We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bit of a mixed experience”
Review of Hotel La Fontana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel La Fontana
Ranked #37 of 62 Hotels in Guayaquil
Reviewed 2 June 2012

On the plus side this hotel is in a very convenient location, the staff are very friendly and helpful and it's clean.

We had a few problems though, firstly needing to change beds (they gave us a very small bed, set up for one person despite knowing the booking was for a matrimonial) then needing to change room altogether because the aircon was pumping out very foul smells.

We were moved to the 'suite' which is the corner room mentioned in previous reviews and shown in the photo. This is a MUCH nicer room than all the rest - which although spacious have that rather depressing neon-lit business hotel feel. The 'suite' has a new aircon unit installed (which doesn't smell!) and is much quieter. It also has the 'views' (down the street and into offfice buildings opposite) previously mentioned from the large wrap around windows which are a nice feature. The curtains do not cover all of the windows though - we were told this was an intentional design but it just means that you have to hide in the bathroom to get changed if you don't want the office workers directly opposite to see you!

We also questioned the lack of mattress covers (mentioned in another older review - they just put a thin sheet straight on top of the mattresses) and were told that this was intentional - they have special mattresses that are anti-bacterial and don't need extra covers so it's actually more hygienic. Nice answer, but I'd still prefer them to use covers as well!

I would not agree with the previous review that calls this a 'boutique' hotel. I'd call it a business hotel. It has one nice room, and some artwork brightening up the walls. It's fine, and the corner suite is definitely the room to go for, but this hotel certainly has a few problems it needs to sort out. If it was 20 bucks cheaper you'd forgive it, but it's currently not really worth the $55 they charged us.

Room Tip: The corner suite is by far the nicest room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank richdixon68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (87)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

14 - 20 of 87 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights in May and had an excellent experience. From the helpful and friendly local advise from the owner to the excellent and clean room with great views of Guayquil downtown. Some parts of the hotel are being updated as evidenced by the occasional plaster patch and new air conditioners being installed.
Breakfast was also very good (scrambled eggs, toast and coffee) and was even provided on the day of our flight even though it was before breakfast hours. 
Location is very close (within 50m) to the Malecon and there are restuarants and shops in the area within easy walking distance.
Security was not an issue at all as we were assured the area is very safe (we had no problems at all despite walking the main streets in the evenings after dark) and the hotel staff 'buzz' you through the main door.

We highly recommend this hotel and intend to stay again!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anonymous6163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2011

We walked in to check this place out, and booked immediately. The corner room was dated, but very tastefully done. The bed was big and comfy. The view is spectacular with art down one street and church spires down the next. The staff was wonderful and accommodating. Breakfast was delicious, served hot with coffee to taste. The hotel is an oldie, but a goodie. There are little hebrew scrolls encased beside the doors, and a visual blend of cheery interpretive art that begins at the entrance. It is a boutique hotel, so there are some interesting quirks inherent to the place - but it is well worth the experience of being centrally located where your presence is appreciated.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank StuartandDenese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2010

This hotel was under brand new ownership when I was there. I stayed 3 weeks. The location is great. The hotel and restraunt is exelent very good tasty and clean. Friendly honest service.
The new owner is very profetional, honest and orginized his team.
Yes I would definetly recoment the Hotel Fontaina, in down town Guayaquil. Scott USA

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scottebear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2009

There is nothing good to say about this hotel. We had no hot water in the shower. The shower curtain and shower tiles were full of mildew. The room had a stained carpet. The bed had no mattress pad, just a thin sheet covering the mattress. We had mosquitos in the room and woke up with bug bites. The internet did not work, even in the lobby, and the door handle was loose and came off in our hands!!! How is that for security! It was not comfortable at all, cramped quarters, one towel in the bathroom for two people, and when we asked for more towels, we were given one extra hand towel. Do yourself a favor, spend $10 more and stay somewhere decent and clean!!!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Beachlump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2009

We stayed in this place for 1 night. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The acommodations were fine aside from the shower which leaked all over the floor creating a pool of the bathroom and adjacent floor.
Before traveling we saw one review(on virtual travel I believe) which stated that this place utilized their credit card to purchase over 6000$ in airline tickets.
For that reason I was sure to use my American express when we stayed there. Well surprise, we just found out that they did the same to us, however this time it was just over 1000$ on LAN Airlines.
Do yourselves a favor and avoid this place as I should have..

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank USANewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
Thank enviroser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guayaquil hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Doral
Hotel Doral
#45 of 62 in Guayaquil
53 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hostal Suites Madrid
Hostal Suites Madrid
#24 of 62 in Guayaquil
194 reviews
2.8 mi away
Air Suites Hotel
Air Suites Hotel
#49 of 62 in Guayaquil
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Sander
Hotel Sander
#32 of 62 in Guayaquil
47 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Alexander
Hotel Alexander
#40 of 62 in Guayaquil
46 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Varadero Internacional
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Fontana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Fontana

Address: Francisco de P. Icaza y General Cordova | Cordova 918 Y P. Icaza, Guayaquil 090150, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Guayas Province > Guayaquil
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 62 Hotels in Guayaquil
Price Range: £26 - £43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel La Fontana 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel La Fontana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing