We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful and positive vibes”
Review of Hostal Aya Huma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal Aya Huma
Huizen
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Peaceful and positive vibes”
Reviewed 23 January 2014

As soon as you enter the grounds of Aya Huma you will feel her peaceful and positive vibes creep into your being. It is one of those places where you can breath again and return to the core of yourself. Your senses will be opened to the wonders of this hostel. The holy flowers that grow all over her grounds, wall paintings on posts and walls, the little stream that quietly flows through the centre of the property; and that's just a little selection of the wonders of Aya Huma. It is just beautiful to see how much love, time and thought is put into the creation of this unique place.
Another great feature of the hostel is the opportunity it offers travellers to dive into local traditional culture and spirituality, i.e. reiki and massage sessions, and temazkal and pacha manka ceremonies. Owner Mique was happy to assist me in any of my requests in this area.
Aya Huma is in short a magical place with a great energy where you will find yourself wanting to stay longer than you planned beforehand.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maaike V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    9
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
9
6
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

In my three month travel in ecuador i've seen every kind of place you can imagine, and traveled
through loads of ambiences and energies. My idea was to get a taste of all the extremes of the country, which included the cold heights of the mountains and the extreme and moist heat of the coast and jungle. The indigenous medicine knowledge, and varieties of foods found in specific places. Yet after every so days i felt the need to calm down and relax at one place and this hostal;
was definately the right place to be. Exactly because here all, or at least most of the elements are present all the time. The climate is really balanced here, not too hot or cold, just right. The food is delicious and typical of ecuador, and even for a tourist oriented hostal very affordable. The dormitories are nice, spacey and (for me at least) comfortable, and with their own shower and so.The surrounding is just plain amazing if you ask me, the hostal is half built inside a tiny valley which is completely decorated whith beautifull ornaments, statues and plants. here and there some hammaks and in the near distance the sound of a flute or the local traditional musicians. The village people are super friendly and the village itself is nice and tranquilo whith now an then some excelent traditional party's, whith abundant music and happyness. The hostal is run by a nice half dutch half ecuadorian family. And besides a hostal they offer a variety of spiritual and health related activities like massage, pacha manka food in the ground cooking, and indigenous sweatlodge healings.
shortly, for me this was the ideal place to go from and go back to during my stay in this beatiful country. if you're looking for such a place, or simply pass by otovalo, i would definately suggest paying a visit, you won't regret.
warm greetings, Dain thomas

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tomasequi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isla Taboga, Panama
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Rooms are basic but clean. The property is very nice and the area is quiet and beautiful. We enjoyed all the meals we had in the restaurant. Taxi to Otavalo cost only $2 so you can visit the market there and then return to the quiet village of Peguche.

Room Tip: We had a room on the lower level under the reception area which was quiet. The view from our hammock...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suscri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Stayed here for a week and felt right at home... Basic rooms, but the area, the people, the service and atmosphere are just fantastic! The restaurant has a fireplace where we sat down every night and had drinks and dinner! Try a canelazo (warm drink with alcohol) after a day of exploring the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yvie02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

Aya Huma is an unique hostel for sure. Our group was only there for 2 nights and did not schedule a ritual ceremony but enjoyed the local flavor by sipping hot more and being entertained by the local children's performance of the tradition of the Aya Huma while we were dining on pork or chicken entrees - the pork was grilled to death but everything else was great. The buffet breakfast was fabulous featuring fresh yogurt, granola. fresh fruit and juices, "silver dollar" pancakes with more syrup (more is a fruit that is a big favorite in everything from juice to ice cream) or honey, the traditional mozzarella style cheese as well as a Dutch cheese and crisp breads to go with it. Rolls and toast, coffee, tea, especially coco tea (we requested it and it was brought out immediately). A member of our group recommended its use to cure our various ailments on the trip. If you realize your trip to Ecuador will not be like a 4 star hotel in the US, then this place is great be filled with hit or miss hot water and spiders. While on the taxi ride home from an Otovalan restaurant we witnessed a wedding parade carrying spits of chicken and guinea pigs which were moving - this is not the place for the faint hearted! Beautiful artisans and the waterfall is amazing too.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gourmetgal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
87 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2012

I took myself to Peguche for 6 nights and days (very near Otavalo) to this recommended hostal and restaurant for a brief holiday away from Quito where I live. I was looking for quiet, cows, handmade tapestries and trekking. It was a good choice. Making the arrangements is a little haphazard but the Dutch/indigeous family who owns and runs this little place made up for it! They are very kind, the rooms are cold (bring more layers of clothing) but beds are comfortable The restaurant serves good food(you can prepare your own if you like) and the fireplace at night is warming, the bar is open and the company around the fire is excellent! If you like a little offbeat and charming, this is your place! I trekked all over the area and another traveler and I took the bus and visited Otavalo and Cotacahi nearby. Volcanos Imbabura looms overhead, Cotacachi nearby and you can even attend a special indigenous ceremony with an informational lecturse in Spanish and English. Don't miss the animal market on Saturday AM early!

Room Tip: The rooms are good but cold at night. Ask for extra blanket and ewear your silk longjohns like I di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Old and very cold room. Internet is one dollar extra and doesn't work in room or restaurant. In restaurant they don't speak english. Don't go there if you're a single traveller and the hotel is empty like I had. Restaurant is only place with fire but opens at 5 o clock en not an minute earlier.
Receptionis very unfriendly, everything is to much trouble. In stead of three days was very happy to leave after just one day and even that was to much.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pascala42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aya_Huma, Manager at Hostal Aya Huma, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
Although we had communicated a lot through e-mail before this guest had arrived, I think this is a case of false expectations. In general, we pride ourselves in creating a comfortable and welcoming atmosphere that provides each guest the opportunity for a cultural immersion, and because of that, most of our guests enjoy taking advantage of the events and ceremonies that we offer within the community. In our restaurant, we have the menu in english as well to make it easier for those travelers from other parts of the world coming to Ecuador since our restaurant staff are locals that speak spanish. Usually, our guests decide to stay longer than they had planned. We apologize that we were not able to meet this guest's expectations during their stay here, and we welcome everybody to come and see for yourselves what we have created here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Otavalo hotels
0.0 mi away
La Luna Mountain Lodge
La Luna Mountain Lodge
#1 of 37 in Otavalo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa Mojanda
Casa Mojanda
#1 of 14 in Otavalo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Casa Sol Otavalo
La Casa Sol Otavalo
#1 of 1 in Peguche
4.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
PuertoLago Country Inn
PuertoLago Country Inn
#7 of 28 in Otavalo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hosteria Cabanas del Lago
0.0 mi away
Hotel El Indio Inn
Hotel El Indio Inn
#5 of 14 in Otavalo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Aya Huma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Aya Huma

Property: Hostal Aya Huma
Address: Peguche | P.O. Box 98, Otavalo 100450, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Imbabura Province > Otavalo
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 37 Speciality Lodging in Otavalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel Aya Huma is a traditional Indian home which has been converted into a cozy and comfortable hostel. Ruraly located in Peguche, an Indian village 2,5 km outside of Otavalo ( and a 110 km north of Quito), an ideal setting for discovering the beautiful nature in the Andes highlands. The hostel is known for its large social and cultural involvement with the local inhabitants of Peguche. If you want to see the Ecuadorian culture up close and personal or have an unforgettable experience by participating in one of the workshops and rituals the hostel offers, you are at the right address. Aya Huma is also known for its personal approach for every guest. Come and visit if you like tranquility, hiking, camping, massages, good food or the possibility to cook a fabulous meal yourself. It is all possible! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hostal Aya Huma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing