We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Rustic place on a lake”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hosteria Cabanas del Lago
Ranked #2 of 27 Otavalo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Acton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice Rustic place on a lake”
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We stayed here as part of a tour and really enjoyed it. Even in July the night was pretty cool so it was nice to return to the room after dinner and find a fire in the fireplace (we'd been asked if we wanted to have it) and fuzzy hot water bottles in the bed! They are obviously a family place on the weekends with a mini-golf setup and boats for the lake, but it was quiet on the weeknight. We didn't have a lot of time to explore the area, but it didn't seem like there was a lot to do or other places to eat in the area. But for what we wanted, it was great.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kent S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cabanasdellagoadm, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hosteria Cabanas del Lago, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear guest:
Thanks for your comments. We are sorry for the late response. By the time you wrote them, we didn't have a good performance in social networks and also, we didn't have a assigned person to do that labor. Thanks for take the time to write them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    64
    13
    6
    6
See reviews for
96
79
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sunnyvale, CA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

This place is very beautiful, with fantastic view of the lake, cozy rooms with fireplaces. The staff also brings bed warmers before night.

They have a little petting zoo with rabbits and chickens, a mini golf course, and a trampoline. Great fun for the kids.

Unfortunately for us, we only stayed the night with the Gate One tour, so we could not have fun on the lake.

Otavalo also gave us a very rare experience of the Quechua Festival of the Sun. Our bus got bogged down in the middle of the town by the celebrating crowds, so we started walking on foot to the hotel. The local Velasco family allowed us to dance and march with them, and it was just unbelievable.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tr128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cabanasdellagoadm, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hosteria Cabanas del Lago, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear guest:
Thanks for your comments. We are sorry for the late response. By the time you wrote them, we didn't have a good performance in social networks and also, we didn't have a assigned person to do that labor. Thanks for take the time to write them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
125 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We stayed at this place while on a Gate 1 Tour of Ecuador. It was amazing and we wished we could have stayed longer. The rooms were spacious and comfortable and seemed fairly new. Everything was very clean and the grounds were well cared for. Every room had some patio furniture so that you could sit outside and enjoy the view of the lake. There was a small miniature golf course and gift shop. The place was relaxing and peaceful, which we enjoyed the most. We ate in the restaurant and had a very good dinner. The wifi seemed to only work in the lobby or restaurant. So we sat on some couches by the fire in order to send emails. In the evening, the staff went into all the rooms and started a fire in the fireplace to make the rooms warm. I would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaliforniaGirl040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cabanasdellagoadm, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hosteria Cabanas del Lago, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear guest:
Thanks for your comments. We are sorry for the late response. By the time you wrote them, we didn't have a good performance in social networks and also, we didn't have a assigned person to do that labor. Thanks for take the time to write them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
205 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Beautiful location, breakfast and dinner right on the water. Meal okay, mediocre.
Entered cabin and heard smoke detector beeping. Called staff who tried to tell me the beeping was from his radio but eventually convinced him otherwise. He took it down but didn't know how it worked so I showed him where the battery was and that he need a new one. He came back with the smoke detector in a rattan tray and reinstalled it. I said he should test it but he didn't know how. I tested it and it didn't work. Checked and he had replaced the battery the wrong way around ( negative to negative etc) I corrected it and it started beeping again. Eventually they did find a new battery and got it working but I was told it is mainly for visitors as they don't use such things in Ecuador. Then a pot light didn't work and we went through the same thing so I managed to fix it myself. The fireplace has a grate that doesn't stop the wood from rolling out and of course it did for me falling onto the hardwood floor. Then the smoke detector went off and there were no fireplace tools to pick it up. Very dangerous with no hearth, wouldn't be allowed in North America. Room was also very noisy, could hear everything the adjoining cabin was saying. What a night!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alsupremo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cabanasdellagoadm, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hosteria Cabanas del Lago, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear guest:
Thanks for your comments. We are sorry for the late response. By the time you wrote them, we didn't have a good performance in social networks and also, we didn't have a assigned person to do that labor. Thanks for take the time to write them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larkspur, CA
Level Contributor
59 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Totally wonderful and charming place. Comfortable rooms with a wonderful fire lit in the fireplace when you return from dinner. the flowers all around the grounds are stunning and all the staff are friendly and helpful.

Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank MarinTraveler0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cabanasdellagoadm, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hosteria Cabanas del Lago, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear guest:
Thanks for your comments. We are sorry for the late response. By the time you wrote them, we didn't have a good performance in social networks and also, we didn't have a assigned person to do that labor. Thanks for take the time to write them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
152 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

This hotel is located right on the shores of Lago San Pablo, and the cottages are just so cute, little porches to sit on, flowers surrounding the whole grounds. It was really a beautiful place. Fireplaces are lite while you are in dinner and you come back to a toasty room.

Room Tip: Just an awesome place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WantToSeeItAll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cabanasdellagoadm, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hosteria Cabanas del Lago, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear guest:
Thanks for your comments. We are sorry for the late response. By the time you wrote them, we didn't have a good performance in social networks and also, we didn't have a assigned person to do that labor. Thanks for take the time to write them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Greenwich, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
379 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

Beautiful views, cozy restaurant and the best touch was the lit fireplace when we returned to our room from dinner. Nice touch, and loved the rooms with their own little "porch". The only complaint is the wine was a little pricey at $29 per bottle. Similar bottles are $8 in town.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cabanasdellagoadm, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hosteria Cabanas del Lago, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear guest:
Thanks for your comments. We are sorry for the late response. By the time you wrote them, we didn't have a good performance in social networks and also, we didn't have a assigned person to do that labor. Thanks for take the time to write them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Otavalo
5.4 mi away
Casa Mojanda
Casa Mojanda
#1 of 14 in Otavalo
218 reviews
19.6 mi away
Hosteria Hacienda San Francisco
9.7 mi away
Hacienda- Hosteria Chorlavi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
La Mirage Garden Hotel & Spa
1.8 mi away
PuertoLago Country Inn
PuertoLago Country Inn
#9 of 27 in Otavalo
125 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hacienda Cusin
Hacienda Cusin
#1 of 27 in Otavalo
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hosteria Cabanas del Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hosteria Cabanas del Lago

Property: Hosteria Cabanas del Lago
Address: Lago San Pablo Otavalo Imbabura Ecuador | Otavalo Lago San Pablo, Otavalo 100450, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Imbabura Province > Otavalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Otavalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hosteria Cabanas del Lago 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An awesome lakeside hotel offers a traditional and international cuisine. Comfortable and cozy cabins decorated with a unique andean-contemporary style. Beautiful and peaceful gardens in the middle of a typical andean scenery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hosteria Cabanas del Lago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hosteria Cabanas Del Lago Hotel Otavalo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing