We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hosteria Cabanas del Lago
Ranked #1 of 33 Otavalo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed just one night with Gate 1. Arrived late in the day so didn't get to enjoy all the amenities. Our room was large with a huge built in seating area. Loved the fireplace and the hot water bottles. Good service. Food was OK. Good pancakes at breakfast. Loved the bunnies.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
Thank rbgrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cabanasdellagoadm, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hosteria Cabanas del Lago, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear guest:
Thanks for your comments. We are sorry for the late response. By the time you wrote them, we didn't have a good performance in social networks and also, we didn't have a assigned person to do that labor. Thanks for take the time to write them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (272)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 272 reviews

Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

This hotel comprises of log cabins - (standalone or units of 2) on a pretty lake (Lago San Pablo). The cabins are spacious, ours was in front of the marina with an unobstructed view of the lake. The cabins are heated by wood burning fireplaces which are turned on by the staff when guests are having dinner (make sure you have enough logs as the fireplace is the only heat source and the rooms can get a bit cold). They additionally provide a hot water bottle (which you can use to warm your feet or back). The garden is beautifully landscaped with a small waterfall at one end and very pretty flowers everywhere. Part of the garden area has been converted into a mini golf course which requires a $6 ticket. There are some rabbits, parakeets and hen on the golf course boundary which you can see without the ticket. There is a marina area which offers many kinds of boating options. The hotel restaurant has some unique furniture near the bar and many waterfront facing seats. Wifi is available in the restaurant and rooms (central rooms are more completely covered than the ones near the marina).
Our stay with Gate1 included dinner which was good and service was very fast (finished a 3 course meal in under 45min even with a 32 person group). Breakfast was decent as well with very nice pancakes.
To hotel staff - improving wifi strength and providing portable electric heaters in rooms would make this perfect.
To travellers - be warned, you may fall in love with this charming place and not want to leave.

Stayed: November 2013
Thank R K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cabanasdellagoadm, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hosteria Cabanas del Lago, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear guest:
Thanks for your comments. We are sorry for the late response. By the time you wrote them, we didn't have a good performance in social networks and also, we didn't have a assigned person to do that labor. Thanks for take the time to write them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

I stayed here for one night in October on a tour of Ecuador. I really enjoyed this place. There is not much in the immediate area surrounding the hotel so be prepared to stay near the property. First off, you should know that there is a bunny garden. Yes, that's right. Bunnies. Even baby bunnies, that you can pick up and hold. They also had a mini golf course, but it was pretty expensive so we decided to skip that. Second, the lake is really pretty, especially during sunset. Third, the Otavalo staff working in the restaurant are some of the nicest and hardest workers that we met in Ecuador. The food was pretty good too. Fourth, the rooms were basic but adequate. Our room was a decent size and the fire place was a nice touch. Unfortunately, my room did not have any hot water in the morning despite keeping the shower running for over 10 minutes. Needless to say, it was a very cold morning for me.

Room Tip: Try to get one with a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shyla M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cabanasdellagoadm, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hosteria Cabanas del Lago, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear guest:
Thanks for your comments. We are sorry for the late response. By the time you wrote them, we didn't have a good performance in social networks and also, we didn't have a assigned person to do that labor. Thanks for take the time to write them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

This was our second trip to Otovalo but the first to the lake. We would probably never have found this gem if it were not for the tour company. As others have said, the rooms have fieplaces which are lit each night for heat not just ambiance. The hot water bottle was a real treat in keeping the toes warm throughout the night; something to think about for the upcoming winter chill. the bathroom was quite adequate with plenty of hot water and a skylight that let in copious amounts of light. Overall, we were delighted with the accommodations and wish we could have prolonged our stay.
The restaurant was very good with a delightful view of the lake. The bar was ok and a bit pricey.
There appeared to be many things to do at the resort during the "season" but not at this time of year.
This location merits a repeat visit.
Gate 1 finds great, out-of-the-way places!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grammawa44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cabanasdellagoadm, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hosteria Cabanas del Lago, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear guest:
Thanks for your comments. We are sorry for the late response. By the time you wrote them, we didn't have a good performance in social networks and also, we didn't have a assigned person to do that labor. Thanks for take the time to write them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

I really liked this hotel. It sits on the bank of the river. It is really beautiful. After dinner we returned to our room to find that they had turned on the fireplace and the fire wood was fully stocked inside the room with more right outside our door. My favorite thing was when I slipped into the bed and found a hot water bottle in the bed to keep the bed warm. It is located high up in the Andes and it can get really cold at night. There is no air conditioning or heater in the room so you are reliant on natural resources like the fireplace for warmth. The hotel and the grounds were beautiful. Great place for families and couples alike. We went as part of a Gate 1 tour of Ecuador.

Room Tip: Bring warm clothes. It is very cold up in the Andes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rebekah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cabanasdellagoadm, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hosteria Cabanas del Lago, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear guest:
Thanks for your comments. We are sorry for the late response. By the time you wrote them, we didn't have a good performance in social networks and also, we didn't have a assigned person to do that labor. Thanks for take the time to write them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Our tour group, Gate 1, stayed here one night...wish it was longer. The area was very beautiful, peaceful, and relaxing, deserving of 5 stars as other reviewers have commented. I just wanted to add to the consensus.

We were impressed by the lit fireplace in our room and the hot water bottles in our bed at night.

Loved the serene and beautiful lake scenery. The landscape was wonderful, a fishpond with koi and a cascading waterfall was located just outside of our room.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank geaux-saints-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cabanasdellagoadm, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hosteria Cabanas del Lago, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear guest:
Thanks for your comments. We are sorry for the late response. By the time you wrote them, we didn't have a good performance in social networks and also, we didn't have a assigned person to do that labor. Thanks for take the time to write them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Located in a remote area of the Andes Mountains, Cabanas del Lago sits on a pristine lake, where guest have access to water crafts, perfectly appointed log cabins, and a lovely dining room & bar area over the water. The flowers and landscapes are a wonder...more like a Disney Park, than a remote location in the mountains of Ecuador. This lovely resort is perfect and replete with sweet critters in lovely enclosures and Indigenous People making their wares in a hut in the center of this garden in paradise. One might also visit a local grammar school, (with permission of course) which is located down a dirt road just west of lodge. There, the children receive, not only the "three Rs", but life skills and vocational training. The young students were dressed in Indigenous costumes and performed several lovely dances for us. This is such a peaceful country and the Andes Mountains are cloaked in misty beauty. The Cabanas del Lago was one of five excellent and remote lodges we enjoyed while traveling through Ecuador.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MontanaRosemary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cabanasdellagoadm, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hosteria Cabanas del Lago, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear guest:
Thanks for your comments. We are sorry for the late response. By the time you wrote them, we didn't have a good performance in social networks and also, we didn't have a assigned person to do that labor. Thanks for take the time to write them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Otavalo
5.4 mi away
Casa Mojanda
Casa Mojanda
#1 of 14 in Otavalo
227 reviews
19.6 mi away
Hosteria Hacienda San Francisco
7.4 mi away
La Mirage Garden Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hostal Riviera-Sucre
Hostal Riviera-Sucre
#2 of 14 in Otavalo
148 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hacienda Cusin
Hacienda Cusin
#2 of 33 in Otavalo
532 reviews
1.8 mi away
PuertoLago Country Inn
PuertoLago Country Inn
#8 of 33 in Otavalo
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hosteria Cabanas del Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hosteria Cabanas del Lago

Address: Lago San Pablo Otavalo Imbabura Ecuador | Otavalo Lago San Pablo, Otavalo 100450, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Imbabura Province > Otavalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Otavalo
Price Range: £86 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hosteria Cabanas del Lago 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An awesome lakeside hotel offers a traditional and international cuisine. Comfortable and cozy cabins decorated with a unique andean-contemporary style. Beautiful and peaceful gardens in the middle of a typical andean scenery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hosteria Cabanas del Lago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hosteria Cabanas Del Lago Hotel Otavalo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing