We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Oro Verde Guayaquil
Ranked #5 of 62 Hotels in Guayaquil
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 March 2014

The service, the room, the food excellent! Everyone went out of their way to make our stay as comfortable as possible! This is my 2nd stay and will def. come back! and their handcraft shops are great if you didn't have time to find last minute gifts.

Room Tip: I loved the suite, lots of space for a New Yorker that's used to a small apartment back home!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abbyrose73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vasco_v_Baselli, General Manager at Hotel Oro Verde Guayaquil, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear Abbyrose23,

thank you very much for your very kind words and sharing them with the TripAdvisor community.

We look very much forward to welcoming you back to Guayaquil and the Oro Verde soon. We will make sure to have one of our Leading Suites waiting for you.

Yours sincerely,

Vasco v. Baselli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,570)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

476 - 482 of 1,570 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2014

I am a Guayaquil city local and as such from my point of view the Oro Verde Hotel is by far the best option in the city if you are looking for good service, atmosphere and quality food. The hotel is locatde downtown which is also a positive thing since now on days the area is in general safe. As in every other city you need to be carefull with the side streets after 10 pm.

Other options in Guayaquil like the Hilton or Sheraton are very nice too but they don´t compare in terms of service with the Oro Verde. Also, this hotels are in the new and modern área of the city which is nice but probably has not much to offer for tourist tryng to stay away from shopping malls and so on

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BERNIE2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vasco_v_Baselli, General Manager at Hotel Oro Verde Guayaquil, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear Bernie2009,

thank you very much for sharing your kind words with the TripAdvisor community.

It is wonderful to receive feedback from residents of Guayaquil as we feel the Oro Verde has played such an intrinsic part in this cities recent history.

We look forward to welcoming you soon at the hotel or at one of our restaurants.

Yours sincerely,

Vasco v. Baselli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We stayed here two nights, bookending a trip to the Galapagos. This is the top hotel in the city. It is a full service 5 star hotel. The rooms were , spotless and comfortable, though not unduly large, bathrooms adequate and the bedding very comfortable. Views from the higher floors are definitely much better. The staff is solicitous. The breakfast buffet was delicious and replete with choices.
The hotel has a number of restaurants; the one we had dinner in was excellent (for fondue), though not unexpectedly pricey. The lounge/bar was full service and had outstanding house wines.
Guayaquil can be a dodgy city when it comes to security. Staying in this hotel eliminates such concerns. If money is not of paramount concern, I do not think you can choose a better, more secure place.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RodMcLeod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vasco_v_Baselli, General Manager at Hotel Oro Verde Guayaquil, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear Rod McCleod,

my team and I are grateful for your kind review and very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We do hope you had a wonderful time in the Enchanted Islands and hope you will visit Ecuador and us sometime soon again.

Yours sincerely,

Vasco v. Baselli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We stayed here at the end of our Galapagos trip. We were pleasantly surprised at the quality of the hotel. Pretty much everything about this property is quality!!

I emailed ahead to arrange a shuttle from the airport. There was a driver with a sign waiting in the hallway outside baggage claim for us. A smooth ride to the hotel and a speedy check-in. Our regular room was upgraded to a suite because we were celebrating our 25th anniversary. What a great surprise. Flowers and fresh fruit! Our bellhop explained the amenities in the room without us asking.
We showered and went down to the dining room for dinner. They wouldnt let us sit in the formal dining room because I had flip-flops on!! Oops! So we sat in the bar (El Capitan) and had a very nice dinner. We had breakfast in the "patio" dining area. It was excellent. Fresh eggs, fruit, yogurt, granola, shrimp cervice, rolls, juice and more.

My wife got an excellent massage in the spa.

The only real problem we had was a wedding/party that was downstairs. The band started playing at midnight and didnt stop until 3am. Im not sure why a hotel of this caliber allows something this disruptive at those hours. We called the front desk and they said there was not much they could do.......

Our return trip to the airport was timely as well. We caught the 4 am shuttle for a 6am flight. They sent an armed guard with us in the shuttle van.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank golfhorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vasco_v_Baselli, General Manager at Hotel Oro Verde Guayaquil, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear golfhorse,

thank you very much for sharing your kind comments with the TripAdvisor community.

I am truly sorry you were disturbed by the noise from our banquet area and we are reviewing our procedures and policies to ensure private events do not affect the quality of rest our guests get while staying with us.

We have shared you comments with our spa team and are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Yours sincerely,

Vasco v. Baselli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Large nicely furnished room and a very nice refuge before our 12:45AM flight home. We arrived with many other people on the Lan flight from the Galapagos, but after more than an hour and a half had not received our suitcases. The bellman hunted ours down, 2 floors above us on the fourth floor. Apparently, they took all the luggage to the seventh floor and went floor by floor dropping off the luggage, reading the id tags on the bags and comparing it to their master list. No problem for us as we had 5 hours or so to leave for the airport at that point. BUT---our friends from the UK also assigned a second floor room had to leave for the airport at 6PM to catch their flight. Their luggage was hunted down and delivered at 5:40PM, hardly enough time to get some warm clothing out of their suitcases. I should hardly like to see their review of their stay.

But after we found our luggage, we had a drink in the hotel's very nice bar with some of our newly met friends from our Galapagos experience. Then dinner at the hotel, feasting on Ecuadorian specialties. There was ample time to extract warm clothing from our suitcases for our trip back home. Dinner by the way was an interesting experience as the waiters had little to no knowledge of English, though their English was much better than our Spanish. Ordering was an adventure, but this is our fault not theirs as we were guests in their country.

All in all this is a charming property and was a lovely place to spend 6 hours between flights. We can only fault their system of distributing a large group's luggage to the rooms, which although having no untoward consequences for us, was a near disaster for our British friends.

Room Tip: If you have a close plane connection and arrive in a large group, get a room on a high floor, or fin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arthur H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vasco_v_Baselli, General Manager at Hotel Oro Verde Guayaquil, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear Arthur H,

thank you kindly for your valuable feedback. We have reviewed our luggage delivery procedures with our bellboys and made changes according to your recommendations.

We are always happy to hear that our guests enjoyed their stay with us, even if its only for a few hours between flights.

Yours sincerely,

Vasco v. Baselli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Based on reviews, we searched for rates that would accommodate our overnight stay, which had us departing at 4am the following morning, therefore foregoing the breakfast buffet which was included in most booking rates. We landed a great rate, and never looked back! From the moment we began communicating with Oro Verde, the staff were extremely kind, accommodating and prompt. Everything from there was just as impressive. We were given a voucher for apertivi at the lounge, which was very comfortable. We had dinner at the "Cafeteria", which served Ecuadorian cuisine - the best meal of our entire trip! In fact, we had a tough time choosing which of the three restaurants we would dine in. The ambiance of the hotel was world class, and the staff were superb in assisting us on our stay. The room was lovely - with a modern euro design. We were provided gratis bottled water and soda in our bar, something we have never experienced before. There were two really nice shops of excellent quality if one is looking for gifts to bring home. We would look to stay at Oro Verde in future travels!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusanWW386
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vasco_v_Baselli, General Manager at Hotel Oro Verde Guayaquil, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Dear Susan W W,

Thank you very much for sharing your kind reviwe with the TripAdvisor community. It is always a great satisfaction for my team and me to hear that we were able to provide a great experience to our esteemed guests. I do hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay in Ecuador and visit us someday again.

Yours sincerely,

Vasco v. Baselli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We stayed at this hotel before and after a trip to the Galapagos and it was booked through our travel agency. It has a good shuttle service to/from the airport and all the staff are very pleasant. Our first night was in one of the remodelled rooms and it was very modern and clean and average size. Our second night was in an older room that was a suite. Even though this room was huge, I preferred the newer room with the updated furniture and bathroom fixtures.
We ate at the French restaurant the first night and it was excellent. Unfortunately it was closed on the Monday when we returned. The breakfast buffet was excellent with a large selection of hot and cold foods.
My only complaint would be the musty smell that you notice as soon as you walk in the lobby. Other than that this is a convenient hotel for a stopover to the Galapagos.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wine_travels0690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vasco_v_Baselli, General Manager at Hotel Oro Verde Guayaquil, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear wine_travels0690,

Thank you for your kind feedback and I am sorry we were not able to assign you the same room during your second stay. By the end of April we will have finished the refurbishment of all our rooms.

I will make sure our executive chef hears of how much you enjoyed your dinner at Le Gourmet and I hope you had a wonderful time in the Enchanted Islands.

Yours sincerely,

Vasco v. Baselli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guayaquil hotels
1.3 mi away
Wyndham Guayaquil
Wyndham Guayaquil
#1 of 62 in Guayaquil
985 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hilton Colon Guayaquil
Hilton Colon Guayaquil
#10 of 62 in Guayaquil
1,246 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Palace Guayaquil
Hotel Palace Guayaquil
#3 of 62 in Guayaquil
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Guayaquil
Grand Hotel Guayaquil
#6 of 62 in Guayaquil
515 reviews
2.3 mi away
Sonesta Hotel Guayaquil
Sonesta Hotel Guayaquil
#7 of 62 in Guayaquil
968 reviews
0.7 mi away
Unipark Hotel
Unipark Hotel
#8 of 62 in Guayaquil
1,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Oro Verde Guayaquil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oro Verde Guayaquil

Address: Avenida 9 de Octubre | Garcia Moreno, Guayaquil 090150, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Region: Ecuador > Guayas Province > Guayaquil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Guayaquil
#2 Family Hotel in Guayaquil
#2 Business Hotel in Guayaquil
#3 Luxury Hotel in Guayaquil
Price Range: £76 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Oro Verde Guayaquil 4.5*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Oro Verde Guayaquil, Member of Worldhotels offers an exquisite combination of European experience and Ecuadorian hospitality. Our full-service, downtown hotel offers the ultimate in sophistication and comfort for business and leisure travelers alike. Our hotel's superb location in the Guayaquil commercial and financial district means you are within walking distance of popular tourist attractions, entertainment and shopping as well as cultural and historical sites. The hotel is also just a quick eight-minute drive from the airport and offers complimentary transfers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Oro Verde Guayaquil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Oro Verde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing