We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very expensive”
Review of Hotel Ihusi

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Goma
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Ihusi
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Goma
Reviewed 1 July 2013 via mobile

This hotel is not so old but looks weary and tired. The rooms are big and somewhat clean but the amenities are old and in need of repair.
The location is very close to the border and seems like a safe environment.
Vegetarians like me will not have a wide selection of food (but that's generally most of DRC for you).
Splurging the extra for the lake-facing rooms is worth it. They have a spectacular view and the waves lapping will lull you to sleep.
Mozzie and lake-flies are abundant so carry necessary repellant.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samdave69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (102)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 102 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2013

Just stayed 6 nights at Ihus, $120 per nighti. For 3 of the 6 days hotel internet service was out of action. No explanation by front desk staff who were totally apathetic. My contacts in the city of Goma told me their internet worked well during that time.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LouisvilleJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2013

Goma can be an insecure city. Ihusi is 200m from the Rwanda border so chosen by many people because of its proximity to the border. The entrance, courtyard and reception are bright and relatively modern but the rooms are tired and out of date. The bathrooms are poorly designed. No wireless internet, but there is an ethernet cable in the room.....mine did not work. There is a pool and tennis courts and plenty of seating outside. The restaurant is OK but I think it is expensive, you can get better value elsewhere. I moved out after a couple of days and stayed elsewhere for 10 days. If you want to be near the border or you want a pool and tennis courts, there a better value places to go.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geoffandre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

If you can secure a room on an upper level directly overlooking the lake then the Ihusi is not bad. One of the pricier hotels in town, the internet works (albeit slow), the pool is clean enough to do a few laps, the TV picks up CNN, France 24 and a couple of movie channels, the breakfast is edible and site secure. Rooms are clean, bed comfortable. All in all a good pick for Congo.

Room Tip: Room 57 is a big corner room overlooking the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KabulPastryChef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

I haven't stayed at Ihusi Hotel but I regularly go to the Lake-side bar and swimming pool and it is beautiful. Swimming Pool is sufficiently clean. If you are interested in a monthly pass for the swimming pool do ask for it, usually it is around USD 75/month, otherwise a single entrance is USD 10. Wi-fi also available for guests and it works very well. Only just a bit too expensive, but we're in Goma...

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank princessslisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012

The hotel is just OK but the bar(s) are lovely.
One on the lake with a view of the mountains in Rwanda, surrounded by a nice garden (also a fake lion!).
The other on the pool, nicely overlooking the garden.
Perfect place to stay in Goma and to enjoy the city.
Very close to Rwanda border.
The right place to have a Tembo a a nice salad!
Very friendly staffs.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marco8960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012

The hotel is respectable for Goma, but the location is exceptional. Really a little oasis with nice views from the room. The pool is nice and clean. The breakfast is not very good and the food prices in the restaurant are high. The room is ok with a decent bed, but the bathrooms need renovating. Overall decent value.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back towards the restaurant. The front rooms apparently get very noisy on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Suur_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goma
0.0 mi away
Hotel la Versaille
Hotel la Versaille
#3 of 3 in Goma
5 reviews
1.3 mi away
Lake Kivu Serena Hotel
Lake Kivu Serena Hotel
#2 of 6 in Gisenyi
252 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Paradis Malahide
Hotel Paradis Malahide
#1 of 6 in Gisenyi
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hill View Hotel Lake Kivu
0.0 mi away
Cap Kivu Hotel
Cap Kivu Hotel
#4 of 14 in Goma
13 reviews
1.1 mi away
Discover Rwanda Gisenyi Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ihusi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ihusi

Address: Boulevard Kanyamahanga, near Rwanda border, Goma, Democratic Republic of the Congo
Region: Democratic Republic of the Congo > North Kivu Province > Goma
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Goma
Price Range: £30 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 26
Also Known As:
Ihusi Hotel Goma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing