We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gracias por todo :)”
Review of Flying Donkey

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Flying Donkey
Ranked #3 of 27 Otavalo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gracias por todo :)”
Reviewed 15 January 2014

I spent 4 weeks in this hostal, while I was volunteerin in Otavalo. I really enjoyed my time there! It's really close to everything you might need and the saturday market starts a just a block from the hostal.
What I really loved was that the staff was very nice and they really made me feel like home!
The room(s) I got were always clean and I felt really safe; I was able to leave all of my stuff in the room at all times and even when I went away for a weekend, I could leave my bags in a storage room without worrying too much about them.

Gracias :)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucieeee2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    32
    4
    5
    0
See reviews for
10
49
44
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Definitely an amazing place to stay (the best) in Otavalo! rooms are comfy, the place is great and has an amazing location plus the staff is nice, friendly and helpful! We stayed here for some nights during the Inti Raymi celebrations and had a blast! Recommended 100%!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ADRINABE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Overall this is a great place. The rooms reminded me a bit of a cheap hotel rather then a hostel, but our private room was good with plenty of space and a decent bathroom. Positives were: value for money, location, clean, having a tv in the room, view of the mountains, room size, staff (when we left one day to go the market square after asking the person on reception which way to go, we instead turned the other way to take a photo of a nearby church lit up at night and the member of staff came running after us to tell us we had gone the wrong way!). Negatives - the only one was the thin-ness of the curtains - we were getting up early anyway but even if we hadn't then the sun would definitely have woken us up.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quito, Ecuador
1 review
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Really friendly and helpful staff! nice location close to the market (try to be there on saturday and check out the animal market at 7! in the morning). rooms are really nice and cheap! and there's also a grat terrace with view of the sorrounding mountanis! Just one thing that wasn´t really clear, if the kitchen in hostel is for communal use but we talked to people who did cook there! so If you come to Otavalo (what you defenitely should!) staying at flying donkiey is a good choice!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alpaca2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We stayed in early September in a twin room with a cable TV and a shared bathroom for $16 a night. The beds were really comfortable and we had duvets! It was quiet at night (we had an interior room which was probably a bit quieter than the street-view rooms). The showers were great - strong and hot. The wifi was great including for streaming. The owner was really friendly and accommodating. There is a nice terrace communal area on the roof. There is no communal kitchen but it's in a extremely central location where there are loads of cheap bakeries, cafes and restaurants. Would definitely recommend staying here - would recommend an interior room if you're staying over a weekend.

Room Tip: Interior room to avoid street noise - particularly at the weekend
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carly f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Had to return to this hostel After attempting to cross the border into Colombia, Paul (the owner) was very accommodating. Throughout our stay he always made time to clearly discuss all possible activities. Very patient lovely guy. Prices are great for what you get. Clean place. Highly recommend it!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rmelicia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Paul, the owner is the friendliest hostel owner I have encountered on this trip! He was absolutely lovely from the moment we arrived and did not tire of our endless questions, giving us great advice not only for Otavalo but for the rest of Ecuador as well. The hostel has a lovely terrace (shame I didn't go up there until the last day!), clean, light rooms and great hot showers. Would definitely recommend you stay here after a visit to the market and it's even worth staying a few extra nights to check out the surrounding area as there seems to be quite a bit to see. The hostel is in a great location, $1 cab ride from the bus station and only 3 blocks from the market. Great stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nezzbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Otavalo hotels
2.5 mi away
Casa Mojanda
Casa Mojanda
#1 of 14 in Otavalo
218 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel El Indio Inn
Hotel El Indio Inn
#5 of 14 in Otavalo
114 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel el Indio
Hotel el Indio
#9 of 14 in Otavalo
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
La Luna Mountain Lodge
La Luna Mountain Lodge
#1 of 38 in Otavalo
94 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostal Dona Esther
Hostal Dona Esther
#6 of 27 in Otavalo
154 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hosteria Cabanas del Lago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flying Donkey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flying Donkey

Property: Flying Donkey
Address: C/ Abdon Calderon y Simon Bolivar (Esquina) | Otavalo Central, Otavalo 100201, Ecuador (Formerly Samay Inn)
Region: Ecuador > Imbabura Province > Otavalo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Otavalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Flying Donkey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing