We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“on the way to Galapagos Islands”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Guayaquil Hotel
Ranked #4 of 62 Hotels in Guayaquil
Reviewed 5 September 2013

great location close to airport, very safe, clean and attentive staff. close to the shopping and square, we ate at the hotel restaurant late at night, even though the staff had just closed the kitchen.
the security was efficient and strong in this city that is know for targeting tourists. I have stayed here twice now and the transition from Miami to Galapagos, which requires a stop over in either Guayaquil or Quito, is fairly seamless. be sure to request a non-smoking room when you book your room and always ask for room upgrade when you check in, they can upgrade to a suite room if it is available.

Room Tip: facing the mall is nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cwarecoxnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria Fernanda C, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sheraton Guayaquil Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments about your Sheraton Experience. Your comments are very important to us because is a way to know our guest appreciation, so we can improve our service. If there is anything else we can do for you, please feel free to contact us. It would be our pleasure to assist you.

Kind Regards,

General Manager
Hotel Sheraton Guayaquil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,065)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

148 - 154 of 1,065 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2013

Its a Sheraton, but certainly one of the better ones I have stayed in. The location is just 5minutes by car from the airport. The experience already started very nice when we arrived, as we had a very nice driver waiting for us at the airport, offering bottled water in the shuttle bus and giving us tips for our stay. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable, as you would expect from a Sheraton. Staff was very friendly and room service was discrete. The computer terminals and internet access was fast and efficient. Our stay was rounded off when we were able to leave one of our suitcases with stuff we didn't need at the hotel for a week, while were travelling to the Galapagos. Recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TS_Cologne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Sheraton is pretty formulaic - rarely are they exciting or reflect anything of the local culture, architecture etc. This one is no exception. Rooms are a tad tired and comfortably but with conservative decor.

The bed is very comfortable, pillows excellent. My room was also spacious with desk, sitting chairs etc.

I experienced great and friendly service from every staff member I encountered. Food again was very Sheraton - good but not great and the menu did at least feature some Ecuadorian food. Recommend the shrimp in coconut it was excellent.

The hotel is located in the northern part of Guayquil, opposite a shopping mall which is accessed by a pedestrian bridge to get you safely over the very busy road. Only minutes from the airport - and the pickup was very efficient and fast - after 30 + hours travelling, this was more than welsome!

I took a driver/car from the hotel for $10 per hour. We went to the Malecon, Cerro Santa Ana and Las Penas. Whilst the driver did not speak English, he was very nice and walked with me wherever I went, keeping an eye on me. As a lone female in a city with a bad reputation for violence, I felt very safe.

I'll definitely return to the Sheraton when next in Guayaquil.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a pool view as these are the quiet rooms - away from the major road that passes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SmartTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

It was 10pm and we were so tired! Had a reservation but when we got to the hotel they said that another guest had decided to stay so they has no room available for us. I think a first class hotel should honor the reservations they had confirmed! And we had to catch another flight at six am!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Service
2  Thank Rowena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

This is the best hotel I slept in Guayaquil until now. Rooms are not small if you chose the right one during reservation. My room was comfortable, food during breakfast and lunch buffets at the restaurant was of good quality, room service offered many options. The staff are very friendly and professional. The equipment at the gym, however, should be updated. I would not mind to return to this hotel again.

Room Tip: If you do not like noise, you should avoid rooms facing the motorway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ALEX R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

I was ohhh soo tired and grumpy when I arrived here at 5 am! The room was not ready as there was no maid to clean it so the boyfriend and I parked ourselves onto the couch for about 3 hours. The staff very nicely let us check in at 8 am and we were whisked off to a SPG preferred guest room.

The room was very basic, not luxury by any means but also not lacking in anything. I had free Wifi and that made me smile.

The hotel overall is in need of some love – it was very basic albeit clean. We were only here for one night on route to the Galapagos so it worked for us. I used points and it’s about 10 minutes from the airport which was a huge selling point.

The service here was truly what made the stay- the staff was very friendly and accommodating. They even sent a complimentary fruit plate up to our room. The passion fruits were delish delish!

Tips:
We “hired” a taxi from the hotel and for $10 an hour, the driver stayed with us for a few hours, taking us from one sight to another. We never felt unsafe but it was nice to do things at our own pace and know we had someone taking us around.

Don’t take restaurants recommendations from the concierge! They recommended a place for lunch that was a very unfortunate experience.

Do go to La Taberna Libanesa. It’s an authentic Lebanese restaurant run by an older Lebanese couple. We loved them. And the restaurant. And the food. The complex that houses the restaurant is very lively as it has a few restaurants and a bar/club. It was definitely happening the night we were there. And by happening I mean lots of young 20 something’s dressed up and ready to party. Took us back a decade or so. It was refreshing.

Overall, we enjoyed our one evening here and would stay here again with points.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RoxxyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

This hotel is first class, the king bed was so comfortable and the pillows were like clouds.....the room was quiet, large, great access to wifi and internet.....the people were very friendly and the lounge had great music.....our breakfast included almost anything you could think of on a buffet and you could order pancakes, omelets and all the fruit, juice and so much more.....I would go back in a heart beat.....it had a nice pool but alas we were there to late......my Daughter works for the airlines and it is one of her favorite hotels especially the beds and the pillows......hospitality and attention to details was supreme.

Room Tip: The room on the pool side was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janice n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guayaquil hotels
1.9 mi away
Wyndham Guayaquil
Wyndham Guayaquil
#1 of 62 in Guayaquil
985 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Colon Guayaquil
Hilton Colon Guayaquil
#10 of 62 in Guayaquil
1,246 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sonesta Hotel Guayaquil
Sonesta Hotel Guayaquil
#7 of 62 in Guayaquil
968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel Oro Verde Guayaquil
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Guayaquil Airport
0.8 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Guayaquil
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Guayaquil Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Guayaquil Hotel

Address: Av Constitucion, Plaza Del Sol, Guayaquil 090150, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Guayas Province > Guayaquil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Guayaquil
#5 Romantic Hotel in Guayaquil
#5 Business Hotel in Guayaquil
Price Range: £91 - £935 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sheraton Guayaquil Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 141
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sheraton Guayaquil Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Guayaquil
Four Points Guayaquil
Guayaquil Sheraton
Guayaquil Four Points

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing