We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“pizza and crepes!”

Deli Cafe Restaurant
Ranked #18 of 63 Restaurants in Otavalo
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Arizona
Level Contributor
86 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“pizza and crepes!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

We ate here twice during our 3 days in Otavalo and enjoyed each meal. Both the pizza and crepes were popular with our 2 teenagers, as well as the Chocobanana milkshakes! A delight at the price!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank New-World-Journeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    22
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cotacachi, Ecuador
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Reminder to Self: Don't order Mexican food outside of Mexico or California”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Every once in a while when I've been away from California for more than three months, I get an urge for a good crispy tostada, some sizzling fajitas or a chewy cheesy quesadilla... Wonder if I'll ever learn?!?

This restaurant had the outward appearance of a place that could possibly fit the bill. It prominently advertises Mexican food but I should have listened to my inner voice which warned me not to sit down in a place that was half empty on a Saturday with a jam packed market two blocks away.

Unfortunately, I have to agree with the poster who called the quesadilla runny and more like sour cream... Ecuador produces some fabulous cheeses in some of their own haciendas -- like La Zuleta for example -- and there is no excuse for a restaurant to cheat its customers with a bland and soupy substitute.

It's a real shame though because the place is cute and the personnel is friendly. It is clean and airy and they have wi-fi access. The street corner offers excellent people watching, a favorite pastime when you travel solo!!!

I am hoping the manager will take this as positive criticism and does not think I'm trying to give his business a bad name. Quality food will speak for itself and I truly hope next time I come, he'll have a line out the door.

Helpful?
Thank Hanny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
181 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Great food great value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

The meal of burritos I had was fresh well presented and with lots of fresh veggies in it as. Well as meat. It is a charming little restaurant and for $15 I had a great main course , figs and cheese for desert and a lovely fresh juice. Perhaps I shall go back tonight! And I did not feel odd dining as a woman alone there . Charming place

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank JTMSydneyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“Lovely place ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Very nice Mexican food, loads of veggie options to choose from. Very friendly atmosphere as soon as you enter, staff very helpful and food served quickly with a smile, will definitely return.

Helpful?
Thank Siobhan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Otavalo, Ecuador
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Friendly and cozy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Very friendly ownership and management offer tasty dishes in a cozy environment. Very pleasant for small groups.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank TandanaFoundation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Deli Cafe Restaurant also viewed

Otavalo, Imbabura Province
Otavalo, Imbabura Province
 
Otavalo, Imbabura Province
 

Been to Deli Cafe Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing