We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hacienda Pinsaqui
Nearby Hotels
US$118
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$105
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Mojanda(Otavalo)
US$140
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$134
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$34
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$19
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$66
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$45
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$45
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (226)
Filter reviews
226 results
Traveller rating
126
62
22
9
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
126
62
22
9
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssimon bolivarlovely groundshistoric propertyhot water bottles in our bedsguest rooms areelectric heaterwonderful hospitalityandean musicthe main househistoryhorseshaciendaecuadorfireplacegenerationsmarketsetting
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
164 - 169 of 226 reviews
Reviewed 28 November 2006

Loved this Hacienda. You would think Zorro made a few stops there way back when. The staff is pleasant and speaks english. The food was great with a large selection of Ecuadorian cusine as well as some basic American fare. Breakfast was included. We took advantage of the horseback riding and a wonderful 45 minute massage--both very reasonably priced. The grounds were beautiful. The bus to Otavalo will pick you up right in front of the Hacienda and is a 15 minute ride straight into town (or a $3 taxi ride). I really recommend this place, especially with the unbelieivable fireplaces in all the rooms and some of the bedrooms.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank D1223chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2006

I agree with the previous reviews: lovely surroundings, peaceful atmosphere, attentive & responsive staff and management. Otavalo is a quick drive away, but you can see many lovely sights-- the byways and waterfalls of Peguche, the raptor zoo and others--on horseback that the Hacienda will gladly arrange. This is a nice place to just hang out for a few days, e.g., after a demanding tour of the Andes or Galapagos. It is also a delightful base for local exploration of the lakes, volcanoes, markets and pueblitos between Otavalo and Ibarra.
One caveat: we were originally booked into the cabaña, a rather large separate building on the grounds of the hacienda. By email this sounded perfect for our family of two adults and three adolescents. But rooms were large, drafty and under-furnished. Every door locks and there is an electronic alarm system...'amenities' not present in the hacienda proper; but then there is no direct communciation with staff (i.e., no phone). We were moved to much finer quarters that did cost a bit more each night.

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank SeattleMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2005

First impressions of this beatiful, historical hacienda will remain with you for a long time. The gardens, both on the approach and around the rest of the property are simply fabulous. Hummingbirds in the flowers, hammocks between the trees and horses gently grazing - idyllic. Add to that the history, the cozy and welcoming atmosphere, the staff who cannot do enough to help, enormous rooms with open fires and you have place that you won't want to leave! The reading room overlooking the gardens was our favourite spot to relax at the end of the day and enjoy a drink before dinner. Local taxi drivers can be booked to take you see some of the national park (although the view from the grounds is so good you might be tempted to just stay put!) The location within the national park and the proximity to Otovalo make this a perfect place to escape for a few days. I almost want to keep it to myself! Our only regret is that we could not stay longer.

  • Stayed: August 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank HylB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2005

Hacienda Pinsaqui is a treasure. Upon entering you feel the history and the serenity of an age when people had time for each other and lived life at a comfortable and leisurely pace. Monica and Andres are special hosts. The accommodations wonderful, the meals excellent with variety and choice. The reading rooms and fireplaces breathe history. The maze of walkways and gardens charming with llamas, geese and horses intermingled with ponds. A special place to spend special time. I highly recommed it. If possible spend 2 days and enjoy the nearby tourist attractions and horse-back riding.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Meech123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2005

I heartily agree with everything stated by the first reviewer. This hotel was so tranquil with an amazing location overlooking their carefully kept grounds. We stayed in a room with a private jacuzzi, which was much more charming than it sounds because it was almost a natural type jacuzzi with beautiful views. The room had a traditional canopy bed which is not normally my style, but somehow fit the room so perfectly. All of the rooms have fireplaces which the helpful staff will light for you if you want your room to be warmed up before you go to bed. They have a group of musicians that perform during all meals and they sing native music for you when they give you a welcome drink. If you go to Otavalo, do not miss this hotel (in fact, I would go to Otovalo just to relax at this hotel).

  • Stayed: November 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Vienna_expat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews