We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amateurish reception, but some positives”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Resort Villas Rubin
Ranked #19 of 23 Hotels in Rovinj
Reviewed 4 July 2014

A huge tourist complex left mixed feelings and some bad taste. On arrival we were unplesantly surprised, because we didn' get the appartment we reserved and prepaid for, but the receptionist was confident, that no other room is available and that we better express our dissatisfaction to portal booking.com (our booking provider). Than we asked for extra towel and for maid to come to prepare the additional bed, but we waited more than one hour (until 9 PM!) for someone to show. Maids came only once in next three days, to make beds and change towels, so on other days we had to ask for fresh ones...
Also, wi-fi covered only areas near restaurants and reception...
On the other side, we were pleasantly surprised at rich breakfast, and even after 10 AM (the end of breakfast) there was everything on offer. Also, location is super arranged and the pool is modern and well equiped. All in all, there were some positives, and maybe, just maybe, we will give the resort another try.

Room Tip: Appartments in the vicinity of the coast are the best, equiped with air condition.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maistra-Croatia, Public Relations Manager at Resort Villas Rubin, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Boris S,

Thank you for choosing to stay in Villas Rubin and for sharing your review about your recent stay. Before I go any further I would like to point out that all feedback- negative or positive is greatly appreciated as it helps us identify areas requiring improvement as well as provides assurance on the things we do well.
We are so sorry to read that you have left our property with mixed feelings and that the apartment assigned to you did not meet your expectations. We try to resolve all guest complaints on the spot and we regret that you were instructed to express your dissatisfaction to your booking provider as that does not reflect our standards and polices. We will make sure such advices from our staff are not given in future. However, I believe you were offered an upgrade with some extra charge involved, but refused it.

On a more positive note, we are truly glad that you have enjoyed our breakfast. We have recently revised the quality of our offer and are pleased to read that our effort in improving the breakfast selection has been noticed. The pool area with the adjacent Restaurant was completely renovated last winter and really brought our offer to a higher level, thank you for noticing!
We hope that you will keep your promise and give our resort another try as we want to make sure all our guests have a great experience. To avoid possible misunderstandings in future, we would like to invite you to contact our reservation department on info@maistra.hr, our team will make sure to provide you with the type of accommodation that will best suit your needs.

Thank you once again for being our guest
We hope to welcome you and your family soon again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (212)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 212 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2013

Park is beautiful. That is the positive side.

But when we arrived to our room, we both thought that is NOT what we expected. You know, when you arrive with nice expectations and after a long journey, and it is simply not a nice place.
All buildings are really ugly from inside and from outside even more.
Rooms are everything but charming. One plus point: very nice brand-new looking bathrooms.

Bed problem: The call their twin beds as "double" beds!!!! They have no double beds at all!!! Even the frames are separate, so do not chose it if you would like to be with your partner :-(

View from the room: parking cars :-( You do not feel you are on vacation with a beautiful view.

Breakfast is included in the price. The most terrible scrambled eggs (most probably mixed with lots of water) and sausage rolls (poorest-cheapest) of my whole life. Looks nice and tastes terrible. Cold breakfast is OK. Coffe poor, fruit juice from the machine is undrinkable.

There are lots of people, do not expect a calm or peaceful place!!!
Rooms are cleaned every day, nice cleaning ladies.

Animation programs, music on the beach in the evenings are big plus points.

Room Tip: My advice is: choose another place.

Room Tip: Chose another place which has a nice view on the see and calmer
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Agnes F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

Stayed for two days with boyfriend, postseason, included breakfast and dinner.

location is really great, wonderfull bay, just a bit outside the city (and I consider Rovinj to be one of the most beautifull little towns ever), did not take a swiim, just sunbath, so don't know whats the sea entrance like.

accomodation is in rooms or bungalows, we took bungalow. great size, nice terrace, full equipment, but pretty old and shabby. lousy mattreasess, did not get any sleep, no air conditioning, which can be a problem in hot summer days. lousy toilet paper (smells awfull!). food in restaurant is basic, not so much choice, medium quality, for breakfast too many oliy and greasy food, if I had to eat there for couple of days, couldn't. swimpool area also old, needs renovation.

reception crew polite, but no genuine interes for guest. crew in restaurant really friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank antea p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Its one of those vacations that I want to forget asap. Rooms are old, mattresses not comfortable at all for sleep, staff don't care less for any complains, no matter how many times u go and repeat it to them, food is awful, worst food ever! All in all wouldn't recommend it even to my worst enemy.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Villa Rubins look like they haven't been touched since the 70s with cobwebs in the corners and an overgrown garden with unmown grass. Sports facilities are good apart from the swimming pool which is also shabby. Staff said what do you expect for the money but it is not particularly cheap.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Fox-out-and-about
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

It is a small vacation village with it's own rocky, gravelly and concrete beaches. We haven't stayed in their villas/apartments but we went to their beaches which we really liked - they were safe, clean and quite.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arcadie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2010

Be careful of apartments type A, there are no real photos on websides. In actual fact are apartments horrible, very very old, dirty and smelly. There are no windows downstairs, bathroom is terrible as well. They look like prison. We were very dissapointed

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
14  Thank kaspae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rovinj hotels
3.9 mi away
Resort Amarin
Resort Amarin
#15 of 23 in Rovinj
300 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Monte Mulini
Hotel Monte Mulini
#1 of 23 in Rovinj
834 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#6 of 23 in Rovinj
1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Family Hotel Amarin
Family Hotel Amarin
#3 of 23 in Rovinj
257 reviews
2 mi away
Island Hotel Katarina
Island Hotel Katarina
#8 of 23 in Rovinj
256 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Lone
Hotel Lone
#4 of 23 in Rovinj
1,490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Resort Villas Rubin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resort Villas Rubin

Address: Vilas Rubin 1, Rovinj 52210, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Istria > Rovinj
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Rovinj
Price Range: £62 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Resort Villas Rubin 3*
Number of rooms: 357
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only a few kilometers south of Rovinj, you will find Villas Rubin, a serene retreat blended harmoniously with the coastline in the shade of pines and olive groves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Resort Villas Rubin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas Rubin Hotel Rovinj
Rubin Hotel Rovinj
Rubin Resort Rovinj

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing