We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Second Visit” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Continental Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Continental Hotel
Ranked #10 of 59 Hotels in Guayaquil
Certificate of Excellence
Penzance Cornwall
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Second Visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

We stayed at the Continental four years ago and revisited in May this year , Again the staff were polite and helpfull , the room was very clean . We had a change of plan which involved checking out in the morning and unexpectedly back in that evening which didn't seem to present a problem at all .
Food at the 24 hour restaurant is very good though the menu is limited .

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    253
    271
    83
    26
    22
See reviews for
135
209
57
155
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salinas, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012 via mobile

We stayed for 1 night, is just across the park of iguanas, very awesome, centric, the restaurant is a must! Room was clean, not expensive compared to other hotels in the area.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lumend13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

We stay regularly at this hotel - couple of times per year and have always found the rooms comfortable and well equipped in line with the standards of a high mid-range hotel. Although very central, just a few blocks from the Malacon 2000 and right across the street from the park of the Iguanas the hotel rooms themselves are very quite. The hotel serves a very nice breakfast and has a good 24 hour restaurant which is very handy for early departures and late arrivals which are common in Guayaquil. As per a previous reviewer be clear on your booking whether breakfast is included rooms are priced both ways and heavily discounted tariffs generally don't include breakfast

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeyBDryden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
British Columbia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

After arriving in Guayaquil late at night it was so nice to have a representative from the hotel waiting to take us back to the hotel. We paid the cost of the taxi which was minimal. The room was large and clean with everything you needed. I felt that the price was fair for what you got. The staff were very helpful and the hotel well situated to walk and have a look around at the city sites. The buffet breakfast was not included with our stay and @ $20/ea, pretty expensive, but with a large selection.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luv2trvlabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cuenca, Ecuador
Level Contributor
69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2012

Just across the street from Iguana Park and the Cathedral, the Continental is in a very good area, just a few blocks from Malecon 2000. I stayed 2 nights after being in Puerto Lopez and one more after flying back from Cuenca. The junior suites have just enough space, comfortable beds, wi-fi, and are well worth the price. Unfortunately, I found the front desk staff to be rather imperious and dismissive, but the rest of the hotel staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful. The doormen, bellmen, waiters, and even the security guards could not have been more pleasant. The food at "Fortin", the gourmet restaurant was a little disappointing, but the 24 hour cafe/coffee shop was actually good, and the breakfast buffet offered good choices. If I am in Guayaquil again, I will very likely book a room at the Continental.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lensmanct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2011

I stayed a night at this hotel after an amazing trip to the Galapagos. Shortly after checking in with other people from that tour, we wanted to know whether breakfast was included, so we went back to the front desk to ask and were told quite clearly that yes, breakfast was included. Big mistake--we shouldn't have listened.

The next morning, *after* eating breakfast, I was informed that breakfast was not included. I tried to explain that the only reason I ate breakfast was because the front desk told me breakfast was included, but the person on duty would have none of that. He even went so far as to imply (very politely, of course) that I was lying and just trying to get a free meal. That is no way to treat a customer, especially when the hotel is the one which made a mistake to begin with.

Absolutely horrendous service. Don’t be fooled by the pretty pictures.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bryce L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2011

We loved Hotel continental.It was spacious and modern with 2 big beds.From our room we could see the Park of the Iguanas, which is right across the street.It is about 2 blocks from Malecon 2000 and centrally located.Hotel staff are very nice.Wi fi worked perfectly.
We stayed 2 nights. The first night we booked with hotels.com and the buffet breakfast was not included and it cost us $40 for 2 people. The second time we booked directly from the hotel and they included breakfast for the same price .
Also, if you have dinner there,be aware that their soft drinks are $3 (where as as the store around the corner it is just 70 cents).Their food is excellent and not overpriced.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bubuwubu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guayaquil hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Palace Guayaquil
Hotel Palace Guayaquil
#5 of 59 in Guayaquil
4.5 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Guayaquil
Grand Hotel Guayaquil
#6 of 59 in Guayaquil
4.0 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
0.1 mi away
Unipark Hotel
Unipark Hotel
#7 of 59 in Guayaquil
4.5 of 5 bubbles 878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Guayaquil Airport
1.2 mi away
Wyndham Guayaquil
Wyndham Guayaquil
#2 of 59 in Guayaquil
4.5 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Ramada
Hotel Ramada
#15 of 59 in Guayaquil
4.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Continental Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Continental Hotel

Property: Continental Hotel
Address: Chile 512 y 10 de Agosto, Guayaquil 090150, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Guayas Province > Guayaquil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Guayaquil
#6 Romantic Hotel in Guayaquil
#10 Family Hotel in Guayaquil
#12 Business Hotel in Guayaquil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Continental Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Continental Hotel is tradition , comfort and passion for service . Our hospitality has made us a reference for executives and tourists, domestic and international . We are less than 15 minutes from Jose Joaquin de Olmedo International Airport. The Continental Hotel is strategically located in the tourist , historical, commercial and banking center of Guayaquil. Our cuisine distinguishes us in the city ; in culinary matters, we immodestly , the best of Guayaquil. You will feel at every moment hospitality that characterizes us and that is part of our excellence. All our guests are special, we invite you to be one of them and liveContinental Style ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Continental Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Hotel Guayaquil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing