We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable overnight stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hampton Inn by Hilton Guayaquil-Downtown
Ranked #14 of 61 Hotels in Guayaquil
Certificate of Excellence
melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Comfortable overnight stay”
Reviewed 9 December 2013 via mobile

A perfect stop over for Galapagos trip. It's closed to everything, fast food restaurants and good reasonable priced BBQ steak houses nearby too. Short walk to historical sites like water front and old Spanish quarter. It's very scenic. I'm happy with
The hotel breakfast which offers waffles, continental, hot food as well lots of fresh fruits.
Airport is only 15 mins away by the hotel shuttle bus. Staff were very courteous. Rooms were clean the kingsize bed was very comfortable.
Highly recommended.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank tam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorraine-Akel, Room Division Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Guayaquil-Downtown, responded to this review, 14 December 2013
Dear tam L:

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments about your stay in our hotel, and all the tips that you give to another travelers, thanks for choosing us like your hotel in Guayaquil, we will hope that you can visit us again, remeber that we love having you here
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    232
    246
    81
    34
    10
See reviews for
113
210
54
118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
White Plains, New York
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

We generally enjoy the reliable quality of Hampton Inns. We wouldn't make them a destination hotel, but they are good for our family of five as a place to spend the night. This property fits the bill very well. The rooms are adequate, but the service is quite good. We called from the airport, and they said thy would have the shuttle there in 15 minutes - and it was. The driver came in to the airport and got our bags. At the hotel check in was easy. Though most of the staff had only passable English, the front desk handled all of our requests, including arranging for a local guided tour, and finding a "safe" taxi for a shopping expedition.
The location is convenient to the airport, and also to some of the sites, but there are very few restaurants within safe walking distance (neighborhoods change very fast in Guayaquil). There's a Pizza Hut next door, where it helps to speak Spanish, a KFC across the street, and a Subway down the block. Again, all fine as a stopover, but not a way to get to know local cuisine! The breakfast was good, and served from 6-10. In addition to the usual Hampton Inn cold fare, there were scrambled eggs and potatoes, as well as made-to order omelettes and pancakes.
There is a gym and a spa, though we did not use them.
All in all, we were satisfied, and would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Globetrotter613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorraine-Akel, Room Division Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Guayaquil-Downtown, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear Globetrotter613:

Thank you very much for your comments and for choosing us like your hotel during your stay in Guayaquil, your review is very detailed and with so many tips for other travelers, thanks again for share your experience in our hotel, we will hope that you can visit us again, remember that we love having you here
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 December 2013

The rooms in this hotel are depressing and in need of a makeover. I generally like to get out of the hotel to have dinner, but there is nothing of interest within walking distance -- unless you like KFC, which is across the street. Also my $200 Giorgio Armani sunglasses went missing from my room. Senior management at the hotel suggested that I must have lost them somewhere other than the hotel, which was an offensive reply because it wasn't the case.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorraine-Akel, Room Division Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Guayaquil-Downtown, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear Mr. Taylor:

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. Please accept our sincere apology if your sunglasses went missing while staying with us. We want you to know that we have taken this very seriously and are taking all the necessary steps to thoroughly investigate this incident. Our customers’ personal property is always respected and I sincerely apologize if this caused you any inconvenience.

Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience you experienced. If I can be of further assistance please feel free to contact me directly.

Sincerely

Stefano Piroli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 371 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

As was the case with an earlier reviewer I stayed here for one night when returning from a Galapagos cruise.
Frankly, after three weeks away, I just wanted to get home and this no doubt affected my enjoyment of my stay at the Hampton Inn, but it does has some good points:

1. Its location, which is central and close to places of interest
2. Exceptional, helpful, Reception and Lobby staff, but service deficiencies elsewhere
3. Large, comfortable, clean and well appointed rooms (plus a good sized bathroom)
4. A voucher for a free beer each in the Sports Bar (if you can find it!) There is also a happy hour during which drinks are half price.

On the other hand this is a commercial style hotel concentrating on accommodation rather than food and beverage services, and it shows. The sports bar (ground floor and right at the back of the hotel) could have been fun. It was staffed while I was there by two attractive young waitresses dressed in striped umpire shirts and very short skirts, but they had absolutely no idea about service and just stood around looking pretty. Had I been a famous footballer no doubt the service would have been transformed.
The restaurant was more like a cafeteria, had a limited menu, and sullen service. I decided on a steak and fries and that is what arrived. It was a very small steak and, other than the fries, there was nothing whatsoever accompanying it. Not even a slice of tomato or a lettuce leaf! Poor! I asked to see a wine list but the prices were extortionate.
Breakfast was very limited, at least by British standards, and the coffee was lukewarm and stewed.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Owlfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorraine-Akel, Room Division Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Guayaquil-Downtown, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear Owlfish:

Thanks for share your comments and recommendations, we really appreciate that you take part of your time to mention a few points about our property and service that we have to improve and offer a great hotel experience that is our main goal, we shared this info with our executive staff to work about it, we will hope that you give us the opportunity to show you all the improvements
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Varsseveld, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Had to spend one night here when we came back from a Galapagos cruise. This is a fine hotel for an overnight stop. Located conveniently close to the airport so you don't loose lots of time in the crazy traffic here.

Rooms are quite large, bathroom is clean, empty fridge in the room, but there is a coffee-maker. Breakfast is a nice buffet with egg-station, waffles etc.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Walter077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorraine-Akel, Room Division Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Guayaquil-Downtown, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear Walter077:

Thank you very much for share your commments and choosing us like your hotel in Guayaquil and for your recommendations to other travelers about our hotel, remember that we love having you here, please come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

My first experience at this hotel was the driver who picked me up at the airport. He was very friendly. The hotel desk clerk could not have been nicer and the room was perfect. The staff genuinely made me feel welcome. A week later I showed up without a reservation and the hotel was full. However, the desk clerk went out of her way to find me a room at another local hotel. I would recommend this hotel without hesitation.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank buffalotraveller2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorraine-Akel, Room Division Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Guayaquil-Downtown, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear buffalotraveller2:

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments about our hotel, it is very pleasant for us to know about your great experience with the attention that you received from our team members, thanks again for choosing us like your hotel in Guayaquil, remember that we love having you here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

I used this hotel for a month and found the staff to be very nice . From the pick up at airport everyone made you feel welcome . The hotel is perfectly situated on one of the safest and most central streets in the city . Only a short walk to the river front boardwalk which is well designed and great for a early evening stroll. A few nice places to sit had have a cheap beer.
During my stay I found a local 50 mtr outdoor swimming pool that opened from 6 am and was totally free. Everyone very friendly approx. 1 mile walk . Hotel staff didn't know about it . A friend used Goggle earth.
Most of the attraction's on trip advisor are within walking distance and I did top 5 in one day.

Room Tip: front better as you can look down on busy streets . Nothing to see but aircon units at rear of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorraine-Akel, Room Division Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Guayaquil-Downtown, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear Gary M:

Thank you very much for choosing us like your hotel (home) in Guayaquil during one month, we feel so pleased that you enjoyed staying with us for such a long time, thank you very much for describe the landscape arround the hotel and the tips that you give... We are going to include the info about the public pool that you mentioned, Thank you very much for share your experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guayaquil hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Guayaquil
Grand Hotel Guayaquil
#6 of 61 in Guayaquil
488 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palace Guayaquil
Hotel Palace Guayaquil
#4 of 61 in Guayaquil
676 reviews
1.0 mi away
Wyndham Guayaquil
Wyndham Guayaquil
#1 of 61 in Guayaquil
901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Continental Hotel
Continental Hotel
#11 of 61 in Guayaquil
737 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Oro Verde Guayaquil
0.2 mi away
Unipark Hotel
Unipark Hotel
#8 of 61 in Guayaquil
1,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn by Hilton Guayaquil-Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn by Hilton Guayaquil-Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn by Hilton Guayaquil-Downtown
Address: Av 9 de Octubre 432 y Banquerizo Moreno, Guayaquil 7524, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Region: Ecuador > Guayas Province > Guayaquil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Guayaquil
#8 Romantic Hotel in Guayaquil
#10 Business Hotel in Guayaquil
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hampton Inn by Hilton Guayaquil-Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Business-oriented hotel - Downtown, 2 mi from airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn by Hilton Guayaquil-Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn By Hilton Guayaquil-Downtown Hotel Guayaquil
Hampton Inn Guayaquil
Guayaquil Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing