We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Booking.com
US$51
View deal
Expedia.com
US$80
View deal
Free cancellation until 22/05/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
TravelocityUS$80
Destinia.com
Orbitz.comUS$80
View all 9 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (85)
Filter reviews
85 results
Traveller rating
42
34
3
1
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
42
34
3
1
5
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 85 reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2008

What a fabulous little find this place is! Modern, stylish boutique style rooms in the most gorgeous and relaxing surroundings. Our room faced the marina with beautiful Trogir as the backdrop, and the garden below with it's palms, flowers and stunning sculptures just added to the tranquil feel. We had organised car hire prior to our arrival and collected our car from Split airport as soon as our bags were ready. Trogir was very easy to find, as was the Domus. The only problem we had was trying to find a parking space at the rear of the hotel. Thankfully the Domus owners allowed us to park right behind their main gates until a space became available. We became a little more street savy after that and this was the one and only time we had a problem. Our stay lasted 2 weeks, during which time the personable experience made us feel like special guests in a home and not just "some other" hotel visitors. The owners were incredibly hospitable and extended us every courtesy. As a converted palace the upper floors house the rooms and are beautifully decorated incorporating the original features of the building and very modern and quirky decor. We were grateful for the aircon as it was unusually warm throughout our stay, and the rooms were cleaned thoroughly every day. Breakfast was served each morning in the garden and even though we were quite late some mornings there was never a time limit imposed. Every day we were welcomed with enthusiasm and friendly conversation. The food quality was excellent as was the service, and on one occasion we were even treated to a fabulous home cooked meal in the evening courtesy of the owners. Though Trogir was our base we also explored the island of Ciovo as well as the surrounding towns and beaches. Split is approx 20 minutes drive while Dubrovnik took us around 4 hours due to quite heavy Sunday traffic (you need to take passports with you when driving to Dubrovnic as the main road cuts through Bosnia.) Boat trips which take in the numerous beaches and islands as well as the main towns and cities can be caught from the marina (Trogir side). The walk across the bridge took us a matter of minutes which is also handy as there are dozens of bars and restaurants in Trogir which are easily accessible from the hotel. I really can't praise the owners or the hotel enough; we know from previous experience how accommodation can make or break a holiday and the Domus Maritima truly made ours a wonderful and memorable occassion.

Date of stay: June 2008
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank b2wd
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 September 2007

Thought the Domus Maritima was perfect for our needs - a spacious room in a great location, minutes walk from the old town yet quiet enough for a good night's sleep.

The room was well equipped with a really nice tiled bathroom! Breakfast was great and it was lovely to sit outside in the terrace area to eat. The host was very helpful as were the other people we spoke to there.

Would definitely recommend for a visitor to Trogir.

Date of stay: September 2007
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisanich
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 July 2007

We stayed here for a night.

We had a delightful room, overlooking the garden and harbour/marina. The room was spacious. Excellent shower, air conditioned and had a nice balcony.

The owners lived on the bottom floor. It was all very casual. You kind of have to wander about to 'check in' and find the owner but that is the charm of staying with families in my opinion!

The gardens were well kept. Breakfast was served here which was nice (you can pay 5 euros for this).

The location was excellent. It overlooked the harbour. To get to the old town, you just walk over the bridge and you're there. Takes you five minutes maximum.

A really nice place to stay in what is a charming little town.

Date of stay: July 2007
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AgeEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 July 2007

A very nice place to stay in Trogir. Very close to the old town, but on quiet place. Nice, clean rooms with vivid colours and plesent furniture. The hotel is family run, therefore they do their best to serve the guests. We were there on honeymoon and got fresh flowers in the room which was very nice from them. We can only offer Domus Maritima for everyone looking for a plesent stay in Trogir.

Date of stay: June 2007
    • Value
Thank tomopix
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 October 2006

We stayed here in August. It was away from the old town of Trogir which was great as it was much quieter. There is a little taxi boat outside the hotel who brings you over & back every 10mins or so & is very very cheap, and a very nice way to get accross to the city especially at night when the castle is lit up!!!
The hotel itself was a little strange & scattered. I had to wander around to find somebody so i could check in. There is no reception & I felt I was intruding into the family home to ask basic questions.... The room was lovely & had been modernised & had a lovely balcony & view over the gardens & water. There was an awful smell though & was unable to find anyone to complain to about it.! Breakfast was ok for a fiver , (but had to be eaten outside as there were no facilites inside)& the waitress I found very pleasent & the most helpful member of staff. Give her a rise!!!!
Make sure you get a room with balcony overlooking gardens, as busy ugly road at back of hotel.
All in all it is a nice hotel (really a B&B), lovely old building, but the staff / family members need to wake up a bit..!!

Date of stay: August 2006
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UpCavan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews