We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great location, staff, breakfast & lovely roof terrace” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostal Rincon del Viajero

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Otavalo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hostal Rincon del Viajero
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great location, staff, breakfast & lovely roof terrace”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed for three nights and very much enjoyed it. We had a double room for $30 with own bathroom. The rooms are quite small but there are plenty of communal areas such as tv room & a fabulous roof terrace with great views of the mountains.

The location is perfect, just a couple of blocks to the market. Loads of cheap food places near, such as Papi pollo ($2 for chicken & chips).

Breakfast was good as was the service. Laundry service was good, if a little pricey.

Whilst this place isn't perfect, it is good value and I enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ross M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    35
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
5
25
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed three nights in Room 6 (private double + bathroom). The room was clean, spacious had a desk, wardrobe and TV. The bathroom was clean and the shower had hot water. Wi-fi connection was fine in the room and reliable.

The common areas are pretty nice: a fireplace downstairs, a cafeteria and roof terrace that serves cocktails in the evenings and breakfast in the morning.

The staff are extremely friendly and helpful and the place is nice and quiet.

We couldn't have asked for more.

Room Tip: Room 6 worked for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank twohermitcrabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

El Rincon del Viajero was just fine. It´s a nice cozy place near town. It isn´t exactly as advertised though. The website mentions a "garden terrace with hammocks" so I envisioned an outdoor space, but there wasn´t one. And no hammocks to be found. The setup of the rooms made it easy to get to know your neighbors, but it wasn´t necessarily easy to meet other guests. The staff were very friendly and helpful! I would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank socrafts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

We stayed in Otavalo for two night in this hostal. The hostal is close to the bus station. The rooms are simple but clean and confortable; however, the bathroom started smelling after the first night; that is the only inconvenient we had with the place. We did not say anything until we left so they could have done something about it, that was our bad. The breakfast is included and it is simple but good.
The best part of the hostel is Don Edgar, who works at the reception at night. He is very enthusiastic about helping the guest and he is very kind. The rest of the staff is also very friendly and helpful.
I would like to give this hostel 5 points but the smelly bathroom was a bit unpleasant.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarioferCol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

I can not say anything bad about this hostal. Staff were really helpful, room, shower, free breakfast and lovely communal room with an open fire were all excellent. Location was also perfect and check out was not until one pm.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyaEnda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

Our family of four found this charming little hotel on TripAdvisor and were not disappointed. It is close to the wonderful Saturday market at Plaza de Poncho and there are several good restaurants within walking distance. (The Mexican restaurant on the nearby corner was extra good)
Staff was friendly and helpful and the room was small but neat and very clean. The rooftop terrace was a nice place to read and relax.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank badgett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013 via mobile

We didn't have a reservation in Otavalo and this was the first lodging we got to from the bus station. We were lucky! This place has a good location a few blocks away from the Saturday market. It's clean and quiet. We had a room with its own bathroom, though many of the rooms shar the bathroom at the end of the hall. Breakfast is good, in a sunny breakfast room and made to order. We also found the strength of the wifi signal to be better than many other places we stayed in Ecuador and Peru.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cjdoza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Otavalo hotels
0.0 mi away
Flying Donkey
Flying Donkey
#3 of 26 in Otavalo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostal Chasqui
Hostal Chasqui
#4 of 35 in Otavalo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostal El Geranio
Hostal El Geranio
#9 of 35 in Otavalo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Casa Mojanda
Casa Mojanda
#1 of 14 in Otavalo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Casa Sol Otavalo
La Casa Sol Otavalo
#1 of 1 in Peguche
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Luna Mountain Lodge
La Luna Mountain Lodge
#1 of 35 in Otavalo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Rincon del Viajero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Rincon del Viajero

Property: Hostal Rincon del Viajero
Address: Roca entre Quito y Quiroga | Roca 11-07, Otavalo N/0, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Imbabura Province > Otavalo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 35 Speciality Lodging in Otavalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A quiet environment,secure,qualified staff,friendliness and culture. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing