We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful grounds”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hosteria Cabanas del Lago
Ranked #2 of 28 Otavalo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mount Dora, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Beautiful grounds”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel as part of Gate 1 tour. This hotel has amazingly beautiful grounds. The restaurant is great as well as the service. I was given a smaller room with a fireplace. Which was adequate to spend 1 night but would have liked to stay in the bigger rooms. They turn on the fireplace for you at night, which was great but it did not last all night. They had water activities that seemed fun but we did not had time to do. They have rabbits and other animals. My TV and wi fii were not working in the room and they dot have phones in room so I did not complain because I did not wanted to walk to reception in the cold weather. Please press like if you find this review helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ltorres93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cabanasdellagoadm, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hosteria Cabanas del Lago, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear guest:
Thanks for your comments. We are glad you find nice our gardens and our accommodations. We would like to tell you that the wifi -by now- only works at the reception. However it's lamentable the television incident. It doesn't has to be like that!. Your comments help us to improve our service and these are going to be ducted internally. Hope you visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    65
    13
    6
    6
See reviews for
98
79
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mount Dora, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Starting our trip down from Quito, Our Gate 1 tour guide was somewhat secretive about where we were going to to stay for our first night outside the capital, and I sure it was to let us be surprised. When we arrived we could not believe our senses, form the sights to aromas, from the pleasant temperature felt through our skins, the soft sounds of the critters, and the fresh air you could literally taste with your mouth. Surprised is not a strong enough word. I should say enamored!
The facilities were clean, beautifully designed and spacious. Rustic comfort everywhere. Gentle and carrying staff all the time. The bar, the restaurant, the waterfront. How to describe them? Simply stated, NO WORDS are enough.

Room Tip: all rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GustafBorgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cabanasdellagoadm, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hosteria Cabanas del Lago, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear guest:

Thank you for your comments. Them make us feel very proud, because we feel that we are achieving what we always wanted with our hotel: to bring pleasant moments to our guests.
We are happy that you enjoyed the environment and the accommodations. We hope to have you here again so you can enjoy more of our hotel and of the zone that has many things to see and to feel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
memphis
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Loved these cabins. Our room had comfortable beds, large windows to take in the beautiful view, a fireplace with wood provided, and a nice couch to take in the view. Food in the restaurant was very good, though probably pricey by local standards (I think it was $10-11 for chicken fajitas, which I chose because it was cheaper than a number of other entrees). Great view of the lake. There were some fun yet contrived children's activities (a pen where you could go in and play with and feed bunnies, and a miniature golf course smack in between the rooms and view of the lake). We couldn't get WIFI to connect in the room, but it worked great in the lobby. The lobby also had couches, a cozy fireplace and local music playing, so it was a nice experience. We did, however, have a couple of issues. First, know that the walls are incredibly thin. We could hear every word of every conversation of our friends next door, like there was no wall in between. We had an incredibly early departure (3:30am) to catch a flight, and were awakened multiple times throughout the night by drunk partygoers. Actually, when we left, there were still friendly, yet loud drunk people outside one of the cabanas. I only have one night of experience at this place, and don't know if this is usually tolerated, but it was unfortunately, something we had to deal with all night long. Note that my cabana wasn't even close to the party cabana. I was surprised that hotel security didn't do something about it, but I am not familiar with local customs in this regard. It was also incredibly freezing in our room. The covers were warm, we had hot water bottles placed by staff in our beds and there was firewood available. Overall though, great views, nice accomodation. I would probably go back to this place again, but hope we have quieter people around us next time.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyTrails2U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cabanasdellagoadm, Public Relations Manager at Hosteria Cabanas del Lago, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear guest:

Thank you for take the time for write your comments. They are very valuable to us. Off course noisy and drunk visitors are uncomfortable to everybody . This behavior goes beyond the local customs and should not be tolerated. We are going to manage your observation through the responsible in order to correct this. In case of a situation like this, security personnel should ask them for silence. Your comment helps us to avoid this situation in the future.
Our hotel is a familiar and peaceful hotel, and this situation detracts our concept.
We hope to have you here again, and to have the opportunity to show you that our hotel is a peaceful place.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Coral, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We have now taken three tours with Gate 1 the most recent to Ecuador. The accommodations that somehow Gate 1 locates are outstanding. Cabanas del Lago is situated so close to the lake that you are literally sitting right on the water enjoying your dinner or breakfast. Upon returning to your cabana in the evening you will find the fire lit in your fireplace and hot water bottles (that stay warm until morning) placed under the blankets. Kudos to Gate 1 for not only providing us with a wonderful travel guide but for finding this hidden gems in the world of lodging.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TedBlaesing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cabanasdellagoadm, Public Relations Manager at Hosteria Cabanas del Lago, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear guest:

Thank you for your comments. The nights in San Pablo del Lago could be quite chill, so we try to keep our visitors warm physically and emotionally. As far as we can see...we achieved it with you. So happy for that. If you come back we suggest to try our water sports, it's a way not only to be seated above the water, but to feel the energy of the water of the Andes. We hope to have you here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Kind of away from the hustle and bustle so if that doesn't bother you then you should enjoy your stay. Wonderful lake front scenery and cozy rooms with fireplaces will keep you comfortable when the evening chill sets in.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lewithirteen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cabanasdellagoadm, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hosteria Cabanas del Lago, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear guest:

We are happy you find our cabins cozy and stay comfortable in front of our lakeside view.
Some nights in San Pablo could be cold, but we want our guests to stay warm physically and emotionally. Thanks for your comments. Hope have you here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, TX
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

The service is very good and the staff friendly. The restaurant serves a very tastey food. I had the best Locro ( Ecuadorian potato soup) in Ecuador. I never will forget the breakfast that I has with that beautiful and relaxing view of the lake.
The room are very cozy and the fireplace, and the hot water bag is a plus for the cool nights. The also provided with drinking water. Free internet
The surrounding are very relaxing, and there are water activities.
I recommend this hotel, for a great service, clean, and beautiful views.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ahidyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cabanasdellagoadm, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hosteria Cabanas del Lago, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear guest:

Thank you so much for your comments. Precisely we are famous for the "locro", but we really appreciate you enjoyed it. We pursue to give relaxing and unforgettable moments to our guests, and it seems we got that task with you. Hope have you here again. If that is so, we suggest you to enjoy the water sport in our marina. We would like you to take a piece of San Pablo in your heart.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandusky
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

This place is on a lake and has the most beautiful flowers everywhere. The cabins are cozy, ours had two double beds, fireplace and a built in couch along the front wall. The restaurant and bar area are so comfy and literally on the water. We were here with Gate 1 on our first day out of our tour. Would have loved to stay here two nights instead of one. The food was very good and the waitresses hustled to get us served quickly. The only thing lacking was an English speaking barmaid though we were able to communicate our way through. And she really tried hard to please us. The bar is also not a high priority but that isn't all bad. Breakfast buffet was great and varied. Would love to go back and stay again. One of the best places on our trip.

Room Tip: If it is cold they put hot water bottles in the beds and start fires for you. It was almost too war...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tmterie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cabanasdellagoadm, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hosteria Cabanas del Lago, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear guest: Thanks for comments and to take time to write them. We are very proud that you found us one of the better points of your trip. We would be very glad to have you here again in order that you could enjoy our place more time. Thanks for your observations about the bar and the barmaid. We will take a look.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Otavalo
5.4 mi away
Casa Mojanda
Casa Mojanda
#1 of 14 in Otavalo
220 reviews
9.7 mi away
Hacienda- Hosteria Chorlavi
19.6 mi away
Hosteria Hacienda San Francisco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
La Mirage Garden Hotel & Spa
1.8 mi away
PuertoLago Country Inn
PuertoLago Country Inn
#9 of 28 in Otavalo
126 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hacienda Cusin
Hacienda Cusin
#1 of 28 in Otavalo
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hosteria Cabanas del Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hosteria Cabanas del Lago

Property: Hosteria Cabanas del Lago
Address: Lago San Pablo Otavalo Imbabura Ecuador | Otavalo Lago San Pablo, Otavalo 100450, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Imbabura Province > Otavalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Otavalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hosteria Cabanas del Lago 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An awesome lakeside hotel offers a traditional and international cuisine. Comfortable and cozy cabins decorated with a unique andean-contemporary style. Beautiful and peaceful gardens in the middle of a typical andean scenery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hosteria Cabanas del Lago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hosteria Cabanas Del Lago Hotel Otavalo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing