We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place, courteous staff, good locale” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostal Rincon del Viajero

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Otavalo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hostal Rincon del Viajero
Canton
Level Contributor
65 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nice place, courteous staff, good locale”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2011

This is the better of the two hostels on Roca street. Same price, but nicer people. They offer a fireplace in the courtyard and hammocks with a view on the roof! There is a small book exchange. The continental (included) breakfast is simple. El Rincon is an easy walk to the main market and pretty much everywhere else in Otavalo proper.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    35
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
5
25
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sosnowiec, Poland
Level Contributor
210 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2011

Very close to Otovalo market. Poor breakfasts. Different hours of brakfasts in room and in reception - it was the reason that one day we were late 5 min and we didn't get meal. A lot of english speaking people (restaurant, reception).

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PrzemekC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2011

We opted for a private ensuite. It's basic but clean. There is no kitchen but breakfast is included. The roof terrace and hammocks were great to end the day. There is a terrific Chinese restaurant up the road on the same side if the street. The market is really close by. Mid week it's quiet but we enjoyed our stay. 

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geronimoturtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2011

The actual hostal itself was very beautiful inside, there was a communal room with a fire place that is perfect to have a night time drink in. Breakfast is freshly made everymorning from a menu (there was a variety to choose from).
I felt secure as the main gate required a buzzer so nobody that wasn't a guest could just walk in. There was always someone in reception to let me in and check we were okay.

The town center (or the famous indian market that you'll find in most travel guides) is very very close and within walking distance. The staff are very friendly and helpful and reccomended some great 'off the tourist track' places to visit that you wouldn't normally see.

I would definitely reccomend as the value for money was excellent.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Guildfordmagnolia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newberg, Oregon
Level Contributor
201 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2011

The location was terrific, the staff was pleasant. My room had a padlock instead of a regular door lock. The room was very inexpensive at $12.50 a night including breakfast. The courtyard was charming. It was a little inconvenient to enter as you needed to buzz to get the gate unlocked. My biggest disappointment was with the bathroom which was very small and the towel was dingy, threadbare and about 20 years old. It really was sad. On the flip side, I had a marvelouse breakfast there and they made me watermelon juice - Sandia Jugos which was fantastic. This was really good for visiting the Saturday market so I thought I got good value for my money.

Room Tip: Use their email to reserve room in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StarrsySmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
174 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2011

This hostel is very clean and has endless HOT water. The rooms are basic but very clean. They have hammocks on the roof and the Courtyard has a fireplace room. Very near the market and shopping. They have free eggs,toast and tea. The bathrooms were clean with soap and very hot water that never ran out. They even let my dogs stay. Wifi but not in all the rooms.
Great clean place.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank theeyesoftheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Northwest
Level Contributor
269 reviews
163 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2011

This hostal is pretty much everything you want in a snug Ecuadorian hostal.

Pluses:
It's adorable. Cute, snug rooms.
Cute grounds, cafe, common areas
Rooftop hammocks!
Great breakfast (included)
Friendly, helpful, and very kind staff
Clean and secure
Cheap!!
Great location near the market, 2 blocks from the bus station
Hot water

Minuses:
none. I loved this place.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cool_jonez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Otavalo hotels
0.0 mi away
Hostal El Geranio
Hostal El Geranio
#8 of 37 in Otavalo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostal Chasqui
Hostal Chasqui
#5 of 37 in Otavalo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
0.0 mi away
Flying Donkey
Flying Donkey
#3 of 27 in Otavalo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hostal Dona Esther
Hostal Dona Esther
#7 of 27 in Otavalo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa Mojanda
Casa Mojanda
#1 of 14 in Otavalo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Casa Sol Otavalo
La Casa Sol Otavalo
#1 of 1 in Peguche
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Rincon del Viajero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Rincon del Viajero

Property: Hostal Rincon del Viajero
Address: Roca entre Quito y Quiroga | Roca 11-07, Otavalo N/0, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Imbabura Province > Otavalo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 37 Speciality Lodging in Otavalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A quiet environment,secure,qualified staff,friendliness and culture. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing