We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a night!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Manso Boutique Guesthouse
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Perfect for a night!”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

...not because you couldn't stay longer, but because, you know, Guayaquil isn't the greatest place on earth to hang around. That said, it's clear that the staff take pride in running a clean and comfortable place. It was a welcome respite from the bustle of GYE, and we felt totally safe and secure. We stayed in the Cacao room - two twin beds, shared bathroom with one of the dormitories. The room was more than comfortable for two men and our packs. The beds are comfy, the linens are great quality and clean, and the air-conditioner is quiet and powerful. The hot shower was great, but they may want to work on the plumbing; our shared toilet didn't really flush. Brekkie is somewhat slim, so spring for the eggs et al for an extra $2 or so.

El Manso's location rocks; adjacent to the Malecón, 7 blocks from some great nightlife, and only 15 minutes ($5) from the airport. Stayed here twice, and it's the perfect overnight transit stop.

Room Tip: Traffic noise is no joke-- get a room towards the back of the hostal!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    123
    43
    19
    12
See reviews for
42
126
89
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melaka, Malaysia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Manso Boutique Hotel is a true gem. It's conveniently located right across from Guayaquil's Malecon 2000 and only a few blocks from the Parque de las Iguanas.
Rooms are clean and decorated nicely, and are perfect for relaxing after a long day of traveling or sightseeing. There is free breakfast (with all rooms except for the dorms) and a menu full of tasty, organic, and vegetarian meals. Staff are friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nomad_girl2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

I stayed at the MBH for 3 nights and while the location can't be beat, the main part of the hostel is average. It took 3 hours for my room to be cleaned and ready for me. There were a lot of bugs in the bathroom, we had to take a shoe in to "debug" before taking a shower. Since my bathroom was adjoining the kitchen, I didn't eat there. There's no way they can be in one area and not the next. When I mentioned it to the staff, there was only a shrugged response. The door to the street doesn't always latch properly at times and anyone can walk in off the street. As well, when someone buzzed to enter, I never seen anyone actually check to see who was there before buzzing them in. There is a sign at the front desk saying do not take cabs on the street due to recent kidnappings, ask at the staff to call you a cab or they will go with you to the street and take a photo of the licence but when I asked the girl at the desk to call, I was told to go to the street, when I pointed out the sign to her she just shrugged and said "just make sure you don't pay more then $5. Why have a sign there if it's not taken seriously?

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank terrilain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ricaro, Propietario at Manso Boutique Guesthouse, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear Guest: I am sorry about our Front Desk clerk not helping you take a taxi. This issue has been discussed in our regular meetings because we shouldn't make such mistakes. My apologies.

Regarding the buzz, we open the door until 6pm without checking because we are in an extremely safe area of town. After that time we check with the camera, just in case... =)

Regarding the bugs, during the time of your stay there were some "sightings" of bugs, apparently they were getting into the building in the boxes of a supplier of food. We changed the supplier and fumigated throughly the whole building. Problem solved !!

Our kitchen has very hygiene standards. It's so bad that you didn't try our acclaimed food, but I understand your position. I wouldn't have had either, If I had seen bugs in a place =)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level Contributor
136 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Location is perfect! And, the atmosphere is delightful with wonderful whimsical art and decorations! Service is very good! A little pricey though. Oh, and not for anyone with stair issues. No elevator so you have to be mobile to get to the lobby and rooms.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TriciaLyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Key West, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

I made my reservation on-line and after speaking a couple of times to them I booked the room I desired that looked right out onto the Malecon. When i got there late in the afternoon, my room was ready for me and it was just what I expected. A very pleasant room with a balcony overlooking the Malecon. It was a little on the loud side, because it is a city and right on the main road, but you have a great view for people watching. I also am travelling with a dog and they made me feel right at home with her. And just a few blocks away the locals bring their dogs out to play with each other. There is a restaurant in the hotel serving nice vegetarian food. Its not my favorite food but it was tasty. The service was great. Everyone spoke English perfectly. They were very helpful with whatever my needs. They even went out of their way and helped me greatly with bus transportation to Montanita with my dog. I even went out dancing with some of the guys from the hotel and had a wonderful time. All in all it was a great stay at the Manso Boutique Guesthouse. Thanks to every one there. Make your reservation now!!

Room Tip: If you want a nice view of the Malecon, ask for a room up front, preferably with a balcony, but be p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clayton, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

I had an 8 hour layover in Guayaquil in between the Galapagos Islands and Miami, on the way to California, and only needed a place for those hours. I was hoping for something middle of the road, so that I could have a nice nap and shower before going back to the airport.
Pros: It's right across the street from the Malecon.
Cons: Pubic hairs in the bed, the bathroom reeked of urine, no elevators.
This should pretty much sum up my experience, but I will elaborate.
I had prepaid $80 (this was after a 15% coupon and applying orbucks) through Orbitz, which is a ton of $ for a hostel. I wish I hadn't prepaid, so that I could've left w/o paying at all.
When I complained of the dirty bathroom, they brought in a fan/deodorizer thing instead of cleaning the bathroom or offering another room. All that did was push the smell into the bedroom. We couldn't possibly think to disrobe in that filthy place and take a shower. The smell got so bad even in the bedroom that my mom started vomiting. I wanted her to lay down to rest but then we found the pubic hair in the bed. We left immediately.
I tried to get even a partial refund and was basically laughed at by the management, b/c I had already told them that I wasn't staying all night. So I paid $80 USD for not only a facility that I could not use whatsoever, but had the added bonus of a sickened mother and humiliation by the management. Orbitz was no help at all. They have offered me a small credit to use for future bookings, but that expires in 1 year and most likely won't get a chance to use it. I will go back to the Palace Hotel next time, even though it costs double.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank freebyrd97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ricaro, Propietario at Manso Boutique Guesthouse, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Dear Freebyrd, I am aware of your case because after you left you requested a full refund to Orbitz. That brought the case to my attention because Orbitz called us to transmit your request. After deliberating with my staff, we concluded the case did not deserve a refund because it was not clear that the bad odor in the bathroom was there previously. This is the report of my Front Desk Manager, who was in office that evening:

After they checked in, I personally helped their kid find the light in their bathroom. The bathroom had no bad odor at all. I am sure of that because I am always checking our bathrooms. A while later, they went out without any complain. Then they returned, kindly asked us to arrange a taxi for 9pm, went to their room and after 15 minutes they showed up with the odor complain. For us it was obvious that it was their odor, so we put the ozone deodorizing machine. No more comments until 9pm when they walked down on schedule. No request to change rooms, no requests for refunds, no complains about pubic hairs. The lady only mentioned that her mother was dizzy, so we offered her a tea. I can't see why she says that we laughed at her. That is simply not true."
-- Emiko Morio, Manso Reception Manager, Feb 3, 19:00

The impresion my Front Desk Manager had was that the odor problem was caused during your stay, so she didn't consider it a big issue, or something that deserved cleaning the bathroom.

Had you clearly requested a cleaning of the bathroom, we would have made it. Please don't have any doubt that our first priority is our customer satisfaction (we live of it) and simply there is no reason why we would deny a guest cleaning a bathroom.

Additionally, you never informed anything about pubic hairs in the sheets. And this point needs clarification. What distinguishes a hotel with professional procedures from a cheap hotel is the probability that errors happen. According to our procedures, after a room is cleaned, it goes through a revision process, so in the unlikely case that the housekeeping staff does not change sheets, the verification process will detect it.

In the case the two filters leave an error pass, and a guest receives a room with the sheets of a previous guest, of course we will take action, fix the problem immediately and compensate the guest. We don't usually make mistakes and we like that our guests feel that if errors occur, we take care of them.

In Manso we have a very strong customer satisfaction policy. We take very seriously complains from our guests. Our Front Desk staff is continuously trained on customer satisfaction and in solving problems. The last thing that you will find in Manso is a clerk laughing at a guest's complains.

It would have been more constructive on your end to let us know if we made a mistake so we could fix it, instead of discrediting us with a "Terrible" Rating in TripAdvisor or manipulating the facts to the Orbitz staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicenza, Italy
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013 via mobile

I spent almost 6 nights in this hostel. The staff are friendly and helpful and they speak good English. The breakfast, served from 8 to 11am, is very good. It's not the quietest hostel/hotel I've been to, but for sure is one with the best quality/price ratio. Staying in a dorm (2 bunker beds) I spent only $15 per night. The room was cleaned every other day if not every day, the beds are comfy and the bathroom is inside the room.
Definitely a good spot for those who are looking for a cheap place to stay!

Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Martina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guayaquil hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Palace Guayaquil
Hotel Palace Guayaquil
#4 of 59 in Guayaquil
660 reviews
0.2 mi away
Continental Hotel
Continental Hotel
#11 of 59 in Guayaquil
698 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Guayaquil
Grand Hotel Guayaquil
#6 of 59 in Guayaquil
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Villa64
Villa64
#9 of 59 in Guayaquil
177 reviews
0.2 mi away
Unipark Hotel
Unipark Hotel
#8 of 59 in Guayaquil
978 reviews
1.1 mi away
Wyndham Guayaquil
Wyndham Guayaquil
#1 of 59 in Guayaquil
871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manso Boutique Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manso Boutique Guesthouse

Property: Manso Boutique Guesthouse
Address: Malecon 1406 y Aguirre, Guayaquil 090150, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Guayas Province > Guayaquil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 53 Speciality Lodging in Guayaquil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Manso Boutique Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Guayaquil city centre on the west bank of the River Guayas, this hostel offers free Wi-Fi access throughout the property and a restaurant, serving freshly-prepared local and international dishes. Guests can relax on the balcony, offered with some rooms, and take in the view of the city. Private bathrooms are offered in some rooms of Manso Boutique Hostal while others have access to shared facilities. Simon Bolivar Airport is just 5 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Manso Boutique Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manso Boutique Guesthouse Hotel Guayaquil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing