We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enchanting home from home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hosteria Rose Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hosteria Rose Cottage
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Enchanting home from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2013

I've just returned from a wonderful three-night stay at Rose Cottage over New Year's Eve and really didn't want to leave!

I stayed in Chimborazo house, a private cottage-style detached house with a fireplace, sofas, fully equipped kitchen and space to sleep 5 very comfortably. We were so impressed with the owner's attention to detail in decorating our house and the whole hostel. There were so many beautiful little touches that made us feel immediately at home.

The location is stunning with incredible views across fields and valleys. They've got an impressive mirador with hammocks, so after a hard day on one of the many local hikes or shopping at the market, you can relax here and watch locals ploughing fields with an ox and cart or star gaze in the evening. The grounds are beautifully maintained and full of flowers

Rose Cottage has a warm and welcoming atmosphere and it's a great place to meet people. Dinner's served at a long table and beers are plentiful! It has all the practical things you need like wifi access and deliciously hot showers, but is so much more. Rosa, the owner, has really made Rose Cottage feel like a home from home.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CharingX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    22
    14
    5
    5
See reviews for
11
45
23
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2012

I had the choice of coming here, or staying in Quito...and, I am so glad I came here! I planned to stay for one night, but stayed for two (and wanted to stay for longer!). The owner is great. If you are a vegetarian, gluten-free, vegan, or whatever (or, a combination of special food needs) the owner will take great care to prepare food for you. I have a severe gluten allergy, and I am a vegetarian. I ate really well every night, and the dinners were really well-priced. For me, this would have been a selling point at any hostel, but the best thing about Rose Cottage was the location!
If you are a budget traveller, and you don´t have money for the $3 taxi ride into Otavalo, this is probably not the place for you (you can, however, walk). That being said, the three dollar taxi ride to this hostel IS worth it (and, I am a student in debt!). The view is outstanding, and the cottages are quite and well equipped.

The owner is also very warm and friendly. She arranged horseback riding for me, and I had planned to eat my own food for breakfast (since I would be waking up after the kitchen closed, and knew I would need food)... however, 15 mins before I had to go, I heard a knock on my cottage door. It was the owner telling me she had left some food out for me! It was really thoughtful of her, and I appreciated the extra attention. (However, if you are going horseback riding, and know how to ride horses, be sure to tell her to tell the organizers in advance... otherwise, you will be on a horse that is being guided by her walking neighbours! But, if you tell them, they will let you ride normally. I dont know how to ride horses, so this was fine with me!).

I didnt want to go at the end of my stay. There are so many neat things about this place... if I were staying in the country for longer, i NEVER would have stayed for only two days.

I am on the edge of giving this hostel an "excellent" review. However, there are a few minor things that are holding me back. First, I rely on the computer to stay in touch when I am traveling... but, the kitchen (where the computer was located) opens and closes a little randomly. If you have a computer, the wifi is 24-7 (only in the main building though, but you can go in 24-7). However, if you are trying to arrange a time to chat with someone, or need to use the computer a little bit outside of the kitchen´s open-closing hours, it is a bit difficult. I think there just needs to be a computer in the library. I know it risks getting stolen, but for the price of the hostel, I dont think it would be unreasonable to put a netbook in an area that is accessible all the time (or, at least, reasonably predictably accessible). So, if you really need internet for whatever reason, this is important to keep in mind (my smartphone had just been stolen in an upsetting situation, so I would have appreciated more of a chance to keep in touch).

Otherwise, this was a charming property with a lot of potential. I highly reccomend it!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smfische
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caracas, Venezuela
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2012

We recently stayed at Rose Cottage through connections who had highly recommended it from their experience last year. It was a great choice! The newly -installed wifi facility was certainly a bonus but above all, the friendliness of Richard one of Rosa's children was a real asset to us. He was helpful throughout the process - even when our flight was delayed for hours in Bogota and our pick-up had to be rescheduled from Quito. Very friendly and, as others have said, a lovely location with great little bungalows. Lupe is a good cook - even down to Shepherd's pie and she will only get better! We had lovely breakfasts and it was easy to see why people could stay longer than anticipated - if you had the time. Otavalo lies about a 45 minute walk (or a ride - we hitch-hiked) down in the valley. The great market - including the animal market too on Saturday includes the Shenandoah Pie shop and an array of stalls and shops in this booming town. We had first visited Otavalo 30 years ago when it really was an Indian market but having done that, Rose cottage, it's location and facilities meant that as a place to chill, it offers so much! Congratulations to Richard and his parents - great place to stay!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quito, Ecuador
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2012

I arrived at Hosteria rose cottage just as dinner was being served up on a Friday evening-the food cooked here every evening is great-nutritious, really tasty and lots of it! I was immediately made to feel really welcome and my only regret is that my stay was not longer than 2 nights. Staff at the cottage are super friendly and really informed about the area and the many activities that you can involve yourself in. There is a real range of room types that suit all budgets; I had my own room above the restaurant area-clean and very comfortable and the shower down the hall was an absolute delight-really hot with brilliant pressure-coming from Quito this was a very welcomed and only made it more difficult to leave! The setting of the cottage is absolutely picturesque-in short-you will love this place!

Room Tip: Ask to see the different types of rooms-you are sure to find something that you like!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johanna817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2012 via mobile

We are a couple in our mid 20s and this is one of the best hostels we've stayed in while travelling South America for the past 8 months.
Very friendly Spanish speaking staff who are always happy to help, also the son of the owner was here during our stay, he is also very helpful (English guy) and went out of his way to show us local attractions. Very clean rooms, gorgeous views of Otavalo, $3 taxi to town, great food in the restaurant on site. We booked for one night and have been here for 4 nights and we still don't want to leave!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SnM_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2012

Me and my partner stayed at Rose Cottage for 6 nights in August 2012, far more than we had originally planned, allowing us to take advantage of the stay 5 nights and get the 6th free offer. We stayed in Cabana Cayambe ($30 a night), which is a small wooden chalet, perfect for a couple. The cabana is very cosy and comes with an electric heater.

The setting of the hostel is stunning, a bit like a postcard. It is surrounded by volcanoes and beautiful rolling green hills. We spent our days relaxing in the hammocks with a book or taking day trips to Mojanda lake, the leather town or to the Saturday animal market. The hostel will give you a free lift to the market on Saturday.

The hostel is a good walk from town but taxis are cheap at $3. I don't see the location as any kind of drawback as its the setting away from the town which kept us there for so many days. Food is available in the form of group meals ($6 for dinner including salad and dessert), which was very sociable and the food very tasty.

Wifi is available, along with a tv room with dvds.

Highly recommended!

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AsherG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012

a beautifully situated hostal with charming little houses which look a bit like they've been photoshopped onto the horizon! ridiculously good food (in huge portions!) cooked by the ecuadorian manager/cook, Lupe, who was so friendly and made sure i was always happy. and the whole place is kept scrupulously clean by the giggly, cheerful cleaner, Martha. my stay overlapped with the stay of the ecuadorian owner, Rosa whose infectious eccentric personality always made me smile. Rosa's english daughter Rita was also staying when I visited and i couldn't have wished for better company- such a lovely bunch of people, am so glad i met them all. beautiful walks from the doorstep, wifi, tennis, millions of dvds, book swap, instruments to play, table tennis, and otavalo which is the FULL of artisans an incredibly pretty, freshy airy 1 hour walk away. the guest houses overlook spectacular views and are set on a beautifully manicured set of gardens, attended to by another ecuadorian lady who also helped out in the kitchen sporting a union jack apron which made me chuckle. if i could go back, i'd go without a second thought.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank arosier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Otavalo hotels
0.2 mi away
Casa Mojanda
Casa Mojanda
#1 of 14 in Otavalo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
21.4 mi away
Hosteria Hacienda San Francisco
0.5 mi away
La Luna Mountain Lodge
La Luna Mountain Lodge
#1 of 37 in Otavalo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Balcon del Lago
Balcon del Lago
#3 of 37 in Otavalo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hostal Dona Esther
Hostal Dona Esther
#7 of 27 in Otavalo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hostal El Geranio
Hostal El Geranio
#8 of 37 in Otavalo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hosteria Rose Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hosteria Rose Cottage

Property: Hosteria Rose Cottage
Address: Mojandita-Curubi | Via a Lagunas de Mojanda, Otavalo 100450, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Imbabura Province > Otavalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 37 Speciality Lodging in Otavalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOSTERIA ROSE COTTAGE - A retreat in the heart of the Andes, and the perfect place for exploring the region’s attractions!Rose Cottage is an idyllic Hosteria with wonderful views in a rural setting overlooking the town of Otavalo, 3 kilometers away. Situated at an altitude of 2,800 metres, you’ll find it easy to forget that ten minutes down the road is the hive of activity of Otavalo, home to Ecuador’s most celebrated indigenous market. Our relaxed atmosphere and large open spaces make us popular with backpackers, couples and families alike.With seven different houses we have accommodation to suit all budgets. We offer a fully equipped family house, romantic chalet and a luxury apartment as well as double and single rooms (some with fireplace) and a comfortable dorm. Campers are also welcome. As well as a being an ideal base for independent travellers visiting the region, we are ideal for groups, parties, meetings, weddings, educational tours and learning Spanish.HOSTERIA ROSE COTTAGE OFFERS –- Attractive, affordable accommodation- Comfortable dormitory with TV room, safe storage & book exchange- Beautiful family house with stunning view & fireplace- Luxury cottage/suites with private fireplaces- Attractive restaurant with fireplace, terrace and live music- Spacious Library/meeting room with seating for 30- Hammocks, camping & outdoor log fire- Painting materials and musical instruments available- Friendly animals on site- Picturesque walks/horserding from Hosteria- Tennis court/table-tennis ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Hosteria Rose Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing