We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“building site....noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Funky Monkey Hostal
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“building site....noisy”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Only stayed one night after a long bus ride. After being shown to our cramped room we were kept awake by the loud music of the staff. The following morning we showered and left briefly for breakfast. When we came back we walked into a building site; the shower room wall knocked down and rubble in our bedroom! Checked out early, preferring to sit at the bus station and get away from all the noise. Absolute zero customer service. Additionally, the hostel is located down a dark side street and has no clear sign...

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pmcg82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    10
    17
    11
    11
See reviews for
2
17
25
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

If you are planing to stay for a long time I recommend another hostel, but for a few day is good. Good location near the airport if you are traveling, no stress, and cheap. Is a nice small hostel that don't make troubles for locations.

Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Ernesto S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
286 reviews
201 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

We selected this hostal for its location. It is very close to the airport and to the main bus terminal, Terminal Terreste. We were in Guayaquil for one night to connect with an internation bus to Peru and stayed here. The hostal is also one short block from a major indoor mall. No complaints, it was pretty much as advertised. The staff was welcoming and friendly. The room was OK, clean with a fan. There is a kitchen for guest use.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank specialklc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guayaquil, Ecuador
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013

My opinion is good! The room was clean, with cool air, and I passed few days here for visiting the city. I recommended it for the price and the practicity of the place. Ty funky monkey hostal! I recommended it for the place near the airport, terminal bus and the proximity of mall and restaurants

Room Tip: The dorm has a good size for rest
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Defrances P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonyc32
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

I stayed in the Funky Monkey for three nights.

Overall....it was a pretty bad and uncomfortable experience. Firstly the noise. I've stayed in all types of hostels including the wild party hostels but this was the noisiest hostel I had ever stayed at. I took to wearing ear plugs in the day just to block some of it out for a few hours.

I had read reviews from many months go talking about the noise and I had hoped this was just a passing event and not the norm...but it's regular.

I was in the only (I think) private room which is in the garden and it was very loud. A lot of the noise is caused by the staff and their friends. I think there are 4 staff members living there, often outnumbering the guests.

- There is always a TV on in the reception / kitchen

- There is always talking between the staff, often across the garden.

- The general area is very loud. Car alarms, loud cars, a cockerel that crows all day and night, not just at dawn.

- The double room (mine) has poor sound insultation nd is right in the middle of the garden, near the pool. So people would be stood right next to the windows talking. It was like they were in the room.

- The managers/owners always seemed to have friends around, sometimes large groups. My friend was in the dorms, sometimes these guests would decide to go and sleep in the dorms overnight.....and then snore all night.

Basically it didn't feel like a hostel. It felt like someones home and I was living in the garden.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the private room. It's in the middle of everything and loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tonyc32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Guayaquil hotels

Mal Pais, Costa Rica
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

i chose this hostal because it was the cheapest and nearest to the airport. and in these categories the funky monkey wins. I cant believe the taxi found it, there was no sign outside, just a sticker on the door. when a group of three of us (girls) walked in, the owner and his friends were drinking and told us we could stay (for a more expensive price listed online) in one of the two uncleaned rooms without a door. I was not happy with the accommodation or with the behavior of the owner and his friends who slept over. I would not recommend this hostal for a girl.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tmoney004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 14 September 2012

Being a first time, solo female traveler, i was a bit worried arriving there at midnight but jorgan, who was running this place was awsome and super friendly. I had to catch a flight to cuenca the following morning and he was nice enough to accompany me to the airport.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank starburst409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guayaquil hotels
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Guayaquil Hotel
Sheraton Guayaquil Hotel
#6 of 59 in Guayaquil
810 reviews
0.3 mi away
Howard Johnson Hotel Guayaquil
2.4 mi away
Villa64
Villa64
#10 of 59 in Guayaquil
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hotel Sander
Hotel Sander
#26 of 59 in Guayaquil
46 reviews
2.5 mi away
RE Bed And Breakfast
RE Bed And Breakfast
#1 of 54 in Guayaquil
216 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostal Villa 97
Hostal Villa 97
#24 of 54 in Guayaquil
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Funky Monkey Hostal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Funky Monkey Hostal

Property: Funky Monkey Hostal
Address: Cdla Vernaza Norte Mz 5 Villa 11, Guayaquil 090150, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Guayas Province > Guayaquil
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 54 Speciality Lodging in Guayaquil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Funky Monkey Hostal 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Funky Monkey Hostal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing