We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best in Goma”
Review of Hotel Ihusi

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Goma
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Ihusi
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Goma
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“One of the best in Goma”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

when travelling to the DRC, particularly in the east region, most of the travellers do apprehend to cross the border, as I need to accomodate and organise tours, I always advise the best option in the region.

Ihusi hotel is a top reference due to be close to the border.

Ihusi is build on pillars that are in the lake and you can enjoy a spectacular view in some rooms.
Jet set of Goma do prefere to have their meeting in that hotel, the food and services are excellent.

The only problem is the cost of rooms, between 120 to 200.

When travelling firstime in Goma, I will recommende that hotel just to be use to the climate of the region.

Hope that can help firstime travellers in Goma.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank injongi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    37
    33
    7
    9
See reviews for
3
6
8
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
105 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

"I don't think we are in Kansas any more Toto!"
Somewhere beyond the rainbow is Goma, DRC, and Ihusi seems to be the epicentre of NGO, UN, and government comings and goings.
Your chances of an impromptu meeting with any of the above are better at the restaurant or bar here than weeks working up the email chain.
The hotel is quite decent, though tired.
It reminded us of one of those rambling all-inclusives.
The grounds are quite lovely and well maintained.
Rooms are a real mish-mash of creepy to quaint, even in the same price category.
We saw three before we said 'okay'.
Options can often be limited so you must book in advance and even then there is no guarantee that the room you reserved will be waiting for you.
There will likely always be one available at a higher price!
Beds are comfy.
There's hot water.
Internet is spotty.
The staff are professional and aim to please.

Room Tip: Rooms are a real mish-mash of creepy to quaint, even in the same price category. Options can often b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ritajeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013 via mobile

I stayed in the hotel in Nov2013. The front desk was not really responsive to my requests. The room was not convenient at all, not well designed and dirty. The carpet was filthy and i did not understand why you would have a carpet in a humid place. On a more positive side, the breakfast, swimming pool and location were excellent. The view was also beautiful. They installed a bednet after i insisted. After four nights, i moved to another hotel and i really enjoyed the other place.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Moncef2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
49 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Compared to other places in the Congo, this is actually a decent hotel with its beautiful view of the lake (if you get a room that overlooks it of course.) Otherwise there is the pool and small pokey smelly gym that is filled to bursting after 5pm so get your exercise in another time.

Internet is very sketchy and there is little point in complaining. Westerners have certain expectations of service and facilities that should always be left at the door of any African hotel!

I found the breakfast to be one of the better points as it was both copious and with enough variety to satisfy most palettes.

Overall a clean hotel that is let down invariably by its poor internet and service.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FinnmaccoolHanoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goma, Democratic Republic of the Congo
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Although the setting of hotel Ihusi is lovely, I woudn't recommend staying here. On the second day I lost one of my sweaters. I told the reception and was told that I had probably lost it, as I had brought so much luggage. They didn't take me seriously and I never got the sweater back.
I was staying in the cheapest room (still 70 USD). Dark and without internet connection, even without phone network coverage. When asked if I could change, I was promised an upgrade. However, when I came back at the end of the day, I had not been upgraded to the promised room but to another one which still didn't have internet connection (only a weak signal outside on the terrace). On top of that the wheel of my suitcase was broken and they had of course not informed me, I had to find out myself.
Don't order food if you are in a hurry (or hungry). I waited one hour for a salad.

In short, poor service and no value for money.

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank 992Anna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kinshasa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights in July 2013. The internet never worked and the explanation that there was a small problem on which technicians were working quickly became stale. There is a big wedding here every weekend, so expect to be unable to use the pool and be bothered by constant, loud music. When I asked when this might stop the staff simply lied to make me go away and stop bothering them. The location is excellent, but overall there are far better hotels in Goma - the Linda just a few hundred meters away, or the Stella Matutina along the lake. Will only accept cash payments, so beware if you plan to pay with a card.

Room Tip: Ask to be in the block behind the tennis court overlooking the lake. Don't accept the first room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 27golf13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
98 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013 via mobile

This hotel is not so old but looks weary and tired. The rooms are big and somewhat clean but the amenities are old and in need of repair.
The location is very close to the border and seems like a safe environment.
Vegetarians like me will not have a wide selection of food (but that's generally most of DRC for you).
Splurging the extra for the lake-facing rooms is worth it. They have a spectacular view and the waves lapping will lull you to sleep.
Mozzie and lake-flies are abundant so carry necessary repellant.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samdave69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goma
0.0 mi away
Hotel la Versaille
Hotel la Versaille
#3 of 3 in Goma
3.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
1.3 mi away
Lake Kivu Serena Hotel
Lake Kivu Serena Hotel
#2 of 4 in Gisenyi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Paradis Malahide
Hotel Paradis Malahide
#1 of 4 in Gisenyi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
981.9 mi away
Kempinski Hotel Fleuve Congo
0.0 mi away
Cap Kivu Hotel
Cap Kivu Hotel
#4 of 11 in Goma
3.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
1.1 mi away
Discover Rwanda Gisenyi Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ihusi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ihusi

Property: Hotel Ihusi
Address: Boulevard Kanyamahanga, near Rwanda border, Goma, Democratic Republic of the Congo
Region: Democratic Republic of the Congo > North Kivu Province > Goma
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Goma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 26
Also Known As:
Ihusi Hotel Goma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing