We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hosteria Cabanas del Lago
Nearby Hotels
Casa Mojanda(Otavalo)
US$140
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$19
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (296)
Filter reviews
296 results
Traveller rating
198
69
14
7
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
198
69
14
7
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgate tourmini golfbeautiful lakehot water bottleschocolate liquorwater activitiesone nightlog cabingreat resortwalls are very thinsmall petting zoocaught troutworking fireplacesan pablo lakewished we could have stayed longerhear everythingtour group
Filter
Updating list...
149 - 154 of 296 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Can you say "WHAT A FIND??" because you'll feel like you struck GOLD when you arrive at this quaint hotel that sits between 3 volcanoes. This respite pops up out of nowhere amidst the homes of the local indigenous people of the region to offer cabana accommodations that feature authentic rustic appointments, lake views and fireplaces. The rooms are spacious befitting the setting and not over done. The restaurant offers lake-side dining set amidst water fowl, beautiful flowers and calming vistas. For the more adventurous there's fishing, boating, diving and other activities. The staff treats you like a local so tip them well!! ONE NOTE: Bring or better yet BUY a warm, colorful blanket at one of the local markets and bring with because the nights are chilly!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony facing the water.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wldcatjaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cabanasdellagoadm, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hosteria Cabanas del Lago, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear guest:
Thanks for your comments. We are sorry for the late response. By the time you wrote them, we didn't have a good performance in social networks and also, we didn't have a assigned person to do that labor. Thanks for take the time to write them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We stayed here as part of a tour and really enjoyed it. Even in July the night was pretty cool so it was nice to return to the room after dinner and find a fire in the fireplace (we'd been asked if we wanted to have it) and fuzzy hot water bottles in the bed! They are obviously a family place on the weekends with a mini-golf setup and boats for the lake, but it was quiet on the weeknight. We didn't have a lot of time to explore the area, but it didn't seem like there was a lot to do or other places to eat in the area. But for what we wanted, it was great.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kent S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cabanasdellagoadm, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hosteria Cabanas del Lago, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear guest:
Thanks for your comments. We are sorry for the late response. By the time you wrote them, we didn't have a good performance in social networks and also, we didn't have a assigned person to do that labor. Thanks for take the time to write them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

This place is very beautiful, with fantastic view of the lake, cozy rooms with fireplaces. The staff also brings bed warmers before night.

They have a little petting zoo with rabbits and chickens, a mini golf course, and a trampoline. Great fun for the kids.

Unfortunately for us, we only stayed the night with the Gate One tour, so we could not have fun on the lake.

Otavalo also gave us a very rare experience of the Quechua Festival of the Sun. Our bus got bogged down in the middle of the town by the celebrating crowds, so we started walking on foot to the hotel. The local Velasco family allowed us to dance and march with them, and it was just unbelievable.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tr128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cabanasdellagoadm, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hosteria Cabanas del Lago, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear guest:
Thanks for your comments. We are sorry for the late response. By the time you wrote them, we didn't have a good performance in social networks and also, we didn't have a assigned person to do that labor. Thanks for take the time to write them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We stayed at this place while on a Gate 1 Tour of Ecuador. It was amazing and we wished we could have stayed longer. The rooms were spacious and comfortable and seemed fairly new. Everything was very clean and the grounds were well cared for. Every room had some patio furniture so that you could sit outside and enjoy the view of the lake. There was a small miniature golf course and gift shop. The place was relaxing and peaceful, which we enjoyed the most. We ate in the restaurant and had a very good dinner. The wifi seemed to only work in the lobby or restaurant. So we sat on some couches by the fire in order to send emails. In the evening, the staff went into all the rooms and started a fire in the fireplace to make the rooms warm. I would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaliforniaGirl040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cabanasdellagoadm, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hosteria Cabanas del Lago, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear guest:
Thanks for your comments. We are sorry for the late response. By the time you wrote them, we didn't have a good performance in social networks and also, we didn't have a assigned person to do that labor. Thanks for take the time to write them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Beautiful location, breakfast and dinner right on the water. Meal okay, mediocre.
Entered cabin and heard smoke detector beeping. Called staff who tried to tell me the beeping was from his radio but eventually convinced him otherwise. He took it down but didn't know how it worked so I showed him where the battery was and that he need a new one. He came back with the smoke detector in a rattan tray and reinstalled it. I said he should test it but he didn't know how. I tested it and it didn't work. Checked and he had replaced the battery the wrong way around ( negative to negative etc) I corrected it and it started beeping again. Eventually they did find a new battery and got it working but I was told it is mainly for visitors as they don't use such things in Ecuador. Then a pot light didn't work and we went through the same thing so I managed to fix it myself. The fireplace has a grate that doesn't stop the wood from rolling out and of course it did for me falling onto the hardwood floor. Then the smoke detector went off and there were no fireplace tools to pick it up. Very dangerous with no hearth, wouldn't be allowed in North America. Room was also very noisy, could hear everything the adjoining cabin was saying. What a night!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alsupremo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cabanasdellagoadm, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hosteria Cabanas del Lago, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear guest:
Thanks for your comments. We are sorry for the late response. By the time you wrote them, we didn't have a good performance in social networks and also, we didn't have a assigned person to do that labor. Thanks for take the time to write them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews