We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely restaurant in the old town”
Review of driocastel

driocastel
Ranked #36 of 179 Restaurants in Rovinj
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Restaurant details
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“lovely restaurant in the old town”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

very nice location and atmosphere within the small restaurant.
the food was excellent and the lady that served us was so nice and helpful.
would definitely recommend to anyone visiting Rovinj, and its great value. suitable for family, friends or couples.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    24
    9
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leyland,United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“worth finding”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

this is a very small little restaurant that is far more oldy worldy croatia than touristy ! if your after a party atmos this place isnt for you, but if your after a more traditonal feel to an evening with good food then well worth giving this place a try. its not the easiest to find mind ! and i cant remember its street name, but its on the cobbled back street, one street up from the outdoor market. or from the other direction its on the lovely coastal lane that passes under st euphemia basilica. try and find it anyway. the street its on is marvellous anyway.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank SpikeSeasider50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruges, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, wonderful atmosphere!”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We discovered this place walking by in the direction of the church. It only has about ten tables (max) and we ate a 3 course dinner inluding a liter of water and wine and only paid 70 euros for the 2 of us! Food was fresh out of the sea, and was delicious. We ordered the fish platter for our main course and were not dissappointed. The panna cotta with truffle - the local speciality - was superb. Service was excellent and very kind. The setting is so cosy you feel like you're invited to someone's house. We would go back immediately.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheRockette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A hidden Diamond”
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

We had a wonderful meal. Outstanding taste, very nice environment, very favourable price. A place to visit for a nice evening.

Jan

Helpful?
Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Tiny but delicious”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

There are hundreds of restaurants in Rovinj, but we found a delightful little cafe. Just off the main street as your wend your way up the hill to Santa Euphemia, the Konoba Driocastel is perfect for a leisurely lunch or dinner. The proprietor, Seka, greets you with a smile and a warm welcome. We had seafood salad, pasta with truffle sauce, and a shrimp risotto. The risotto was the best I have ever eaten, even in many trips to Italy. Highly recommended.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Larry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed driocastel also viewed

 
Rovinj, Istria
 

Been to driocastel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing