We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hosteria Cabanas del Lago
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$118
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$105
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Mojanda(Otavalo)
US$140
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$134
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$161
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$34
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$66
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$45
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$45
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (291)
Filter reviews
291 results
Traveller rating
194
69
14
7
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
194
69
14
7
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgate tourmini golfbeautiful lakehot water bottleschocolate liquorwater activitiesone nightlog cabingreat resortwalls are very thinsmall petting zoocaught troutworking fireplacesan pablo lakewished we could have stayed longerhear everythingtour group
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
132 - 137 of 291 reviews
Reviewed 23 December 2013

My husband and I stayed one night at this wonderful hotel, and one night is not enough. This place was astounding. It was a very pretty place. The gardens were enough to take your breath away. Winding your way around the paths to your rooms was a treasure in itself. There was also a miniature golf court and a small petting zoo that consisted of bunnies, roosters and chickens. The rooms were small but extremely elegant. They had wonderful picture windows with wrap-around seating, and two double beds. We visited this place in November therefore the temperature did dip to 47 degrees at night. It was a bit cold but the staff at this hotel knew how to keep you warm. We were surprised to find wonderful, terry cloth covered, hot water bags in our beds. Talk about cozy and warm. Not to mention, we had a roaring fire in our fireplace at the foot of our bed. It was right out of a storybook. The bathroom was updated and huge. However, I will tell you to wear socks on your feet. The bathroom floor was beyond cold. They provided us with soap, lotion, plenty of tools but there were no washclothes. Be sure to bring your own loofah or pouf sponge. There was a little store located on the property where the local ladies sold their goods. The prices were relatively cheap. We ate at the restaurant on site. The service was outstanding. The employees couldn't do enough for you. The food was average but the setting was spectacular. The restaurant overlooked the lake. In fact, it was so stunning that you tend to overlook the average food. Breakfast was served outside and they had a variety of items to choose from, local fruit, cheeses, eggs, pancakes, yogurt and granola. Overall, this was a hidden treasure and one that should not be missed. Happy Travels!

Room Tip: I don't think that there was a bad room in this place. Everything was beautiful!!
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wanderlustMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cabanasdellagoadm, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hosteria Cabanas del Lago, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear guest:
Thanks for your comments. We are sorry for the late response. By the time you wrote them, we didn't have a good performance in social networks and also, we didn't have a assigned person to do that labor. Thanks for take the time to write them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

This hacienda was beautiful.....our room was very large, when you go for dinner they build a fire in your fireplace....very nice! The dinner was excellent...I had spaghetti and the desserts were great. The staff was exceptionally friendly . The gardens and setting is just beautiful.....and the restaurant overlooks the lake. Breakfast was good with many fresh fruits and the jams were excellent!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luckylou56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cabanasdellagoadm, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hosteria Cabanas del Lago, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear guest:
Thanks for your comments. We are sorry for the late response. By the time you wrote them, we didn't have a good performance in social networks and also, we didn't have a assigned person to do that labor. Thanks for take the time to write them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed just one night with Gate 1. Arrived late in the day so didn't get to enjoy all the amenities. Our room was large with a huge built in seating area. Loved the fireplace and the hot water bottles. Good service. Food was OK. Good pancakes at breakfast. Loved the bunnies.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
Thank rbgrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cabanasdellagoadm, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hosteria Cabanas del Lago, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear guest:
Thanks for your comments. We are sorry for the late response. By the time you wrote them, we didn't have a good performance in social networks and also, we didn't have a assigned person to do that labor. Thanks for take the time to write them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

This hotel comprises of log cabins - (standalone or units of 2) on a pretty lake (Lago San Pablo). The cabins are spacious, ours was in front of the marina with an unobstructed view of the lake. The cabins are heated by wood burning fireplaces which are turned on by the staff when guests are having dinner (make sure you have enough logs as the fireplace is the only heat source and the rooms can get a bit cold). They additionally provide a hot water bottle (which you can use to warm your feet or back). The garden is beautifully landscaped with a small waterfall at one end and very pretty flowers everywhere. Part of the garden area has been converted into a mini golf course which requires a $6 ticket. There are some rabbits, parakeets and hen on the golf course boundary which you can see without the ticket. There is a marina area which offers many kinds of boating options. The hotel restaurant has some unique furniture near the bar and many waterfront facing seats. Wifi is available in the restaurant and rooms (central rooms are more completely covered than the ones near the marina).
Our stay with Gate1 included dinner which was good and service was very fast (finished a 3 course meal in under 45min even with a 32 person group). Breakfast was decent as well with very nice pancakes.
To hotel staff - improving wifi strength and providing portable electric heaters in rooms would make this perfect.
To travellers - be warned, you may fall in love with this charming place and not want to leave.

Stayed: November 2013
Thank R K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cabanasdellagoadm, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hosteria Cabanas del Lago, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear guest:
Thanks for your comments. We are sorry for the late response. By the time you wrote them, we didn't have a good performance in social networks and also, we didn't have a assigned person to do that labor. Thanks for take the time to write them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

I stayed here for one night in October on a tour of Ecuador. I really enjoyed this place. There is not much in the immediate area surrounding the hotel so be prepared to stay near the property. First off, you should know that there is a bunny garden. Yes, that's right. Bunnies. Even baby bunnies, that you can pick up and hold. They also had a mini golf course, but it was pretty expensive so we decided to skip that. Second, the lake is really pretty, especially during sunset. Third, the Otavalo staff working in the restaurant are some of the nicest and hardest workers that we met in Ecuador. The food was pretty good too. Fourth, the rooms were basic but adequate. Our room was a decent size and the fire place was a nice touch. Unfortunately, my room did not have any hot water in the morning despite keeping the shower running for over 10 minutes. Needless to say, it was a very cold morning for me.

Room Tip: Try to get one with a good view.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shyla M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cabanasdellagoadm, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hosteria Cabanas del Lago, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear guest:
Thanks for your comments. We are sorry for the late response. By the time you wrote them, we didn't have a good performance in social networks and also, we didn't have a assigned person to do that labor. Thanks for take the time to write them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews