We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Third Visit”
Review of Continental Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Continental Hotel
Ranked #11 of 62 Hotels in Guayaquil
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 June 2013

Arriving with no baggage (left in Amsterdam) makes you notice how useful the little things can be , the room had a disposable razor in the bathroom combined with all the usual stuff one expects . Which for once were more than a luxury .
The boys on the door are always happy to see returning guests and they made it a pleasure to go in and out .
The rooms and decor are a little dated but I prefer vintage quality before cheap contemporary .

Room Tip: If you are facing the park and lower down traffic is noisy , but you can people watch . Higher floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (815)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 815 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2013

This hotel would be a good 2* but definatelly not worth the 5 they're advertising with! For the same price you'll find way better options litteraly around the corner. The rooms look old fashioned and don't offer the comfort a 5*hotel should have nowadays. e.g. no fridge, coffee maker etc. furniture straight out of grannys age and to ajust the A/C you need to contact the frontdesk. Also the bed is far from comfortable with sheets and blankets instead of a proper duvet and one (1) flat pillow.
Don't expect a good rest as you'll hear toilets flushing all around you troughout the night. I really wonder where this place got its good reviews from!
The breakfast isn't included in the rate (18 USD for a warm buffet. No bread/ Toast etc.), which is in fact is a good thing because now you've got the option of eating out. I had mine at the neighbouring unipark hotel.
They won't see me back here!

Room Tip: Don't waste your money here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 915Alexo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013 via mobile

From ensuring you have a "safe" taxi to looking after dinner or any other needs the staff are ready to help! The rooms are really nothing special but location close to main bus terminal, Malecon 2000 and of course the airport are what makes it good. I paid $40 less booking the second night here at the hotel than I did through online booking. Another plus for them. The large city park right in front of the hotel is an interesting place to start or end an Ecuador vacation. It is a sight not to miss with all the iguanas in this park.
The two block walk to the Malecon is another must see.
Overall, highly recommended!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank badavy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel C, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Continental Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing us. We are grateful for having the time to let us your pleasant comments. As you mentioned the hotel has a great location where you could visit the most important atractives in Guayaquil.

We are delighted and excited to greet you and express our gratitude for preferring the Continental Hotel. Your comments are extremely important because they help us to continue providing the best service that our guests deserve.

Best Regards,
Hotel Continental, Guayaquil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2013

I booked via booking.com and expected to pay on confirmation of booking but in the end i paid on arrival which was not my preference. By the time the taxes were added my cost was $75 USD for single occupancy, more than I would usually go for. The location is great. Its $5 and 10-15 mins in a taxi from the airport. Staff very helpful and when i had problems with the air-con it was dealt with very quickly. Two restaurants and a cocktail drinks voucher were great. I stayed two seperate nights, once on level 4 snd once on level 6 and didn't experience any noise.. Rooms were fine although the hotel is a bit dated.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GilJackieG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2013

Hotel offers nothing to family and children rather than business district location if you have a business in the area for walking. It needs complete redecorating and furniture. Over priced for rooms and foods too. I got same standard in Turkey for 3 star hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank A O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2013

Not sure how so manybothers got cheaper deals but we paid over the odds in my opinion for a hotel with no breakfast. Good location as directly opposite the Church and Iguana Park.
Room booked was a double but we got a twin.
Reception not overly helpful though door porters were excellent.
Staff in downstairs restaurant slow but it gets really busy so worth eating there.
Rooms dated but have to remember we are in South América.
We rushed from here to Quito as everyone said it was so much nicer. I disagree Guayaquil is nicer than Quito.

Room Tip: Facing park but expect noise from street and bandstand Great view though!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JudithChalmers_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013

The room had great and quiet ac, was well appointed and comfortable. 24hr room service, very helpful staff that speak English, good location, good shower. Fast wifi in the room on the 5th floor. Everything was great, especially at that price.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank dtrachtman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guayaquil hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Palace Guayaquil
Hotel Palace Guayaquil
#3 of 62 in Guayaquil
704 reviews
0 mi away
Exe Galeria Man-Ging
Exe Galeria Man-Ging
#13 of 62 in Guayaquil
294 reviews
0 mi away
Grand Hotel Guayaquil
Grand Hotel Guayaquil
#6 of 62 in Guayaquil
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Unipark Hotel
Unipark Hotel
#9 of 62 in Guayaquil
1,257 reviews
0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Guayaquil
0 mi away
Hotel Ramada
Hotel Ramada
#18 of 62 in Guayaquil
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Continental Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Continental Hotel

Address: Chile 512 y 10 de Agosto, Guayaquil 090150, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Guayas Province > Guayaquil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Guayaquil
#6 Best Value Hotel in Guayaquil
#12 Business Hotel in Guayaquil
Price Range: £49 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Continental Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Continental Hotel is tradition , comfort and passion for service . Our hospitality has made us a reference for executives and tourists, domestic and international . We are less than 15 minutes from Jose Joaquin de Olmedo International Airport. The Continental Hotel is strategically located in the tourist , historical, commercial and banking center of Guayaquil. Our cuisine distinguishes us in the city ; in culinary matters, we immodestly , the best of Guayaquil. You will feel at every moment hospitality that characterizes us and that is part of our excellence. All our guests are special, we invite you to be one of them and liveContinental Style ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Continental Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Hotel Guayaquil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing