We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The show is a must see” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Condor Park

Condor Park
Book In Advance
More Info
US$75.84*
and up
Private Day Tour: Otavalo Condor Park Plus Cotacachi or Peguche Waterfall
Ranked #4 of 30 things to do in Otavalo
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Lakewood, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“The show is a must see”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

We went here with a group, and got there just in time for their raptor show. The park itself is interesting, with many different kinds of birds (hawks, eagles, owls and of course the Andean condor) and I would have rated it a 3 or 4, but the show really makes the trip. One of the things that had our group ooohing and aaahing was the bald eagle. They brought him out and let him fly and he quickly soared in the sky till we could hardly see him, but then the trainer would yell "hey" and hold his hand a few feet from our heads, and the eagle would swoop around and then come diving down right at us, grabbing food and then taking off again. Amazing to see this up close. Another highlight was when the trainer brought out a small docile hawk on his glove, and let anybody who wanted to to come up and put the glove on while the hawk was still sitting on it. We got some very memorable pictures from the whole show. If you want to see the show, remember to call first. When we went, the time was different than what was listed on the web site.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lance P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    123
    39
    11
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florence, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing Raptors”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Parke Condor is a must see when traveling in Otavalo. This is the best raptor center I have ever visited. The guides are extremely knowledgeable and the facilities and layout the best. Their flight show is amazing. A must see.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Monique D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

The best part of visiting the Condor Park was the amazing views (it's perched on top of a hill overlooking Otavalo on one side and Lago San Luis on the other). If you're into condors and eagles it's worth a visit, but unfortunately we missed the twice-daily condor flying, which would have been great. It's a long walk from Otavalo, but the cab only cost $4 each way. The office staff can call you a cab when you're ready to leave.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Hannah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great show- even if it is in Spanish!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Paid $5 to get to the condor park one way by local taxi from the town centre (10/15 minutes.) You could walk however it's about 4km and uphill.
The shows are in a beautiful setting- on the side of a hill.
Yes, the shows (11:30 and 15:30) are all in Spanish, however the birds are incredible. No shade so bring a hat if you want. The show went for an hr and we spent 1/2hour walking around the park and looking in at the information centre (all in Spanish.)
We just asked the woman to call us a taxi once we were ready to leave and it arrived in about 15minutes.

Helpful?
Thank JessBeavon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
199 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Fantastic! Don't miss the bird show! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

This is a great place to visit while you are in Otavalo. Bird shows are at 11.30 and 3.30 daily and it's really not worth going unless you can make one of these incredible shows. It goes for about an hour and despite being all Spanish, it's absolutely fantastic to see the birds up close and watch them fly. The

Entry to the Condor Park is $4.50 and after the show you can explore the park afterwards for It's about 10-15 minutes drive uphill so catch a cab for between $4-5 one way. When you finish at the bird park, the staff will call you on to return.

Helpful?
Thank Kirsty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Condor Park also viewed

Otavalo, Imbabura Province
 
Otavalo, Imbabura Province
Otavalo, Imbabura Province
 

Been to Condor Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing