We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean & Comfortable”
Review of Hotel City Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel City Plaza
Ranked #18 of 59 Hotels in Guayaquil
Certificate of Excellence
Las Vegas, NV
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Clean & Comfortable”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We stayed for one night upon first arriving into Ecuador. Parking was available nearby. The restaurant was open late and they food was very good. In fact, it was the best ceviche we had the entire visit. Breakfast offered a nice selection of fruit, cheese, deli meat, pastries and a few warm dishes. Our king sized room was spacious and comfortable. The bathroom had a separate tub and shower. The balcony was a nice touch. A/C worked great! Staff was friendly and accommodating. Location was great, only short walk to the Malecon.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juhl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCityPlaza H, Departamento de Ventas at Hotel City Plaza, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us.

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay. We are grateful with your positive comments.

We look forward to your next visit.


Best Regards,


Sales Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    58
    14
    6
    6
See reviews for
17
37
19
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
TLV
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Was greeted and welcomed at the airport by a very nice driver who explained me about the city during the drive to the hotel . Receptionists and all staff were very nice and service oriented. Rooms are spacious, good and clean. Nice restaurant with good prices and convenienet if you dont want to go out for dinner/lunch.
Breakfast also good.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lempes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCityPlaza H, Departamento de Ventas at Hotel City Plaza, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for sharing your opinion about your experience at our Hotel.

It is nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay . We thank you sincerely for having chosen our hotel for your recent stay.

We look forward to your next visit.


Best regards,

Sales Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We stayed there for 6 nights and can not express how amazing the staff treated us. The rooms were very comfortable with great A/C..security was excellent including in-room safes but the staff is what made this place the value. They went out of their way to engage with us, making sure we were well taken care of and did their best to keep us safe as we explored. I would highly recommend this small hotel for the traveler that needs some special attention to accomplish your goals. Awesome value for the price ...Highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: the 4th floor rooms have balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lftdcass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCityPlaza H, Departamento de Ventas at Hotel City Plaza, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your great comments of the Hotel.

The Hotel appreciates the time you took to highlights our positive aspects, as in-room safes in our rooms and exceptional staff.

We are very happy of been part of your Guayaquil experience and we hope to have the oportunity to receive your visit again.


Best Regards,


Sales Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We only spent one night here, but plan on spending another night on our way back through Guayaquil. The hotel arranged for free transportation from the airport. The room was incredibly clean, spacious, had everything we needed and then some (not one but two writing desks!). The breakfast was standard but they had great coffee. All in all, a very comfortable stay at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lelaily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCityPlaza H, Departamento de Ventas at Hotel City Plaza, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your nice comment about the Hotel. We are very happy to read it.

We are glad to read that you enjoyed our breakfast buffet and our shuttle service too.

Thanks again for choosing Hotel Cityplaza for your stay in Guayaquil. We hope to have the opportunity to have you here again.

Best Regards,


Sales Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Sussex
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We had a corner deluxe room. It was very spacious with a very comfortable king-sized bed. The bathroom was large with a shower and a separate bath with double basins and included a hair dryer and toiletries. It was very clean. The staff are very helpful and speak English. Very close to the main streets and the Malecon. The restaurant in the hotel is also very good. We ate there the 3 nights we stayed at the hotel after being out all day. We enjoyed staying there very much.

It would have been nice to have more electrical sockets, especially near the bed. We had to unplug a couple of lamps on the other side of the room to charge up the laptop and camera batteries.

Room Tip: The corner suite was very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tangodiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCityPlaza H, Departamento de Ventas at Hotel City Plaza, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing us during your visit to Guayaquil.

We are very glad to know that there are positive elements that you enjoyed like our location, rooms, restaurant and our staff.

We will consider your opinion about electrical sockets.

Kind regards,


Sales Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Had 2 separate stays in this hotel. 1st room was disappointing - small and dingy. Not up to 4 star rating. However, on the second trip we had a much bigger room and thus a better experience - no facilities.The staff were very pleasant and helpful though.
The breakfast is disappointing. There isn't much in Guayaquil - if you can avoid a stop-over then try and do that!

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Joyce W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCityPlaza H, Ejecutiva de Ventas at Hotel City Plaza, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear Guest,

We apologize for the inconvenience occurred during your first stay.

We are pleased to hear that our staff was pleasant and helpful. We hope to have an opportunity to serve you soon.


Best Regards,

Sales Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

I had a nine hour layover in Guayaquil and went to this hotel to get some rest and a good meal before a redeye flight to Miami. The staff was friendly and the room was clean and quiet. However, the best part of my stay was the restaurant connected to the lobby. What a pleasant surprise....I had a great meal, a nice glass of wine and terrific service, all at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank buffalotraveller2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCityPlaza H, Departamento de Ventas at Hotel City Plaza, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear Guest,


We are glad to know that our staff were helpful with you, also it is nice to read that you enjoy meal in our Humboldt Restaurant.


Please come back soon to Guayaquil, we will be waiting for you.


Best Regards,

Sales Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guayaquil hotels
0.3 mi away
Continental Hotel
Continental Hotel
#11 of 59 in Guayaquil
716 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Palace Guayaquil
Hotel Palace Guayaquil
#4 of 59 in Guayaquil
668 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Guayaquil
Grand Hotel Guayaquil
#7 of 59 in Guayaquil
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ramada
Hotel Ramada
#16 of 59 in Guayaquil
255 reviews
0.9 mi away
Wyndham Guayaquil
Wyndham Guayaquil
#1 of 59 in Guayaquil
878 reviews
0.3 mi away
Unipark Hotel
Unipark Hotel
#8 of 59 in Guayaquil
1,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel City Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel City Plaza

Property: Hotel City Plaza
Address: Boyaca 922 y Victor Manuel Rendon | Boyacá 922 y Víctor Manuel Rendón, Guayaquil n/a, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Guayas Province > Guayaquil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 59 Hotels in Guayaquil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel City Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel City Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing