We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel”
Review of Casa Garzotto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa Garzotto
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Rovinj
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2013

The hotel is in two beautiful old buildings that were clean and charming. The reception room is filled with antique photos and maps on beautiful stone walls. Our room was in the attic of a separate building, and was very spacious and clean. We were greeted with homemade brandy, breakfast food was terrific, and we were able to use the hotel's loaner bicycles for a full day. Rovijn is a terrific vacation spot, and if I'm ever lucky enough to go back, I'll definitely stay at Casa Garzotto.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (257)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 257 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2013

Casa Garzotto is a collection of several apartments inside the city walls of Roving, Croatia. We stayed in a two bedroom apartment (Casa Montabano) and enjoyed it. The pictures on the website are accurate and the apartment is clean. The furnishings are simple, but in good condition. Breakfasts are outstanding. The hosts are very helpful and provided good information about the many recreation choices in and around Rovinj. We particularly enjoyed riding the hotel's bicycles around the Rovinj countryside. We noticed that there were several modern hotels outside the inner-city of Roving, and I'm sure those hotels are nice too, but Casa Garzotto is a top choice if you wish to stay in the inner city.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skirooster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Casa Garzotto is located in the heart of the old city of Rovinj. If you are looking for an authentic, personal experience you have to stay here. The staff was so helpful in getting our bags to and from the hotel to our car (since you can't drive in the old city), as well, as getting our car when we wanted to drive and explore the rest of the Istra area. It is quick walk to all parts of the old city, to the port, the beach, the restaurants, market and shops. You are int eh middle of it all. The room was small, but perfect. The bed was comfortable and we had a window looking out over the streets of the old city. The breakfast was delicious and the staff was extremely helpful in finding and setting up any thing we were interested in doing in or around town. The staff and location made our stay one we will never forget. Its been a while since a town has won my heart over like this and Casa Garzotto was a big part in doing that!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Centrally located which is great since no cars allowed in old town. For us that was a great feature. The staff, especially Mateo were helpful which is very important since the stairs in Garzotto are very steep. It would have been very difficult for me and my wife (in our 60's) to get our luggage up to our room on the third floor. Room was quiet and woke up to birds singing in the morning. You can walk to everything from the hotel - very convenient.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank bwthird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Rovinj is a wonderful little seaside town and Casa Garzotto is a great place to stay. It's quirky but that's exactly what I loved about it. There's one main building, a second building a few short blocks away that also has rooms (somewhat smaller from what I hear), and then a third place around the block where you have breakfast. If this sounds weird or unpleasant, it's anything but. We stayed in the main building on the third floor; our friends stayed above us in the garret on the fourth floor. The stairs are long and steep but the staff carries your luggage up and down and, frankly, all hill towns require a lot of uphill walking. The rooms were large and the furnishings were very old-world and eclectic, as if you were truly staying in a local home. There was air conditioning and the bathroom was new. The breakfasts were great and in a very charming little building with an open-air roof in one room. And the staff were incredible: They were accommodating, informative, helpful and just could not have been more hospitable. As a bonus, they have a fleet of sturdy bicycles for the guest's use and we used these to bike around the port and through the pines to find a quiet spot on the rocks by the water. It was heaven. I can't recommend Casa Garzotto any more highly.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

we booked Casa Garzotto having read other reviews on Trip Advisor and we were not disappointed
excellent facilities although a bit of hassle when you arrive waiting to be collected from the car park
staff were very friendly and helpful and excellent breakfast was served

Room Tip: Hotel kindly upgraded us to an apartment to help celebrate my wife's 60th birthday
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lewisNassington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013 via mobile

We got the Venezia Lines ferry from Venice, arriving at 10pm. To our surprise Matteo and Martina were there to meet us and to escort us (and our bags) to the hotel. This was a very kind gesture and, as we were to find out, very typical of the staff at Casa Garzotto.

Our newly decorated room was spacious and its location was superb for exploring Rovinj. The staircase up to the room was pretty steep. This didn't bother us but might be an issue for less able people. In any case Matteo was on hand to lift our bags all the way to the top!

When we mentioned our plans about getting a bus to Pula, Martina insisted that she get us all the bus times from the local station! Within a couple of hours she had produced a list of bus times for us and left it in our room. The staff could not be more friendly or willing to go out of their way to help. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Breakfast was great. The town of Rovinj is stunning and I would recommend hiring some bikes and venturing down the forest nearby. Kn 5/p/hr seemed to be the best rate, from the kiosk at the car park beside the ferry terminal.

One issue would be the poor WiFi reception in our room, but this is just a small thing.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GMcLorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rovinj hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Adriatic
Hotel Adriatic
#2 of 23 in Rovinj
276 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Angelo d'Oro
Hotel Angelo d'Oro
#7 of 23 in Rovinj
172 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Monte Mulini
Hotel Monte Mulini
#1 of 23 in Rovinj
824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#6 of 23 in Rovinj
1,011 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Lone
Hotel Lone
#4 of 23 in Rovinj
1,435 reviews
1.6 mi away
Island Hotel Istra
Island Hotel Istra
#5 of 23 in Rovinj
1,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Garzotto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Garzotto

Address: Garzottijeva Ulica - Via Garzotto 8, Rovinj 52210, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Istria > Rovinj
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Rovinj
#4 Family Hotel in Rovinj
#10 Luxury Hotel in Rovinj
Price Range: £91 - £206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Garzotto 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Agoda, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Casa Garzotto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Garzotto Rovinj
Casa Garzotto Hotel Rovinj

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing