We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ecuadorean charmer”
Review of Hacienda Pinsaqui

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hacienda Pinsaqui
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Otavalo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This secluded and restful place is a 300-year-old estate still owned by the same Spanish family and located just outside Otavalo in north Ecuador that at one time had a 1000 people working its fields. The main building has many rooms, all unique and delightful, surrounding by smaller buildings (and a chapel) and gardens and large grounds that include stables for horses. The bar is located in a semi-underground room off the main patio filled with saddles and trophies and horse pictures. Although we were there just for one night, we were entertained by a local indigenous music group in the bar before retiring to our room where the fireplace had already been lit and hot water bottles place in the bed. The next morning we awoke to a peacock just outside the bedroom window. The staff was very friendly and helpful and the food excellent. A first-class place to stay, even for one night, at any time and particularly convenient if wanting to visit the famous and massive Saturday market in Otavalo. Also relatively affordable by North American standards.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Garry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (225)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 225 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2013

this is a beautiful place, so peaceful to rest and admire the surroundings. it's the perfect place for couples or families. the service is very good. the restaurant is very good but if you are on tight budget you can find cheaper and similar food in Otavalo.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunshine1018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Our stay at Hacienda Pinsaqui was short yet a very memorable one. The staff catered to every needs to make it so. There was warm tea served in fine china cups for our late arrival to warming the beds with hot water bottles for the cold nights. The grounds were well maintained with plants unique to Ecuador highlands and graced by the presence of roaming peacocks. The rooms were well-appointed and we especially loved the old fireplace in our room that was lit by the time we return from our dinner. Antique huge art paintings hanged everywhere inspiring you to imagine what life might have been hundred of years ago at this place. It is a unique experience and would not mind experiencing it the second time around.

Room Tip: Our room was close to the dining area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katerryna6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

I kinda knew this was going to be a unque experience the moment we started down the long beautiful driveway. Rounding the corner, we were greeted by a gorgeous peacock. In short order, someone swooped up our luggage, and then the owner introduced himself. He was also present at all meals. Never far in case you needed him, never too close in case you didn't.

This is old-fashioned, gracious, long lost hospitality. To heck with the market. I would go back just to stay there!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judydub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at Hacienda Pinsaqui. We both travel quite a lot and we are used to nice places but this one is unbelievable!
It’s like travelling back in history.
The atmosphere of this Hacienda is what makes it unique.
I wish I could describe it like a real writer...
If you want to make the best out of your travelling experience in Ecuador this is the place to stop and dream!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonspecial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

We quite liked the Hacienda when we arrived on a Thursday night. Quiet, about 4 or 5 rooms occupied. Nice relaxing near the fireplace and a well organised welcome cocktail with live music. But when the weekend arrived and the hacienda filled up quickly, nothing was left of this quiet relaxing feel. And we realised that we are more into the small scale haciendas. Very nice of Pinsaqui: the stove heated rooms and beds! To improve: the restaurant areas were very cold, also because all doors were kept open at all times. Not confortable that cold!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HEA1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

The Hacienda Pinsaqui is located in the heart of Equador's lake district and is ideally situated at the base of the Imbabura Volcano. It is situated just north of the world famous Otavalo market. The Hacienda retains the character and authenticity of the 1790's, making it a unique travel experience. The 200 year old grounds have ponds, palms, walks and roaming llamas, and is an ideal base for outdoor pursuits, relaxatiuon, antiques and handicrafts.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank house1899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Otavalo
6.4 mi away
Casa Mojanda
Casa Mojanda
#1 of 14 in Otavalo
248 reviews
15.4 mi away
Hosteria Hacienda San Francisco
4.7 mi away
Hosteria Pueblo Viejo
Hosteria Pueblo Viejo
#12 of 14 in Otavalo
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7 mi away
Hacienda- Hosteria Chorlavi
2.5 mi away
La Mirage Garden Hotel & Spa
4 mi away
Hotel El Indio Inn
Hotel El Indio Inn
#4 of 14 in Otavalo
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Pinsaqui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Pinsaqui

Address: Hwy 35 - Panamericana Norte km. 5, Otavalo 100450, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Imbabura Province > Otavalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Otavalo
Price Range: £113 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hacienda Pinsaqui 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hacienda Pinsaqui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Pinsaqui Otavalo
Hacienda Pinsaqui Hotel Otavalo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing