We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“don't count on resort's reception staff for valuable assistance; keep yr expectations adjusted”
Review of Resort Amarin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Resort Amarin
Ranked #15 of 23 Hotels in Rovinj
Shoresh, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“don't count on resort's reception staff for valuable assistance; keep yr expectations adjusted”
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We stayed there in Aug. 2013 and had wonderful time despite the following: facility is almost NEW but poorly maintained (as if nobody cares...), dead phone line in the room; A/C related problems; room-lights problematic; closet & cabinets' doors dis-function etc. I'd expect for minimal kitchen accessories (missing dish-washing soap & sponge, missing filters for coffee-maker, missing paper towel etc.); limited and overpriced WiFi arrangement.
Reception staff are annoying: hardly helpful neither friendly nor nice! Surprisingly their English is below average; poor understanding of visitors' needs OUT of the resort e.g., the ferry to Venice; no clue about wineries within 15 min. drive from the resort... let alone the great nat'l parks ~2 hours drive away frm the resort.
Bottom line: great value for yr money, don't count on resort's reception staff for valuable assistance. I doubt if we ever go there again, keep yr expectations adjusted.

Room Tip: Ask for "SUPERIOR DOUBLE ROOM WITH EXTRA BED" by the sea (first row facing the sea...).
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Harel2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    94
    65
    34
    33
See reviews for
144
76
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Giv'atayim, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

The Amarin resort has a huge private beach, two swimming pools and many outdoor opportunities (speedboats, trampolines, mini-golf, mopeds, bikes, etc.). The houses/villas are new/renovated, spacious and well designed. The entire resort is tidy and well kept. The resort is 7 minutes drive from the lovely town of Rovinj. The beach is great, but was very crowded during August. Basically everything is extra - Internet, snacks, outdoor activities, etc. - but the prices are really low - compared with the Euro Zone. All in all - we enjoyed every minute and would love to go back.

Room Tip: Try asking for a room with sea view. This is not a must, though. Also - you may wish to avoid rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zoltybey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LizonMorton
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

I booked through Booking.com and thought that I was reserving a luxury apartment in a small property a few kilometers from Rovinj. I arrived to find a well-sized, clean and modern apartment but in a huge tourist "village" that was jam-packed with families and campers.

The pros - The 6-person, 2 bedroom apartment has two real bedrooms with comfortable beds, good air-conditioning, curtains that keep it dark at night, a real kitchen with stove and oven (we expected only mini-fridge and microwave) and a comfortable garden patio. The pools are nice, and the beach rocky but long. The water taxi to Rovinj comes every 30-60 minutes from 9:30 AM until after midnight and takes only a few minutes to get to Rovinj, certainly better than driving and parking if you are not staying in the old town. They were generous with the towels, and the room was very clean. The supermarket is convenient for self-catering. The staff is friendly and helpul, and check-in and check-out were much faster that I expect at a large complex like this. They had comfy hammocks scattered around the property.

The cons - This is a huge tourist complex that charges for everything. They charge for wireless Internet (yes, it said that on my reservation but I was still surprised it wasn't free). They charged for a baby bed in the room. They said you couldn't take the room towels to the pool or beach, but didn't provide towels at the pool or beach, forcing us to buy overpriced beach towels from the shop. They didn't provide even a sponge or paper towels in the kitchenette, so we had to buy dish soap, sponges and cleaning products.

The bottom line: the size of the apartments, water taxi, and pools/beach make it a good place for families with kids. I won't stay there again, though, and if I wasn't traveling with children, wouldn't stay there at all.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LizonMorton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dovje, Bohinj, Slovenia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 July 2013

I stayed in Amarin Resort, Rovinj five times and for me it is better and nicer every time.
The app / rooms are clean with a nice kitchen and air condition. They all have a nice terrace and they are very near to the beach and to the restaurant, 20 - 50 m. I saw a lot of families with children and you can even bring your dog!!!
And the view on Rovinj is great. I would recommend it for everybody :-)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karin_slo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrollton, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Rovinj, Croatia is a charming seaside town on the northern peninsula sitting very near the borders of Italy, Slovenia, and Austria. The scenery and ambience are spectacular, definitely worth a visit. The Amarin Resort is not in the historic city center but it is minutes away by car or ferry with picture perfect views of that very photogenic town. The property offers hotel rooms and apartments at this enormous and lovely resort. Amenities include a small market, 2 pools with a huge surrounding patio with chairs, restaurant, a couple of bars, picnic and children's play areas, bikes, poolside massage, and a large beachfront area. There were massive bouncing and climbing structures in the ocean for added water fun. We stayed in a 2 bedroom unit that could sleep 5 total if you use the double bed in the living area, a full kitchen, 2 patios and one small bathroom. There was a table and 4 chairs with an umbrella on one patio. The kitchen was small but sufficiently stocked to make light meals including a coffee maker but lacked basic things like dish detergent, paper towels, salt, or coffee filters. The bathroom was really small and lacked toiletry items like you would normally find in a hotel. We had some difficulty getting the air conditioning on in the evening hours despite several attempts. I think they are programmed to turn off during the night, a practice that I've found common in most of Europe. The free wifi signal was too weak to use in our room so we bought minutes on a card and used the two computers in the reception area. Access to the resort is controlled by a guard and a gate. There is assigned covered parking but it was a lengthy distance to our unit even though we were allowed to come closer for loading/unloading. There were lots of families with small children on the property so apparently it is a good place for that but I was there for a completely different kind of vacation; I was part of a very large group attending the Croatia Salsa Festival. The Amarin was able to handle a huge number of adults dancing away long hours around the pool for several days. I think they did a fantastic job of accommodating such varied demands. Check-out time is at 10am. My request for a later check-out was given but for a considerable fee. Overall, I would stay here again but now I'm prepared for what to expect, hopefully, now you are too!

Room Tip: I don't think many, if any, of the rooms have much of a view. There are many trees which block...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheryl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meerssen, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

I stayed at Amarin in June, 2013, and chose the Premium 6p. apartment together with a friend to visit the Croatia Summer Salsa Festival. The premium apartments are brand new, and still smelled of fresh paint. The 6p. apartment has two bedrooms; very comfortable for a party of up to 4 (two couples, family with kids). With 6, it might get a little tighter (there's one bathroom with one sink). Beds are on the harder side. Check in and check out were efficient. Cleaning service wasn't included in the price though.
Everything was clean and well equipped. Enough storage space, and essentials for cooking. Beach and pool are ok, if only a little crowded. It can be difficult to get sun loungers and the beach is pebbly, so bring thick beach mats. There's a lovely view of Rovinj from the beach. Haven't used the restaurant, so cannot comment on the food. Pizza's and sweet treats looked good though.
I'd recommend a car if you like to visit the surrounding area; Rovinj town is a 10 minute drive away.
Note that in late June / early July, the resort usually hosts the Croatia Summer Salsa Festival. A great party of you love to dance, but if you don't like salsa you might want to avoid Amarin during that time so make sure to check before you book for the 2014 season.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen82_NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013 via mobile

The Amarin resort is newly renovated and it surprized me pleasantly - so sweet & beautiful appartments with terraces, covered parking places. I was in clean cosy appartment studio for 2, with own fully equiped kitchen, terrace with furniture and sea view to the city Rovinj. The beach is near with amazing sea sidewalk. By the restaurant are swimming pools, mini golf, rent-a-bike. Helpful and kind stuff. the food in restaurant is good. Minus- wi-fi internet only around reception and restaurant. 5 km away from the city Rovinj. I will surely come back!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea2310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rovinj hotels
0.5 mi away
Family Hotel Amarin
Family Hotel Amarin
#3 of 23 in Rovinj
189 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#6 of 23 in Rovinj
972 reviews
3.4 mi away
Island Hotel Istra
Island Hotel Istra
#5 of 23 in Rovinj
988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hotel Monte Mulini
Hotel Monte Mulini
#1 of 23 in Rovinj
765 reviews
2.2 mi away
Island Hotel Katarina
Island Hotel Katarina
#8 of 23 in Rovinj
239 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Lone
Hotel Lone
#4 of 23 in Rovinj
1,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Resort Amarin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resort Amarin

Property: Resort Amarin
Address: T.N.Monsena 2, Rovinj 52210, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Istria > Rovinj
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Rovinj
#11 Luxury Hotel in Rovinj
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Resort Amarin 4*
Number of rooms: 461
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cascading gently towards the rocky beaches and the turquoise sea, the Amarin Resort offers the privacy of your own home with a great view of the Old Town in lush nature just minutes away from the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Resort Amarin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Amarin Hotel Rovinj
Tourist Settlement Amarin Rovinj
Amarin Rovinj

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing