We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem in Otavalo”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal Riviera-Sucre
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Otavalo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We stayed at Riviera Sucre for a week as we arrived for the Saturday market and then took a Spanish course for a week. We found this hotel to be absolutely excellent value for money. Our room opening on to the garden (best for quiet) was roomy and spotlessly clean as was the large bathroom. The garden is very pleasant. When we were there no staff member spoke any English but they were good at being helpful with restaurant suggestions and so on anyway. I would suggest posting the breakfast menu more prominently as the first morning we did not realize they served breakfast. Their breakfasts are excellent, large and delicious -- excellent value at $3 or $4. It is very cold in the evenings though, and I would gladly have paid $5 to rent a heater per night though there was a nice fire in the common room most evenings. Recommend this place whole heartedly to all ages of travellers.

Room Tip: The garden rooms are pleasant and quieter.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dabers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (145)
There are newer reviews for Hostal Riviera-Sucre
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 145 reviews

Reviewed 21 November 2013

We just get there without any reservation at 6 in the morning, we got the last room available. Room was ok, nothing special. They didn't tell us about the breakfast, the place or the area, maybe because we arrive such early?
Anyway we slept good (enought blankets for the cold!), room was ok and clean.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elisabeth444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

Great location, great atmosphere! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here! We just walked into town with no reservation and these great people took us in, showed us around and even recommended rooms that would be quieter and farthest from the road! And an awesome breakfast too!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jsharpton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

This small gem in Otavalo was so exquisite that we re-arranged our itinerary to spend an extra day! Large rooms, beautifully decorated with hand painted decor, matched the spotless public areas. The Riviera Sucre has the look and feel of a boutique hotel you might have encountered in an earlier era: senor and senora and their diligent staff make every effort to assure your comfort - and fun! Each morning we leisurely sipped coffee, then tucked into hot breakfasts, while chatting up fellow travellers from around the world. The local Otavalo Indian mercados and Cotacachi a short distance to the north of Otavalo (with superb leather crafts!) were top-ranked Ecuador stops on our trip. The Riviera Sucre Hotel is the perfect springboard to enjoy both...

Room Tip: We stayed upstairs. Quiet and cozy! There is no fitness centre (and I can't seem to remove the s...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eric T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Just departed after 2 nights with family and friends(3rooms) staying here. It was a delightful experience. The place is very clean, nice courtyard, hot water, good breakfasts(extra$)

It is a excellent moderately priced hotel.

We would recommend this hotel as a good place to stay

Safe travels

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chouliha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013 via mobile

This was a great hostel in a good location that is off the plaza so it isn't too noisy. It was a good base for a few days in Otavalo. We received a friendly welcome, beds were comfortable, and there is a lovely courtyard. We would recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosedan13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Good location, 8 blocks from the “Plaza de Ponchos”. Right next door to restaurant Quino. An old building, clean environment. Friendly staff. The reason why I got this room - I asked for a quiet space where I can't hear traffic noises.
This room faced the small outside courtyard garden, opposite the entrance to the kitchen door. The beds were clean, the pillows VERY thin, there was hot water, but unfortunately I felt the effects of 'mold' in my chest, the next morning. This particular room was dark, cold and moldy. At night, all I could do to keep warm, was to jump into bed and cover myself with the blankets - thankfully that kept me warm.
The only reason I rate this place 3 stars, is due to its location and friendly staff - but generally when you visit ANY accommodation establishment in Ecuador, the staff is always friendly and helpful. I moved to a different place the next day.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jolanie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Otavalo hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel el Indio
Hotel el Indio
#8 of 14 in Otavalo
24 reviews
2.3 mi away
Casa Mojanda
Casa Mojanda
#1 of 14 in Otavalo
224 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel El Indio Inn
Hotel El Indio Inn
#4 of 14 in Otavalo
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Coraza
Coraza
#6 of 14 in Otavalo
43 reviews
19.5 mi away
Hosteria Hacienda San Francisco
8.8 mi away
Hosteria Pueblo Viejo
Hosteria Pueblo Viejo
#11 of 14 in Otavalo
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Riviera-Sucre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Riviera-Sucre

Address: Garcia Moreno 380 y Roca, Otavalo, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Imbabura Province > Otavalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Otavalo
Price Range: £31 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hostal Riviera-Sucre is located in the beautiful and historic city of Otavalo, Ecuador. Its beautiful Colonial architecture includes two stone water fountains and three courtyards in which to sit, read or write or enjoy the sun. It also features a library with a book exchange as well two inviting fireplaces to warm the spirit. The hostal is the oldest in Otavalo yet offers modern conveniences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hostal Riviera-Sucre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing