We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value and location”

Palace Stafileo Apartments
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Palace Stafileo Apartments
Ranked #17 of 124 Speciality Lodging in Trogir
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good value and location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

We rented a studio in Trogir with the Stafileo properties for 60 euros/night, and it was just what we needed. We were glad to have a kitchenette to save some on meals, since it is an expensive town for eating out. The apartment was right smack-dab in the middle of Trogir old town on a small, quiet street away from nightclubs and the esplanade, but within an easy walk from everything. The room was bright and functional, though slightly cramped between the dining table and the kitchenette. The beds were comfortable. We had a large double and a pull-out sofabed for our daugher. All of the facilities worked, except the wifi connection. We often had to go down into the common courtyard to get on-line, but it is a delightful place to hang out anyway. The only thing I would say about the bathroom is that the water temperature was a bit tricky to regulate. The water suddenly gets very hot at the flick of the wrist, so don't let your kids play with the taps. Also, the tub is quite high up, which might pose a problem for some elderly guests.
One disadvantage to staying in a quaint place in the old town is access. If you drive there, you park in a public parking lot outside the city walls, trundle your luggage over a high footbridge and then down the cobblestone paths to the rental office. It's worth it, though, and the problem is the same whatever lodging you get in that area. Also, they give you a free parking pass, which you take back to the parking lot with you to re-enter.
We were a bit dismayed to find that they generally can't do your laundry for you, at least not in the high season, when it's all they can do to wash their linens. There were only a couple of launderettes in the vicinity, and they were all overwhelmed and couldn't take our load within the three days we were there. I wound up hand-washing our clothes in a big sink in the downstairs laundry room and hung them out in the courtyard. The weather was hot and dry, so I was able to take it all in the same day.
Marina and her father were very nice and helpful. You can tell that they're in this business for the people and not just for the money. They genuinely want you to have a pleasant stay.
Lively but relatively quiet Trogir makes an excellent base to explore the area. Split is an easy daytrip via catamaran, and you can also do excursions to some national parks farther afield. Srebenik is also easily reached from there.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JenInMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    19
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
35
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, CA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

We stayed one week at the Stafileo this summer and had a wonderful time. Marina and her father were very welcoming and were most helpful throughout our visit, and the place was relaxingly quiet. The rooms are clean and updated, with beautiful marble staircases complimenting the historic architecture. We shopped at the local market every day and the Stafileo was like a home away from home in lovely (and steaming hot) Trogir.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vjmelzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, England
Level Contributor
117 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012

Just returned from a wonderful week in Trogir staying at the Palace Stafileo apartments. We've stayed several times in the Trogir area but these apartments are certainly the best for location and ambiance. Lovely old building with so much character. We had a spacious apartment with a lovely bathroom. Clean and so well maintained. Clean towels every day. Loved the inner courtyard which we found ideal for a coffee at the end of the day or a drink before going out for a meal.What really made it for us though was the helpful and warm welcome from Marina and her Dad for which nothing was too much trouble. Can well recommend the Palace Stafileo.

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor which was fine. Some reviewers complained about the bells but they nev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hood1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2011

We stayed at Palace Stafileo twice in September- on the 2 September and then again on 10 and 11 September after a week's sailing with Sunail in the area north of Kremick. The party consisted of 2 couples and then our adult daughter joined us on the 10 September. So , we had 3 apartments in all.
Marina and her dad who speak English were hospitable and informative- helping us with transfers etc.The building is in a great location - accessible to all the attractions that the walled town of Trogir has to offer. The apartments were clean and comfortable . We stayed in the renovated section and were happy with the bathrooms, kitchenette etc. We were very grateful for the air conditioning as it was very hot.

As has been mentioned in a previous review- Trogir is an ap-pealing(!) town and the bells will most probably be heard from any location in the old city. We would not hesitate to stay at Palace Stafileo on our return to Croatia.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BumbleBeeCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mykonos, Greece
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2011

This is great choice in old Trogir. Wonderful, helpful staff who were willing to assist in any way possible. The facility is run by a father and daughter who speak very good English. The rooms are spacious as are the bathrooms and are immaculate. The only reservation I would note are the bells which strat ringing about 5:30 AM, but I suspect they are audible anywhere you stay on the old town.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimmyD41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2011

was a bit hard to find in the middle of the winding streets of the Trogir old town, but once we found it we were amazed by the history of the building (15th century palace), but it was still modern enough inside. the location is superb and close to everything (including only 5 min drive from the airport).

it is hard to find, aircon was very noisy so had to turn off at night.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chromo69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton
Level Contributor
101 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2011

Brilliant location, centrally situated in the back streets of Trogir.
We stayed in the old building and our room was decorated according to the period. Beamed ceilings and very 'Victorian' wall decoration.
Spotlessly clean with what appeared to be a new kitchenette.
It was a really pleasant surprise.
Staff very friendly and helpful.
Split airport is only about 6 km away.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SnowyP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Trogir hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Tragos
Hotel Tragos
#4 of 10 in Trogir
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aparthotel Bellevue
Aparthotel Bellevue
#1 of 10 in Trogir
5.0 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Pasike
Hotel Pasike
#6 of 10 in Trogir
4.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Apartmani Trogir
Apartmani Trogir
#2 of 55 in Trogir
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Sv. Petar
Villa Sv. Petar
#4 of 55 in Trogir
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Monika
Hotel Monika
#1 of 55 in Trogir
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palace Stafileo Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace Stafileo Apartments

Property: Palace Stafileo Apartments
Address: Budislaviceva 7, Trogir 21220, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Trogir
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 124 Speciality Lodging in Trogir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Palace Stafileo Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Palace Stafileo Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing