We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcome Respite”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Oro Verde Guayaquil
Ranked #3 of 59 Hotels in Guayaquil
Certificate of Excellence
arizona
Level Contributor
68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Welcome Respite”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Guayaquil is either the gateway or last stop to and from a Galapagos trip. I had the pleasure of staying in this hotel after a trip to the Galapagos and only stayed for a night but I wished that I had more time to spend here. The hotel is just minutes away from the airport but also is near other attractions like the Malecon and the Plaza de Iguanas. A welcome drink was offered after checking in. They have a couple of restaurants in the premises one of which I thought served really good Ecuadorian food. The room is adequately sized, very clean with a bed a little on the hard side but I was still able to sleep comfortably. They had a little refrigerator in the room with juices and sodas and they were complimentary. Chocolates from Republica del Cacao were also provided. The bathroom was large with more than average toiletries. They smelled so good. I took some home! Wifi was also provided and it was speedy enough for me even though I was in one of the higher floors. I would stay here again but it would be more than an overnight.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hapibambolbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vasco_v_Baselli, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Oro Verde Guayaquil, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a nice comment about our hotel. It is a great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your visit to Oro Verde Hotel and that you will have very positive memories of your visit to Guayaquil.

I do sincerely hope we have the opportunity to invite you back in the near future.

Best regards,

Isabel Delgado
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,385 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    847
    380
    108
    35
    15
See reviews for
218
451
104
444
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

The hotel was just lovely. Unfortunately for us our flight was late arriving into Guayaquil, so we didn't get to spend too much time here. 5* all the way. The bathroom - wow, large room with great facilities like free soft drinks from the minibar. We had dinner in the restaurant downstairs (the cafe style one) and had some lovely food. The breakfast was wonderful, it started early 5.30 which was great for us, as we had an early flight out. Sadly we just didn;t get enough time to enjoy the other facilities.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BE2468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vasco_v_Baselli, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Oro Verde Guayaquil, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review Oro Verde Hotel.

We are glad to hear that the hotel’s room and facilities were beyond your expectations and that you enjoyed your meals at El Patio Cafeteria. Your nice words will be shared with our team.

Look forward to welcoming you soon in our Hotel.

Best regards,

Isabel Delgado
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

A very comfortable, and stylish hotel.
We stayed 1 night (too short because of early fligt next day) at this hotel after 7 nights of very cramped accomodation and poor food on a "Luxuary" Galapagos cruise boat.
The hotel bar offered a pleasant environment in which to have a relaxing drink and the food and service in the restuarant were exceptionally good.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victor H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vasco_v_Baselli, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Oro Verde Guayaquil, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Victor H.,

Thank you for staying at Oro Verde Hotel and even more for your kind feedback.

We are pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us and your nice words will be shared with our team.

Looking forward for the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future upon your next visit to Guayaquil.

Isabel Delgado
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CA
Level Contributor
136 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We only stayed here for one night and arrived very late (after midnight due to delayed flights) -I had arranged before the trip for an airport pick-up and after we experienced the delays, I emailed the hotel with the updated arrival information and was worried that they wouldn't be there but when we got off the airplane they were there. We arrived at the hotel quickly and checked in at the reception desk. The only issue we had was that on my reservation (online) I requested a room with 2 beds for our family of 4- the girl at the desk tried to sell me two rooms and the charge went from $145 to almost double. I specifically requested a room for 4 online so I showed her the paperwork and then she gave us a room with 2 double beds but ended up charging us $50 extra since our kids were older. It was after midnight and we were tired in a foreign country so we agreed and went off to the room. The room was small but clean with nice little chocolates on the pillows. Our breakfast was included and was delicious- so many choices. They took us back to the airport early in the morning and we were off. We didn't have any time to explore the city but did notice that the security at the hotel and the surrounding neighborhood was high. If we ever visit Guayaquil again, we would stay here.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mamamarz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vasco_v_Baselli, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Oro Verde Guayaquil, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at the Oro Verde hotel and even more for your kind feedback.

I can assure you that our goal is to ensure that every one of our guests has a fantastic experience during their stays and at reservations time we try to ensure we discuss guests preferences to find the best fit for your expectations. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences you encountered during your last stay. Kindly be informed that your comments mentioned will be addressed with concerned departments to take actions accordingly.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back on a future visit.

Sincerely,

Isabel Delgado
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, UK
Level Contributor
48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed here after a 7-night Galapagos cruise and it was an ideal place to catch our breath, enjoy a power shower and have a good night's sleep (with no rocking movement!) before our next Ecuadorian adventure! The complimentary shuttle bus was waiting for us at the airport and we had a quick and easy journey to the hotel, which is big, airy and international with good facilities. We stayed in a spacious Club room on the 8th floor which was very quiet and civilised. The buffet breakfast was excellent, with a wide selection of breakfast goodies on offer. The massage I had was only mediocre, and the therapist spoke absolutely no English and unfortunately I speak no Spanish, so all communication was through miming! But otherwise, this hotel fitted the bill perfectly.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kent-UK2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vasco_v_Baselli, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Oro Verde Guayaquil, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a nice comment about our hotel. It is a great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your visit to Oro Verde Hotel in Guayaquil.

I would like to apologize for the issues during your massage. I will certainly be following up on your feedback with the department concerned in order to avoid any reoccurrence of the situation you have explained in your review.

Look forward to welcoming you soon in our Hotel

Isabel Delgado
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago Metropolitan Region, Chile
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Average hotel because is old edification and you can feel old carpet and other things. Good costumer service and breakfast. Location in the city is excellent to business trip but at night you can feel a little dangerous the neighborthood.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Octavio P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vasco_v_Baselli, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Oro Verde Guayaquil, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Google Translation
Estimado Sr. Octavio P.,

Muchas gracias por compartir con nosotros sus comentarios sobre Hotel Oro Verde en Guayaquil.

Lamento mucho que su estadía no haya sido completamente satisfactoria. Desde Abril del 2014 contamos con 198 habitaciones remodeladas y sería muy grato que nos permita tenerlo nuevamente con nosotros, de modo que pueda vivir una experiencia diferente durante su visita.

En Oro Verde trabajamos constantemente en asegurar que las expectativas de nuestros huéspedes sean alcanzadas y superadas, y comentarios como los suyos se convierten en un gran aporte para el cumplimiento de nuestra meta.

Cordiales saludos,

Isabel Delgado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Stayed for 1 night in May. Not included in this rating of the property was the wait for the hotel shuttle to pick us up at the airport (2 calls and a 45 to 60 minute wait). But once there the staff and the facility were great. We asked about areas to walk in town and were given specifics on safety. Included in our stay were a complimentary drink (wine or beer) and munchies. We had dinner in the hotel grill and it was very nice for a reasonable price. The contents of the minibar in the room were free. The room was spacious and clean. Bathrobes and slippers provided. No noise issues at all. The buffet breakfast (included) was expansive and tasty. The shuttle back to the airport had no problems. Perhaps a little mold odor in the lobby but nothing bothersome and my nose is very sensitive to it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReyNardG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vasco_v_Baselli, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Oro Verde Guayaquil, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on the site for us for which we are very grateful. We are pleased to read that you had a great experience at Oro Verde Hotel. However I am sorry if you had to wait for 60 minutes at the airport, the driver should have been there to meet and greet you on arrival.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences of the delay in our shuttle service. Kindly be informed that your comments mentioned shall be addressed with concerned departments to take actions accordingly.

We all hope we may welcome you again in Guayaquil.

Isabel Delgado
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guayaquil hotels
1.3 mi away
Wyndham Guayaquil
Wyndham Guayaquil
#1 of 59 in Guayaquil
871 reviews
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Guayaquil Airport
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Guayaquil
Grand Hotel Guayaquil
#6 of 59 in Guayaquil
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Palace Guayaquil
Hotel Palace Guayaquil
#4 of 59 in Guayaquil
659 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hilton Colon Guayaquil
Hilton Colon Guayaquil
#9 of 59 in Guayaquil
1,164 reviews
2.3 mi away
Sonesta Hotel Guayaquil
Sonesta Hotel Guayaquil
#5 of 59 in Guayaquil
840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Oro Verde Guayaquil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oro Verde Guayaquil

Property: Hotel Oro Verde Guayaquil
Address: Avenida 9 de Octubre y Garcia Moreno | Garcia Moreno, Guayaquil 090150, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Region: Ecuador > Guayas Province > Guayaquil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Guayaquil
#2 Luxury Hotel in Guayaquil
#2 Family Hotel in Guayaquil
#2 Business Hotel in Guayaquil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Oro Verde Guayaquil 4.5*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Oro Verde Guayaquil, Member of Worldhotels offers an exquisite combination of European experience and Ecuadorian hospitality. Our full-service, downtown hotel offers the ultimate in sophistication and comfort for business and leisure travelers alike. Our hotel's superb location in the Guayaquil commercial and financial district means you are within walking distance of popular tourist attractions, entertainment and shopping as well as cultural and historical sites. The hotel is also just a quick eight-minute drive from the airport and offers complimentary transfers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Oro Verde Guayaquil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Oro Verde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing