra
#5 of 23 in Rovinj
4.5 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Arupinum
Hotel Arupinum
#9 of 23 in Rovinj
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
0.5 mi away
Island Hotel Katarina
Island Hotel Katarina
#10 of 23 in Rovinj
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monte Mulini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monte Mulini

Property: Hotel Monte Mulini
Address: A. Smareglia 3, Rovinj 52210, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Istria > Rovinj
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Rovinj
#1 Family Hotel in Rovinj
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rovinj
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Rovinj
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Monte Mulini 5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a serene view of the quiet cove from your own balcony, only 10 minutes away from Rovinj`s Old Town or put your feet up in the lush garden around the pool before exploring the refined cooking in the Wine Vault restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotelopia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Monte Mulini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monte Mulini Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing