We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly People, Wonderful Views”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Villa Irena

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Trogir
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Villa Irena
Ranked #11 of 124 Speciality Lodging in Trogir
Long Eaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly People, Wonderful Views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2010

Mark and his family made us feel very welcome in our first visit to Croatia. For a small charge, Mark picked us up from the airport, always the best idea if you are new to a country/location, and took us straight to the apartments.

We stayed in apartment 3. The rooms were very clean and well appointed, and the beds very comfortable. They were serviced on a daily basis with clean towels etc as needed.

The air-conditioning worked fine when we needed it.

5 minutes walk away is the beach front, where you will find small bars/restaurants and plenty of places to book trips/watersports/kyaks and inland excusions, such as trips to the kyrka national park (definately recommend that you go there).

The views from the balcony were fantastic, you can see Trogir and the island of Ciovo opposite, as well as the multitude of small boats that travel in and out of the bay.

The swimming pool was clean and there were plenty of sub-beds around the pool.

The best bits:
Sitting on the balcony in the evening with a chilled wine and the stars
Taking water taxi into Trogir from the quay (about 10 mins walk away)

The worst bits:
The chairs on the balcony,whilst decorative, can be a bit hard after a while. Some relaxers would be good.
The kitchen would benefit from a microwave

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank billywhiz_69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    7
    0
    7
    0
See reviews for
26
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Uk
Level Contributor
68 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2010

I spent 10 days at Villa irena with three friends. We were a little concerned before arriving after reading some of the reviews on this site but how wrong they were. Here is a summary of the best bits -
- Mark, Irena and the whole family were flexible, warm, friendly and fun. There was no sign of strict rules - we respected their villa and had a massive amount of fun in return
- The whole complex is beautifully kept and the pool is stunning.
- Playing tennis was also great fun although this is 50 Kuna per match
- The restaurants nearby are great and the waiters were very friendly, especially if you show a bit of willing and try to learn a few words of Croatian
- Trogir is a 30 min water taxi ride away and is stunning
The worst bits...
- Air con is only in the lounge and the weather was so warm it took us a few days to find the best ways to cool the flat down.
- The villa is outside of Trogir and although there are plenty of bars and restaurants (and a couple of dodgy discos) this won't suit you if you are there just to party.

The holiday we had in Villa Irena was superb and in particular Mark made our stay. We will remember him for a long time to come and hope to see him again some time in the future...

P.s. warning...do not drink anything that the locals call petrol...I still have the scars :)

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank luceeann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dragoer, Denmark
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2010

Try sitting on the terasse of Appt. # 2 in the evening for a homecooked meal, sipping cool Croatian wine and overlooking the Trogir bay, with the sun setting. Life doesn't get much better than that. Villa Irena is clean, well functioning, perfectly located and managed by two of the nicest people you can imagine: Irena and Mark. You get a great pool, with a deck and plenty of sunchairs. You can access a first class tennis court, work out every morning on their equipment in the shade before the temperature rises, have your car parked right on your doorstep in the shade, and walk 5 minutes down the hill to the sea-side with small restaurants serving great, inexpensive food for lunch or dinner. But first and foremost - go there for a place managed with efficiency and friendlyness.
Anne-Louise, Jesper, Hanne and Henrik, Denmark

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krogen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2010

I organised a group of 25 people to stay in Villa Irena, and it has to be one of the best weekend's we have ever had. I dealt with Mark for about 6 months leading up to our arrival. He was patient, helpful and a pleasure to deal with - despite my relentless question-asking! Prior to the trip he recommended and booked restaurants, boats and transfers - all at a good price. We were met at the airport, and looked after for the three days that we were there. The villa is beautiful - the views are amazing - and the town itself is great fun. I'm already thinking about my next trip there. Thoroughly, thoroughly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hove
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2009

We had a wonderful holiday at Villa Irena. The rooms were excellent and the views from the balcony were stunning.
The beach is only 250m away and it offers crystal clear water ideal for watersports.
Trogir is a beautiful place with excellent restaurants and nightlife. There really is something for everyone.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlbionHove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2009

Villa Irena provided our family with 2 of the most perfect holidays we've had. In 2007 our family (2 teenage daughters, my husband & I) had a wonderful time. Irena is so very welcoming, the apartments and facilities are spotlessly clean. The views from the upper apartments and the pool area are breathtaking. The location is superb - a 5 minute walk down a slightly rough path to a long expanse of beach which is clean and has an array of restaurants and bars in peak season. Trogir is about 2km away - there is a water taxi about 15 mins walk away to take you to this lovely medievil city. We did hire a car which helped with grocery shopping and visits to the city although isn't essential. In 2008 we returned with 2 other families - this worked so well as we all had our own apartments but shared the balconies and pool facilties for eating & drinking. Probabley not an ideal choice for families with very young children or very loud & gregarious children as the atmosphere around the villa is very relaxing. We'd go again any summer!
Julie, Buckinghamshire

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank josephine1940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, England
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2009

Really concerned after reading previous reviews from a similar sized party to ourselves.
But think they must have been staying elsewhere!!!
Mark and Irena could not have been more accommadating and friendly in making our stay a truly memorable experience. We booked 4 of the 5 appartments each having a balcony overlooking the magnificent view.
The nearby old town of Trigor is not only beautiful but also has many excellent restaurants and bars. A must do is the live music entertainment that is provided in the main square Tuesday and Thursday nights which always ended with the entire audience "Dancing in the street".

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crofax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trogir
1.8 mi away
Aparthotel Bellevue
Aparthotel Bellevue
#1 of 10 in Trogir
5.0 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Jadran
Hotel Jadran
#1 of 3 in Donji Seget
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
1.9 mi away
XII Century Heritage Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Brown Beach House Hotel & Spa
1.7 mi away
Apartmani Trogir
Apartmani Trogir
#2 of 54 in Trogir
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
2.4 mi away
Apartments Villa Goja
Apartments Villa Goja
#14 of 54 in Trogir
5.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Irena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Irena

Property: Villa Irena
Address: Hrvatskih zrtava 171, Trogir 21218, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Trogir
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 124 Speciality Lodging in Trogir
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Irena is a family owned property located in fisherman's village SEGET Donji just 1,5km from the centre of Trogir. Villa is composed out of five self contained apartment units sharing a common swimming pool area. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing