We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond expectations”
Review of Cuyabeno Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cuyabeno Wildlife Reserve
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cuyabeno Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 May 2014

My husband, father in law and I just got back from an amazing 4 day trip to Cuyabeno Lodge. This really was a unique and "once in a lifetime" experience. Besides the mind blowing surroundings and the incredible excursions, visits and activities there were 2 things that really blew us all away (1) Our guide Roberto was absolutely incredible. He took such good care of us from the moment we stepped off the plane, right up until the very end. Roberto was perfectly bilingual, incredibly knowledgeable and so passionate about what he was doing, he really made the trip. He knows so much about everything and no question or request is too trivial. You never feel like you're bothering him for anything. Thank you so much Roberto. (2) The food was beyond expectations. Knowing that we were in the amazon jungle, far away from anything and everything, we set our expectations very low. Well, we were blown away. Every single meal was out of this world. By far the best food I've had in a long, long time.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tammy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CuayabenoLodge, Owner at Cuyabeno Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Thank you Tammy for your raving review. For us, owners of the lodge, that is the best reward we can get. We are happy to hear that you loved our food. When you are in the jungle, eating well is incredibly important, and we put a lot of effort into serving something different everyday. As a worldwide traveler, I am not happy eating standard food in a restaurant, and prefer real home cooking, and that is what we serve in our lodge. Our chef actually enjoys home cooking and is proud to serve something different every day, and he is incredibly creative in whipping up delicious meals. We ship in fresh vegetables, fruits, meat, fish and even milk, so that there always are enough ingredients that our clients can enjoy fabulous food.
But more important are our excursions and we do everything we can to have the best guides and update their knowledge. Our lodge is in the heart of the Cuyabeno Wildlife Reserve and through our programs, we are responsible the experience of the visitors to the park. As a lodge with a conservation biologist as one of the shareholders, we take our responsibility very seriously. Reading your raving review showed us that we are successful at that.
Thanks for visiting our Cuyabeno Lodge, Dr. Daan Vreugdenhil, wildlife ecologist and founding shareholder.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (181)
There are newer reviews for Cuyabeno Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 181 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2014

This place is just magic: eco lodges right in the heart of Amazon jungle! We had lots of interesting activities allowing us to enter into contact with the nature while respecting the environment. I also loved the visit of the Sinoa village and share good moment together! The whole package is very well designed. This is a good balance between the rest and the activities. The food was delicious and the staff is really friendly. We would love to return in the future!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank f z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CuayabenoLodge, Owner at Cuyabeno Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Getting such incredibly enthusiastic reviews is extremely rewarding for us as owners. When a couple of conservation biologists started with ecotours in 1986, to offer alternative livelihoods when the reserve was under great threat, we knew a few things from our own jungle experience: (1) when you are out in the jungle, it is very important to get a good balance between watching wildlife and rest, (2) in order to feel well in the jungle, one should eat well and enjoy one's food, and (3) that you are comfortable with the people who take care of you. We take great care that all these principles and more are abided by our staff. We ship in fresh meat and vegetables, real milk for coffee, delicious fruits and the famous Juan Valdez coffee.
But most importantly, the programs should be outstanding and we continuously work at improving our knowledge and train our staff.
Thank you for visiting Cuyabeno Lodge, Dr. Daan Vreugdenhil, wildlife biologist and founding shareholder

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We were, with only the two of us, in the Cuyabeno lodge with the guide Gilver Carreno & the staff.
And they made us feel like VIPS.
It was very, very special.
We had several canoetrips to the lago Grande... and the evening trip with the VIP treatment was an experience we will never forget.
When the jungle says goodbye to the day and goes to sleep and you watch/experience it in a kind of unbelievable light (little bit clouded with rays of Sunshine) and only junglenoises around, you get a real picture/feeling of how the world must have been before mankind arose.
Furthermore we saw 8 of the 9 types of monkeys (and heard the 9th one), an eagle clawing and eating a monkey, the most poisened frog at the world .... etc. etc. The staff made us really feel very welcome (as said we were the only guests) and prepared a first class meal every day... So.. from Holland: thank you again Gilver & all the staff of the Cuyabeno Lodge for this very special experience !

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hermworp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CuayabenoLodge, Owner at Cuyabeno Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Dear guests from Holland, it is so wonderful to read your raving review about our Cuyabeno Lodge. I am sure you are not aware of it, but in 1986 the idea for the Cuyabeno Lodge started when our founding member from the Netherlands - a conservation biologist - hosted a a group of 17 visitors from the Netherlands. At the time there was no accommodation in the Cuyabeno Wildlife Reserve and the areas was heavily threatened. In consultation with the Government we decided to build the first lodge in Cuyabeno so that eco-friendly tourism could provide alternative sustainable income to local communities, while providing a life-time experience to each and every visitor that would come to this paradise on Earth. It is so wonderful to read your raving review and telling the world how much you enjoyed your stay in one of the most beautiful Amazon parks in the world. Hartelijk dank voor jullie commentaar en als het even kan, vertel het aan vrienden en bekenden, opdat ook zij kunnen genieten van dit schitterende Amazone reservaat.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Anacondas, tarantulas, pink river dolphins, caymans, monkeys, the beautiful blue morpho butterfly, scarlet macaws, and the rare harpy eagle were among the animals we saw at Cuyabeno Lodge during our five day stay.

Upon arriving at the meeting point at Cuyabeno we were greeted by our wonderful guide Dario and an Amazonian thunderstorm, so we togged up in waterproof ponchos to make the two hour journey by motorized canoe to the lodge where weinstalled ourselves in the top floor room of the observation tower, which offers spectacular views of the tree canopy.

The schedule was full, but not exhausting. A good breakfast at 8am was followed by activities like hiking in the rain forest, bird and animal watching, night walks to observe insects, and swimming in the lagoon. My favourite things were a visit to the Siona indigenous community where we learned to make yuca bread from scratch (very good it was too) and paddling canoes along muddy tributaries while spotting wild life.

Food was varied and plentiful and the staff very pleasant. The weather varied from cool to hot and humid – just what you might expect in the rain forest. Highy recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CuayabenoLodge, Owner at Cuyabeno Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Getting such a raving review from one of Tripadvisor's top reviewers who wrote more than 35 reviews is quite an honor. Indeed, the Cuyabeno Wildlife Reserve is one of the best Amazon parks in the world, not only because it has the greatest number of species per hectare in the world, but you can actually see the wildlife. This is because you are on narrow - slow running - rivers and creeks, where you are surrounded by the forest, and yet these rivers give you enough of an opening in the canopy that the light penetrates down, which allows you to see animals and flowers. It is so good to read that a quarter century after we brought in our first group of visitors in 1986, Cuyabeno is still teeming with wildlife and that even very experienced travelers so thoroughly enjoy the park and our lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We just returned from 4 nights at Cuyabeno Lodge. We would highly recommend this lodge, largely because of our wonderful guide, Diego, who went out of his way to provide as many wildlife experiences as possible. It is extremely advantageous to be in a lodge on the Laguna Grande rather than the river, as we were able to paddle each evening (our choice) instead of motoring, and the swim each afternoon was very pleasant. We had the top room in the tower, and were glad we did as the rooms are nicer and much more private than in the cabanas. The rest of the staff went out of their way to be pleasant. The food was varied and perfectly adequate. Considering you are 2 1/2 hours from the closest road by canoe, the services are extraordinary. However we chose this lodge for its reputation for excellent guiding and conscientious ecological practices and our expectations were exceeded. Again, many many thanks go to Diego our extraordinary guide.

Room Tip: We thought the slightly higher price for the tower rooms was worth it.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dabers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CuayabenoLodge, Owner at Cuyabeno Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

It is always so rewarding to get such a positive feedback from an experienced traveler with so many reviews on Tripadvisor. Indeed, it is such an advantage being on a little island on the border of the lake. You don't need to sit for half an hour in a noisy motorized canoe to get to the lake, like the majority of the lodges located downstream from the lake. One can peddle the canoe if you chose so, or enjoy the silence of nature while gliding along and soaking up the landscape while our brandnew - almost inaudible - electrical engine gets you around comfortably. It is good to hear you enjoyed our food. In fact, our cook thoroughly enjoys cooking and prepares something different every day, totally from scratch using fresh vegetable, meet and/or fish. And then the coffee, to many the most important drink in the morning. We use the famous Valdéz brand and real milk; not nescafé and powder coffee as is served in so many places in Ecuador. With of our owners of European origin, we continuously evaluate both efficiency and visitor experience, while trying to keep the price at an affordable level - quite a challenge in the heart of the Amazon jungle. Thanks again for your valuable feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Professionnal guide, excellent accomodation, great program and marvellous food....
and the surronding is abolutely lovely, the laguna is peaceful and quiet, and so beautiful
I waana go back to cuyabeno Lodge

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank marcus3600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013 via mobile

To get there requires a flight to Lake Agrio, a two-hour bus ride, and a two-hour motorized canoe ride, but it is well worth it. The guide was great, as were the activities (day and night hikes, bird and animal watching from the canoe, swimming in the lagoon, a trip to an indigenous community). My only complaints are that the shower was too hot (scalding) and the vegetarian meals were not satisfying. The manager told me he would address these problems.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MEL17DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cuyabeno Wildlife Reserve
0.0 mi away
Tapir Lodge
Tapir Lodge
#3 of 4 in Cuyabeno Wildlife Reserve
68 reviews
0.0 mi away
Yarina Eco Lodge
Yarina Eco Lodge
#3 of 3 in Yasuni National Park
81 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jamu Lodge
Jamu Lodge
#4 of 9 in Cuyabeno Wildlife Reserve
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sani Lodge
Sani Lodge
#2 of 3 in Yasuni National Park
249 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cuyabeno River Lodge
Cuyabeno River Lodge
#7 of 9 in Cuyabeno Wildlife Reserve
53 reviews
0.0 mi away
Green Forest Ecolodge
Green Forest Ecolodge
#5 of 9 in Cuyabeno Wildlife Reserve
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cuyabeno Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cuyabeno Lodge

Address: Office 608 Av. Los Shyris N36-188 and Naciones Unidas, Edificio Shyris Park Park | 100 Meters South of the Mall "Quicentro Shopping", Cuyabeno Wildlife Reserve 17, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Sucumbios Province > Cuyabeno Wildlife Reserve
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Cuyabeno Wildlife Reserve
Hotel Class:3 star — Cuyabeno Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1989, the Cuyabeno Lodge was the first lodge in the park; the owners believed that the rainforest traveler should be accommodated in conditions which would be both in harmony with the surrounding environment and attuned to the needs of the modern visitor. At Neotropic Turis, we, the owners of the Cuyabeno Lodge, are the pioneers in the tourist operation and we built the first Eco friendly lodge in the Cuyabeno National Park. The Cuyabeno Lodge is one of two lodges located right on the lake and one of the few lodges that never gets flooded. We recently built a canopy watch tower and 3 new deluxe rooms. We have 24 hours electricity from solar energy, the only silent electrical motors in the park for excursions and hot showers. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cuyabeno Hotel Cuyabeno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing