We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Garden views and the best homemade Mole' - ever !”
Review of Cafe Pachamama

Cafe Pachamama
Ranked #4 of 66 Restaurants in Otavalo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$10
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, View, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Cafe Pachamama is located inside hotel La Posada del Quinde, just five blocks from the Plaza de Ponchos market. Our fireplace lounge, outdoor patio and garden provide something extra for travelers, as well as our freshly-prepared, organic food with local ingredients. To top it off, we offer more vegetarian options than any other restaurant in town and many delicious meat options as well. But even if you're not a vegetarian, we have plenty of meat-based dishes and burgers to please meat-eaters as well.
Oregon
Level Contributor
66 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Garden views and the best homemade Mole' - ever !”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

My first visit to Otavalo ... I was so impressed with the staff at Cafe Pachamama and Maggie , the owner. My lunch ,mole' enchilada casserole, was fantastic! The mole was obviously home made, dark , rich and creamy. It was layered with tender beans, cheddar cheese and tortillas. I loved it - delicious !The Pachamama Breakfast the next day was served with the BEST coffee and eggs scrambled to order accompanied by a generous portion of fresh local fruit -excellent. The cheerful and spot on service was also excellent !Maggie's staff is well trained and seems very content with their duties at La Posada del Quinde. Next time I will stay with you all at the hotel ! Loved the view of your garden while dining- lovely !

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    33
    15
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great Eats!”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Being a vegan we had some difficulties finding appropriate food for our diets it Ecuador, but they guys were so accomodating. Don't forget to try the Maggie Pizza, it's yummy! The setting is beautiful and comfortable as well. Oh, ask them to set you up with a sub sandwich to-go, if you plan on doing any hiking.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sandy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scappoose, Oregon
Level Contributor
56 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wow! They can make vegan meals!!”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Having read many reviews of Café Pachamama, we knew they had vegetarian options, so we assumed they would be able to modify and make a couple of things vegan for us. (By this point in our journey, we were growing very accustomed to being able to eat a handful of things, so our palate was fairly bored.) Image our surprise and delight, though, when we found there were numerous items on the menu that were ALREADY VEGAN. They didn't need modification at all! Soups that were out of this world - and authentic to the region. What a treat! And finally, we felt as though we were tasting the true flavors of the region.

When necessary, the staff were more than helpful in making modifications as needed (holding the cheese on the absolutely delicious Maggie pizza) and giving us extra avocado (instead of cheese) on our veggie sandwiches.

The complimentary "Pachamama Breakfast" (provided to hotel guests) included the best oatmeal (the veggie alternative) I've ever had in my life. I suspect there was some cardamom along with cinnamon in it, but there was something else that just gave it a little extra something - it was delish! The fresh juice and fruit was delightful, and the icing on the cake was the fresh bread and homemade jam. Heavenly!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eagles Mere, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Outstanding breakfasts included with room. The best fruit I have ever tasted and great coffee! Other meals were very nice too. Staff is so attentive to all our needs. Exceptionally clean facility.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank PeterG089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
45 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lovely place in Otavalo”
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

We are staying in Cotacachi, but we went to the craft market in Otavalo, so we tried Cafe Pachamama for breakfast. The $6 Pachamama breakfast was amazing, served in the most beautiful setting in Otavalo.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Pachamama also viewed

Otavalo, Imbabura Province
Otavalo, Imbabura Province
 
Otavalo, Imbabura Province
Otavalo, Imbabura Province
 
Otavalo, Imbabura Province
Otavalo, Imbabura Province
 

Been to Cafe Pachamama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing