We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money for a short stay”
Review of Hotel Rizzo

Hotel Rizzo
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Rizzo
Ranked #41 of 62 Hotels in Guayaquil
Reviewed 23 August 2009

Good friendly stuff, service was good. The building is really old so are the rooms - so you cannot expect much for good facilities but this hotel is in a safe area in Guyaquil and good location to walk around the river and the shopping area. Noisy at night - but I think it's the same for all the hotels next to Hotel Rizzo.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CK_traveller8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (30)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 30 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2008

I had just stayed at the Ramada but refused to pay $86 per night for an average hotel so I sought a cheaper option. The Rizzo was recommended by the Lonely Planet travel guide and I stayed here back in 2002.

The hallways are dark and dreary. The linens have a musty smell to them that kept me up most of the night. On top of that, the a/c was not working properly so my room was hot. Rooms include cable tv.

You get what you pay for. I wanted a cheap price and I got a cheap hotel. After one night I decided to leave Guayaquil and visit Quito, Baños etc.

If all you care about is saving money and you will only stay 1 night, then this is a good option. Otherwise, it makes sense to pay just a little more for a hotel down the block were you can at least sleep comfortably. Across the street I saw the Hotel Palace and Best Western. Good Luck!

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Coronel72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2007

The Hotel Rizzo is in downtown Guayaquil. The address is [--]; phone [--].

This multistory hotel was built in the 1970s, and the owners have done the best that they can with a now-aging building.

Someone made a reservation for me for the one night of 12 April 2007. A desk clerk and TWO bellhops were waiting for my arrival by taxi at 2 a.m. Nobody spoke English, nor I Spanish, but we communicated effectively nevertheless. The bill was $40 for the night (refreshing, considering the rates of other downtown hotels).

The bellhop escorted me up the elevator to room #404, showed me where the light-switches were, started the air conditioner, and even set the TV on an English-speaking channel for me. The view outside the unscreened, openable window was of green treetops and a large cathedral, with the city streets below. The curtains were adequate to block lights and sunlight from entering the room.

The room contained a (comfortable) full bed with clean linens, a low dresser on which sat the TV, a small closet area with hangers, two nightstands, a chair, a phone, and a mini-bar fridge stocked with alcohol, sodas, and water. Atop the fridge was a wicker basket with travel-sized toothpaste, a toothbrush, a disposable razor, a tiny bar of soap, and a packet of shampoo. There was room to set a large suitcase on the floor, and just enough space to walk around the bed. The floor was clean linoleum, and the room door did not squeak.

As every hotel room NEEDS, there were extra electrical outlets for plug-in items (alarm clock, hair dryer). Ecuador and the U.S. use the same current.

The bathroom was up a rather high step from the main room. The sink had no extra space on which to set toiletries, but I set my shaving-kit atop the fridge and used a boardinghouse reach. The bath and hand towels were somewhat thin, and (common to Ecuador, I found) there were no washcloths. The toilet paper was thin by U.S. standards (this is also common to Ecuador and perhaps to more of Latin America). The sink had only cold water(common to Ecuador, and who needs hot water there, anyway?).

I slept undisturbed by noise inside or outside. I awoke early, sweating, because the air conditioner (which did not seem to have controllable settings) was blowing only cool air, not cold, and it was in the far corner of the room. Even after showering and shaving in cold water, I was still sweating profusely, because [1] I usually sweat anywhere, [2] the A/C was strong but not cold, and [3] this was Ecuador (= hot). I did sit directly in front of the blowing air and managed to dry off a bit, but only right before I checked out did actual cold air begin to blow.

The hotel has a small restaurant downstairs. Tell them your room number, and you'll get a free continental breakfast of rolls & pastries, coffee, and juice. The waitress and waiter were very friendly and industrious.

Morning checkout was interesting, because the guest elevator was apparently on the fritz. I had to cram "Bagzilla" (my big suitcase) and two smaller bags onto the narrow freight elevator, which was in heavy use by industrious, friendly workmen who were replacing fluorescent bulbs and other such items. This elevator didn't quite match the floor level of the hotel hallway, but the workers helped me with my bags.

In the daylight, I saw that the (nicely air-conditioned) lobby has an attractive front desk, a comfortable sofa, and tasteful decoration. A security guard hovered within a square meter outside the front door. The morning desk clerks, neither of whom spoke English, directed me to a place where I could make a local phone call. The hotel is ideally situated downtown within a block of every kind of store and business that a traveler could want.

Bummed though I was by the faulty A/C unit in my room, I would stay here again if I needed to be in downtown Guayaquil. Although the Hotel Rizzo is not luxurious, it is clean, safe, and inexpensive, and I recommend it to you.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
38  Thank TBoneTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PedroHaddad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jose C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: elegir una habitación con vista a la calle
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carlos C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank kaniosbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guayaquil hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Doral
Hotel Doral
#43 of 62 in Guayaquil
53 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Varadero Internacional
0 mi away
Hotel Alexander
Hotel Alexander
#40 of 62 in Guayaquil
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Suites Guayaquil
Suites Guayaquil
#25 of 62 in Guayaquil
52 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Fontana
Hotel La Fontana
#36 of 62 in Guayaquil
87 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hostal Suites Madrid
Hostal Suites Madrid
#22 of 62 in Guayaquil
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rizzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rizzo

Address: Clemente Ballen 319 y Av Chile, Guayaquil 090150, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Guayas Province > Guayaquil
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 62 Hotels in Guayaquil
Price Range: £31 - £33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Rizzo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 291
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Rizzo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rizzo Hotel Guayaquil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing