We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Small Hotel in the Center of Otavalo”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Otavalo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Riviera-Sucre
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Otavalo
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
137 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Decent Small Hotel in the Center of Otavalo”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

This hotel is worth checking out because of its central location, reasonable price, and garden rooms (in the center of the city). The staff didn't speak English, but we got by. However, the shower was an issue. The hot water in the shower is heated by propane into a wall unit. We initially had scalding hot water for 5 seconds, then cold water for 5 seconds, repeat. After I mentioned this to one of the staff (using google translate to make sure he understood), he said he fixed it and we had hot water for about 10 seconds and then the propane heater seemed to try to restart, but wouldn't, so no more hot water (no cycling like before). In addition to the hot water problem, the shower head was malfunctioning and most of the water was flowing out of the seam of the shower head and not the shower head holes. So, most of the water wasn't getting spread onto our bodies. Please just spend the $5 to $10 bucks and get a new shower head (and fix the hot water problem). There is also Wi-Fi at the hotel (called wee-fee in Ecuador).

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bostondave11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    44
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
19
57
18
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Hotel Riviera-Sucre was a wonderful choice for us in Otavalo. For the price of a hostel private room ($36) we got the space and luxury of a small hotel. The room was very large, but a little cold. The breakfast was the best I've had in Ecuador, hands down. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. The free wifi was decent (better than other hostels we stayed in, but not outstanding). Good location.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

We paid $30 for a room with 2 beds and private bathroom. The rooms were spacious and the entire hostel was quite quiet. Our room (1) was situated on the rd side, however we did not have any noise issues, even being there on the weekend.
Wifi seemed to drop in and out every 15minutes but they do offer internet on computers for 0.25c for 15minutes.
Luke warm water and our towels/bin/toilet paper was not changed over the days we were there, however this wasn't a big issue for us.
Staff couldn't speak any English but definitely went to the effort of being kind to us.
Location is good. About 8 blocks from the bus station (very safe walk along main road) which took about 15 minutes to walk. There is a plaza about 1 block away with everything you need- ATM, bakery, Coffee Grind (amazing coffee bar) and some good restaurants. The big markets on Saturday also start from this little plaza and go down to the square.

Perfect location.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JessBeavon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
199 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

We had quite a pleasant stay here. On arrival they had 'lost' our booking that u had confirmed with them via email just a week earlier, luckily they found room for us.

Otavalo is a super safe town, it was a bit annoying because you had to ring a bell to get someone to let you in but the person sometimes took a while. We got no map, assistance or information on arrival not did they speak any English. We had a private room with bathroom for $30, however our bins were not changed in three days and nor were our towels. The rooms are spacious, huge beds, bathroom is great but water is temperamental like warm..

The wifi is a bit shotty - on and off depending when you use it. Location is excellent only one block from a beautiful plaza and a fantastic coffee shop, Cafe Grind. For $30 it is fantastic value for two people with a private bathroom.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kirsty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belo Horizonte, MG
Level Contributor
166 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The rooms are huge and beautifully decorated. The hotel is beautiful and the rate is cheap. Breakfast is cheap but it is not included. The staff is really friendly and they have wifi. And you can walk to the famous market plaza del ponchos.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carolinadias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 29 June 2014

This was recommended to us by our hostel in Quito. It was beautifully painted, with hammocks everywhere and a cool subtle political touch to it, which I loved. The owners were just lovely and were great on filling us in on what to do and where to go. Otavalo is just a wonderful place anyway but the location of this hostel was central and safe. For around $28US a night, we had big room with two double beds, a lovely tiled en suite and a view of the mountains from the balcony. Continental breakfast was $3.50, we had free wifi and a tv in our room. I wish we could have stayed longer as it was the perfect wee 3 day break from Quito that we needed.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ExploradoraNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

This hotel is centrally located. The inner courtyard room was spartan but clean , safe and quiet. I did opt to pay an extra $2. per night for a room heater while I was there, which made the chilly nights more comfortable. The shower was spacious with plenty of hot water.There were outside rooms in the back , 11 , 12 , 13 and 16 that all opened out onto a lovely garden. I would ask for one of those next time. Don't waste your money on their breakfast...it consisted of a hard roll that you can buy anywhere on the street.There are plenty of better places to have a morning meal.

Room Tip: Ask for the outside garden rooms 10,11, 12, 13 and 16 in the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Otavalo hotels
2.3 mi away
Casa Mojanda
Casa Mojanda
#1 of 14 in Otavalo
215 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel El Indio Inn
Hotel El Indio Inn
#5 of 14 in Otavalo
112 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel el Indio
Hotel el Indio
#8 of 14 in Otavalo
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel Santa Fe
#7 of 14 in Otavalo
60 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostal Dona Esther
Hostal Dona Esther
#6 of 27 in Otavalo
151 reviews
0.2 mi away
Flying Donkey
Flying Donkey
#3 of 27 in Otavalo
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riviera-Sucre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riviera-Sucre

Property: Hotel Riviera-Sucre
Address: Garcia Moreno 380 | y Roca, Otavalo 06, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Imbabura Province > Otavalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Otavalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 16

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing