We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to relax or work from.”
Review of Hotel Acoma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Acoma
Ranked #22 of 29 Otavalo B&B and Inns
Quito, Ecuador
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great place to relax or work from.”
Reviewed 28 January 2012

We have stayed in several different reasonably priced hotels in Otavalo in the past so tried something new. This was a welcome experience. Full breakfast included in the price. The service was great and always attentive. This place is quiet and restful.

It is only 1 1/2 blocks from the Otavalan Market. There are lots of restaurants nearby. We were working out of the hotel for a week and it provided high speed internet for office work there. We felt secure as there was always people there from the owner's family. It is family owned and there is a family atmosphere.

I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Randall N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    18
    2
    1
    4
See reviews for
8
14
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

Hotel Acoma is very well located in Otavalo, and only a couple of minutes walk from most places that you want to be. The Plaza de Poncho is just down the road, as is the Shanondoa Pie Shop, and a plethora of eateries and markets.

Taxi drivers will charge you about $1 or $1.50 from the central bus station, or it is an easy 8 minute stroll.

The staff are very friendly, the breakfast (included) is very good and the rooms are well kept and clean. Keep in mind that in "Western Standards" it is about a 2.5 to 3 star hotel, however for a small town in Ecuador it is pretty darn good.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myerstown, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2011

We recently spent a week at this hotel. It is on a quiet street just 3 blocks from the market. We were given a wide range of room choices and a 10% discount. The room was bright and airy, the view was ideal, and the service was superb. The full breakfast was delicious. Overall much nicer and better located than the el quinde. Every type of accommodation is available from dorm beds to apartments. A spacious lounge with fireplace is attached to the coffee shop/breakfast room. This was our best hotel experience during our month in Ecuador.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimlinkrall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denali National Park and Preserve, Alaska
Level 6 Contributor
294 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2011

I searched out this hotel due to a mention in my Rough Guide. Very happy I did. Very attractive hotel inside and out and an excellent value for the price charged (I paid $28 for single). Set up to look like a highlands hacienda (similar to the southwest US/New Mexico look). The family that owns it speaks minimal English, but they are extremely friendly, eager to please, and just plain nice. Spent 2 nights here.

Hotel is a 2 minute walk from the Plaza de Ponchos, where the Saturday market is centered, but is not affected by the noise of the town on Friday nights. The rooms are absolutely beautiful, with dark woods, painted walls, patterned alpaca blankets, a nice bathroom. Included breakfast was excellent (yogurt, fruit juice, coffee or tea, bread, jam, eggs to order).

Two computers are available for guest use. (warning - internet speed can be slow at times).

After 3 weeks (so far) in Ecuador, this has been my favorite hotel.

Room Tip: Some rooms are directly off the lobby, so could potentially get noise from that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevin_from_AKandCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Otavalo hotels
0.7 mi away
Coraza
Coraza
#9 of 14 in Otavalo
42 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel el Indio
Hotel el Indio
#8 of 14 in Otavalo
24 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hostal Riviera-Sucre
Hostal Riviera-Sucre
#3 of 14 in Otavalo
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel El Indio Inn
Hotel El Indio Inn
#5 of 14 in Otavalo
118 reviews
3.0 mi away
Casa Mojanda
Casa Mojanda
#1 of 14 in Otavalo
224 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hostal Dona Esther
Hostal Dona Esther
#8 of 29 in Otavalo
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Acoma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Acoma

Property: Hotel Acoma
Address: Salinas 07-57 | Av. 31 de Octubre y Ricaurte, Otavalo, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Imbabura Province > Otavalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Otavalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Acoma 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Acoma Hotel provides guests with delightful rooms and a comfortable, friendly environment, while attentive staff - many of whom are family members - offer excellent service. The hotel is housed in a restored, three-story building which, with its dark wooden finishings, Andean touches and colonial construction, combines traditional and modern decor. Numerous large windows allow in plenty of light. Since its inception in July 2004 by three siblings from the Cotacahi Pineda family, the hotel has received awards and praise for it innovative approach and design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Acoma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing