We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Lakeside Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hosteria Cabanas del Lago

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hosteria Cabanas del Lago
Ranked #2 of 27 Otavalo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
162 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 424 helpful votes
“Wonderful Lakeside Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

This is a wonderful little hotel tucked away in the valley outside of the town. Rooms were small, cottage style with small bathroom, fireplace, bottled water, etc. The hotel grounds have beautiful gardens. There were 2 little shops on the way from the room to the restaurant which had good local things like scarves, sweater, gloves & crafts, very reasonably priced. The views from the Restaurant facing the lake are beautiful and breathtaking. Food was good both breakfast & dinner; staff was very attentive and efficient. When we came back to our room after dinner the room was quite warm, the staff had started the fireplace which was a great touch, it was very romantic.

Room Tip: Everything is good. Carry warm clothes as it can get quite cold especially in the evening & morn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SimbaMasaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cabanasdellagoadm, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hosteria Cabanas del Lago, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear guest: thank you for take a time to write your comments. These are very valuable to us. We hope you could get some souvenirs in our craft store. We are glad you found cozy and romantic your room. The fireplace always gives a magic touch at night. Hope have you here back again :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    62
    13
    6
    6
See reviews for
89
78
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NORTH RICHLAND HILLS
Level Contributor
83 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

As we traveled towards this hotel, the roads were barely paved, and the houses were typically poor.
As we turned the corner, we came upon an Oasis - Cabanas del Lago.
i. A beautiful location.
ii. Rooms were large
iii. Water was provided
iv. Dinner and Breakfast were very good -- Large Variety
v. The hotel was excellent, especially when you consider the surrounding area.
We were on a Gate One Tour of Ecuador and this was an excellent choice.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Johnnyg127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cabanasdellagoadm, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hosteria Cabanas del Lago, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear guest: we are pleased you consider us an oasis. That is the idea. That our guests forget everything for a while and enjoy the landscape, our cuisine and our hospitality. Thanks for your comments. And we would like to tell you that with our business we also want to be a development factor to the area. Indeed our staff is originally from this area. Hope have you here again :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chula Vista, California
Level Contributor
183 reviews
145 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

We stayed at the Cabanas del Lago on a Gate 1 tour of Ecuador. The hotel is off the beaten path in a beautiful setting right on the lake. We enjoyed its relative remoteness, especially since we didn't have to worry about how to get to it. There are lakeside activities we would have enjoyed had we stayed there longer and the place would be nice for a quiet weekend or short visit. The cabins are comfortable but unheated, although the staff will light a fire in your fireplace upon request. Our included meal was fine, a good thing since there are no restaurants nearby. The grounds were very pretty and well maintained and the staff was friendly. My only problem was that I got a severe attack of diarrhea while there. I ordered a Coke with lots of ice in the bar after being assured that the ice was made from purified water and this could have been the cause, or perhaps it was something I ate elsewhere or just plain bad luck. The staff prepared some sort of local remedy for me which seemed to help a little. We enjoyed the rustic feel of the place and the beautiful scenery and wish we could have spent a little longer there.

Room Tip: Ask the staff to start a fire in your fireplace if you tend to be cold as it gets chilly at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DCH47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cabanasdellagoadm, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hosteria Cabanas del Lago, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear guest: we're very sorry about your stomachal incident. Lets us tell you that, indeed we use purified water in the ice. We hope our "aguita de vieja" (the local remedy you talk about) has worked better. The good thing is that despite the stomachache seems that you enjoyed our place. It would be nice to have you here for more time and above all, in better conditions that let you enjoy plenty the hotel. Thanks for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mid Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

We were only there for one night, but I'd love to come back some day and stay longer. The cabanas are very comfortable with everything you need. The staff started a fire for us while we were at dinner and the room was nice and warm when we got back. The hot water bottles tucked in our beds were highly appreciated, too. The view over the lake is breathtaking and the swimming area and water "toys" looked like a lot of fun. The dining room looks out onto the lake and made the enjoyable meals even more so. I loved the bunnies by the miniature golf course. There was a nice gift shop. Staff was very helpful and friendly and our waitress hugged us as we left from breakfast, wishing us a good trip. Altogether a fine stay!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jama47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cabanasdellagoadm, Public Relations Manager at Hosteria Cabanas del Lago, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear guest: thank you for your gentle comment. Your words motivate us. Here the nights are pretty cold, but we find the way to warm the rooms for our guests in order to make you feel at home. Nothing like a pleasant sleep. Hopefully you come back to enjoy more time of this peaceful landscape. You will be welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
217 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

Located on the shore of Lake San Pablo overlooking Imbabura volcano, the site is perfect. Because you are high in the Andes, the nights can get very cold, but you need not worry, while you are enjoying your wonderful dinner, the staff will be starting a fire in your cabin and it is nice and warm when you return. Also hot water bottles will be in your sheets to heat you bed. The site is fill with beautiful flowers and great views of the lake and the volcano across the water. Rooms are all Well appointed rustic cabins and the staff was very friendly and helpful. I think you will really enjoy this place.

Room Tip: All cabins are first class and appear to be equal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JJMAYNARD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cabanasdellagoadm, Public Relations Manager at Hosteria Cabanas del Lago, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear guest: how happy make us your words, that's exactly what we pursue...make everything for you enjoy your time here. The chimney and the hot bottles are very successful among our guest...and we enjoy them too. The nights in San Pablo -as you say- are cold, but they can be wonderful. Thank you very much for your comment. Hope have you here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
94 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

I was with a tour group staying at Cabanas del Lago. If I wasn't, I'm not sure how we would be able to find this nice stay. It is located a pretty good distance away from the main road with several turns on small un-signed Ecuador "roads." But once found it was a pretty nice lakefront property. It is almost like a bed-n-breakfast kind of place. Most of the rooms were built like cabins, large and comfortable. Independent travelers would have a hard time finding this "resort" and would probably find the rate expensive.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VDlong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cabanasdellagoadm, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hosteria Cabanas del Lago, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Dear guest: we are very pleased that we had the opportunity to have you in our hotel. How nice you enjoyed the landscape...the lake enchants to everyone whom see it.
although we have several sings in the road, probably we will need more of them. Thanks for your observation. Hope you have here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, Pa
Level Contributor
66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

We stayed just one night while on a Gate 1 tour and were completely charmed by this lodge except for one thing. If you happen to have a late-night neighbor who makes any noise at all (even watching the TV at a reasonable volume), you will be awake until your neighbor goes to sleep him/herself. Other than that, we did not want to leave and no one in our group did. The location is beautiful, the staff dashes at top speed to help you, the grounds have all sorts of fascinating things and are beautifully landscaped and the roaring fire in the evening together with the hot water bottles would have made for a wonderful night's sleep had our neighbor been quieter.

By now, I don't remember whether this was one of the places where we did have internet access in our room. I gave up on reliable access outside of Quito after a few nights, but since this was a vacation, I didn't honestly care. I was too busy enjoying being there.

Room Tip: Choose your neighbor wisely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cabanasdellagoadm, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hosteria Cabanas del Lago, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Dear Cheryl: We appreciate your comment. We are grateful for your visit and pleased because you have enjoyed the landscape. All of us work for your pleasure, and we all want to offer unforgetable emotions to our guests. Hopefully we can have you back soon. And we are going to check more carefully the noisy guests...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Otavalo
5.3 mi away
Casa Mojanda
Casa Mojanda
#1 of 14 in Otavalo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
19.6 mi away
Hosteria Hacienda San Francisco
7.7 mi away
La Mirage Garden Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Hacienda- Hosteria Chorlavi
3.6 mi away
Hotel El Indio Inn
Hotel El Indio Inn
#5 of 14 in Otavalo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
1.7 mi away
PuertoLago Country Inn
PuertoLago Country Inn
#6 of 27 in Otavalo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hosteria Cabanas del Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hosteria Cabanas del Lago

Property: Hosteria Cabanas del Lago
Address: Lago San Pablo Otavalo Imbabura Ecuador | Otavalo Lago San Pablo, Otavalo 100450, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Imbabura Province > Otavalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Otavalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hosteria Cabanas del Lago 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An awesome lakeside hotel offers a traditional and international cuisine. Comfortable and cozy cabins decorated with a unique andean-contemporary style. Beautiful and peaceful gardens in the middle of a typical andean scenery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hosteria Cabanas del Lago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hosteria Cabanas Del Lago Hotel Otavalo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing