We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent staff but needs some work”
Review of Hostal Chasqui

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal Chasqui
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We had a pleasant stay at Hostal Chasqui but this was mainly down to the staff. When we arrived Milton gave us a tour, a map and loads of information about the town and excursions that we could do. Both he and Roberto were always friendly and tried to fix things straight away for us. We had a double room with a bathroom for $24 a night. It was very cosy, the beds were comfortable and it was very clean. The wifi didn't work in the room, but worked just outside the room where there were some chairs. There was a DVD player in the room and they have a massive collection of DVDs (many in English) so that was great. The shared kitchen is massive, but could do with a bit of a clean and at times the fridge was unplugged.
The main issues we had was that we only had hot water on one of three days, there was no water at all two of three mornings and there seemed to be only one gas canister, so every time we wanted to use the kitchen or the shower we had to ask for the gas...
An advantage of the hostel is it's location. It's close to the centre of town but far away from the noise.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carly f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (127)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 127 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2013

After a 15 hour bus journey over the colombian border, I really could care less what the hostel was like as long as it had a bed- Hostel Chasqui was SUCH a welcome sight! They welcomed us in late at 11:30, and gave us our choice of two 2 rooms.The owner (Roberto?) and main staff guy (Milton) were always so kind to us, and every suggestion they made was great- food, outings, etc. the room was spacious enough for us and the shower hot, we added 4 days on to the itinerary and stayed a week! They will come clean the room and change linens, but asked us first. The kitchen is totally decent for cooking, plus has beautiful views. You can easily walk all around town safely, I think we only took a cab one time. I can't say enough nice things about these guys or Otavalo!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Namastekelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Roberto who runs the staff was the most useful and friendly hostel owner I have come across in nearly 2 years of backpacking. He gave us lots of information about the surroundings, onward travel to Colombia, and a map.

Room was very clean, bed and linen was fine. Kitchen was large and reasonably well equipped. Roberto even offered to make us popcorn, which is a personal favourite.

With this hostel you can't go wrong in terms of room, facilities ect.

But the staff are outstanding and give you all the insider helpful advice which really helps to make a place.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We were planning on staying here one night just to hit the Saturday market. We ended up staying three nights because the staff was great.

Upon arrival, the owner (we think), dropped our stuff off in our rooms (very clean, with bathroom, TV and DVD player), showed us the vast array of DVDs incase it rains, the washboard, the beautiful kitchen and multiple terraces on the roof overlooking the entire city. Pointed out the landmarks from the roof as well as on a map that he designed himself. The map listed prices and times as well as restaurants, landmarks and hours of operation. Super useful.

Every time we saw him or his son (we think) they were very nice and helpful.

We would recommend this place in a heartbeat, already have.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick03717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

I stayed here for two nights with my sister. Mostly we were just happy to have a hot shower, but the hostal itself was cheap and great.
Close to the town centre, and grocery stores.
The Kitchen is a little crowded and there isn't really a good place for people to mingle.. but definitely a great place to stay!

Room Tip: I heard some of the rooms have tvs.. we really weren't picky with our room and just took what we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cmacmillz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Short walking distance from the town's squares. Roberto was very kind and imformative with any question. the hostel is nice and clean, there's a lovely open space with city view where the kitchen area is and he kindly let us use some of the spices growing there for cooking and tea. since the hostel wasn't fully occupied, me and my friend got a private double room for each one at the same price with a nice balcony and tv with DVD and theres a huge selection of movies too. the only thing that bothered was bad smell in the bathroom. Roberto immediately tried to resolve this problem and when that didn't work he offered another private room. all in all nice well located place with very good service.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fuzzylol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

The hostal has large variety of the rooms, ask to see several of them as we did. Nothing seemed to be a problem for the owner Roberto or his helper Milton.
We ended up choosing the penthouse, large room with a balcony, huge windows, private bathroom and a corridor. The views from this room over Otavalo, Cotatachi mountain were just stunning.

Milton gave us a map of Otavalo, all the practical information one needs (banks, markets, shopping, trips).

Roberto provided information on how to organize the trek to Fuya Fuya and Imbabura. He even went to the taxi stop with us to arrange the right truck to drive us to Laguna Mojanda, then when he found out we are having issues with the local sim card we bought in Quito, he asked his friend to help us.

When Roberto heard we are interested in trying cuy, he offered to drive us to the right restaurant. This guy is so sincere and caring for the well being of his guests that made our stay special.

Room Tip: check out the pentouse
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boleslav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Otavalo hotels
0 mi away
Hostal Riviera-Sucre
Hostal Riviera-Sucre
#2 of 14 in Otavalo
153 reviews
0 mi away
El Andariego
El Andariego
#3 of 41 in Otavalo
22 reviews
0 mi away
Hostal Curinan
Hostal Curinan
#8 of 41 in Otavalo
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hacienda Cusin
Hacienda Cusin
#2 of 33 in Otavalo
536 reviews
0 mi away
Casa Mojanda
Casa Mojanda
#1 of 14 in Otavalo
228 reviews
0 mi away
Hosteria Cabanas del Lago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Chasqui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Chasqui

Address: Piedrahita 141, Otavalo 100450, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Imbabura Province > Otavalo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 41 Speciality Lodging in Otavalo
Price Range: £16 - £22 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing