We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Oro Verde Guayaquil
Ranked #3 of 60 Hotels in Guayaquil
Certificate of Excellence
Saratoga Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Location and friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2009

We stayed for 1 night and had a look around Guayaquil. Not the most exciting city but we certainly felt safe enough and walked most places even at night.
Hotel was much more up-market than we were expecting so no complaints from us.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenSaraAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,307 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    805
    355
    102
    32
    13
See reviews for
202
427
102
411
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2009

Seven of us stayed here en route to the Galapagos. The hotel was excellent. The free shuttle picked us up at the airport and took us back for the flight to the Galapagos. Free breakfast buffet was very extensive- with an omelet station, maybe 20 kinds of rolls, fresh fruit, ceviche and juices. We received juice and hot towels and complimanetary rum drinks on arrival, chocolates and bottled water with the turn down service and everyone was very nice. We returned after our cruise and they had saved all of our check in info and that sped the whole process up. Coffeepot in the room and free 30 min of internet daily. Fitness room, pool, jacuzzi. Meals at the moderate level of the three restaurants averaged $12 and were very good. We chose Guayaquil due to the sealevel altitude. Yes there are guards everywhere and we were cautioned not to wonder around alone. We did attend the museum during the day and felt safe. I highly recommend the Oro Verde.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank octoberitaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2009

In route to the Galapagos Islands, my husband and I spent two days in Guayaquil. The hotel was booked through our scuba dive operation and we paid extra for a suite.

We arrived after midnight so it was nice to see our shuttle waiting for us though it was a little unsettling seeing all the armed policia and security guides all over the airport. Our shuttle and hotel always had armed security. Doesn't quite give you a nice warm welcoming feeling.

The hotel lobby was nicely maintained and the staff very friendly and helpful. We got a 2 room suite on the 6th floor. Only 4 rooms on the floor so it was quiet. The room had 1 1/2 baths, kitchenette, livingroom and nice sized bedroom. Also had 2 televisions and a DVD player.

Breakfast was included with the room so we took advantage of the great buffet. A nice way to start the day. We spent the day doing a walking tour of Guayaquil with help from the hotel concierge who provided a great book and map. We walked the Malecon (river front) which had stores, restaurants and a beautiful little garden. We also hiked up to Las Penas. Other than seeing the historic buildings and how the the riverfront is being rebuilt there wasn't mush else to see.

One thing we did that was a lot of fun was going to Iguana Park. There were all sized iguanas all over. A gentleman gave me some grapes and before I knew it, I had iguanas all over me. IT was fun but also a little scary since I'm not used to iguanas.

Guayaqil was a fun citiy but since there are armed guards all over and the policia maintains a large presence, I would guess it is not the place to go for the night life.

For dinner we chose to eat at La Fondue in the hotel. It was fun and the food was good. We used room service for ice for a recurring hip injury and they were very prompt.

Overall, we enjoyed our time at the Oro Verde Hotel. Our Galapagos tour group uses this hotel for their guests so there were a lot of tourists coming and going but we were able to keep to ourselves and enjoyed our time there.

  • Liked — Pleasant people abd great food.
  • Disliked — Lotgs of tourists
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank littlechaos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
233 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2008

A very nice hotel. Great staff, who take the time to explain where everything is when you arrive - I wish all hotels would do this. Nice rooms. Great choice of restaurants – the food at the “El Patio” café/restaurant is highly recommended. Centrally located in the city and close to the Malecon, this is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2008
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank WalkersWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2008

The hotel is in walking distance of just about everything we wanted to do. The staff is helpful. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aguzada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
211 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2008

Greeted on arrival with great staff and a juice.
They had messages for me and made sure that I settled in well.

They have a gym and spa there which I used and had a great massage for about US$30 for a hour which was fabulous.

I found the breakfast to be fantastic. It was a buffet with lots to choose from. You would find it very difficult not to find something that you liked. They also cooked eggs to order.

  • Liked — The food
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Julesr_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2008

My family stayed one night at the hotel on our way back from the Galapagos and enjoyed our stay. It was a nice hotel with good service and is close to the airport.

The room was comfortable, clean, had a really nice large bathtub and excellent mattresses, although I thought it a bit small for the price. The lobby was very comfortable and there was an armed guard outside the hotel. The hotel had a shuttle with our name on a sign waiting for us when we arrived at the airport.

Unfortunately we arrived at the hotel with a number of other passengers and the check -in process was slow and they had trouble keeping track of which luggage went to which room. However, the staff remained friendly and helpful during our stay. The concierge was also very helpful and knowedgable about local restaurants and arranged reservations for us at Lo Nuestros (a great Ecuadirian place).

The pool was a bit disappointing as it was outside, unheated and too cold to swim in. Also, there was no shallow end so it is not good for small children (who were traveling with us). But there was a wonderful jacuzzi, steam room, and sauna. But children under 16 weren't allowed in and this was strictly enforced.

The breakfast at the hotel was one of the best I have had in South or Central America. There was a great selection of speciality cheeses, breads, and fruits, as well as traditional American and Ecuadorian breakfast dishes.

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — Check-in
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jmhnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guayaquil hotels
1.3 mi away
Wyndham Guayaquil
Wyndham Guayaquil
#2 of 60 in Guayaquil
4.5 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Guayaquil Airport
0.7 mi away
Hotel Palace Guayaquil
Hotel Palace Guayaquil
#5 of 60 in Guayaquil
4.5 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Guayaquil
Grand Hotel Guayaquil
#6 of 60 in Guayaquil
4.0 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hilton Colon Guayaquil
Hilton Colon Guayaquil
#9 of 60 in Guayaquil
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,134 reviews
2.3 mi away
Sonesta Hotel Guayaquil
Sonesta Hotel Guayaquil
#4 of 60 in Guayaquil
4.5 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Oro Verde Guayaquil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oro Verde Guayaquil

Property: Hotel Oro Verde Guayaquil
Address: Avenida 9 de Octubre 414 | Garcia Moreno, Guayaquil 090150, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Region: Ecuador > Guayas Province > Guayaquil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Guayaquil
#2 Family Hotel in Guayaquil
#2 Business Hotel in Guayaquil
#2 Luxury Hotel in Guayaquil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Oro Verde Guayaquil 4.5*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Oro Verde Guayaquil, Member of Worldhotels offers an exquisite combination of European experience and Ecuadorian hospitality. Our full-service, downtown hotel offers the ultimate in sophistication and comfort for business and leisure travelers alike. Our hotel's superb location in the Guayaquil commercial and financial district means you are within walking distance of popular tourist attractions, entertainment and shopping as well as cultural and historical sites. The hotel is also just a quick eight-minute drive from the airport and offers complimentary transfers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Oro Verde Guayaquil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Oro Verde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing